The “I”s Have It

April 29, 2009 at 10:01 pm (Family)

The I Haplogroup that is. It appears as though much of the DNA on my mother’s side of the family stems from this Haplogroup, which diverged from Haplogroup IJ (or Middle Eastern) a few years ago, like 20,000, give or take 10,000 years. The more letters and numbers you have after your haplogroup, the more you can narrow down your genetic pool.

I’ve already determined that I’m a descendant of Niall of the Nine Hostages, ancient Irish Royalty. Now I also know I have Dinaric Slav DNA, meaning, my DNA is more compatible to Croats, Serbs, and Bosniaks. My other familial markers indicate an ethnic assocation of Italo-Celto-Anatolian and Basque/Gascon.

Some DNA evidence, that I haven’t seen yet, links our family to the Sephardic Jews and their travels from what is now Israel to Spain, where, after a while of being prosperous, they were told to either convert to Catholism and forgive their loans to Ferdinand and Isabella  or you know, bad things would happen. They instead snuck over some mountain, (think 15th Century “Sound of Music”) and then on to France where they were ennobled but were eventually either killed or driven out for being Hugenots even though someone’s sister married Charlemagne’s brother or uncle or something.  Thanks a lot, Charlie!

All this proves is that I’m a mutt who can be a royal pain in the ass.

Reading about the testing and the haplogroups and haplotypes and all the history and ethnic markers gives me a headache!  Its good for a history lesson, that’s for sure. Very confusing in some ways.

Anyway, that’s about it from here. Ya’ll have a  good one.

9 Comments

  1. Jammie J said,

    Wow, nice summary… “I’m a mutt who can be a royal pain in the ass.” Totally made me laugh.

    So, here’s a question… you mentioned DNA, did you have your DNA tested or are you just researching genealogy?

  2. Tina said,

    Wait a minute, I thought I was the royal pain in the ass!

  3. tinyhands said,

    Forgive my natural curiosity, but on what are you basing all of this?

  4. Marie (themom) said,

    “…amutt who can be a royal pain in the ass.” I love that. But then again, aren’t we all?

  5. blackpunkin said,

    Jammie J. and (notso)tinyhands – because I am female, I have to find male members of my family willing to undergo the DNA testing for the various branches whose geneaology matches mine. My third cousin had the DNA testing done for one branch, and then I researched the geneaology for the known DNA testing for the “first immigrant” for the other branches. This is how it was determined, that genetically, I’m not as inter-related as I had first thought when DNA testing showed “an event outside of marriage” in relation to one of my great-grandfathers.

    The DNA evidence, and there is a lot of it, shows that the biological father of one great-grandfather is from Haplogroup I and the other shows a Haplogroup of R, which arose at different times and places before and following the last Ice Age.

    My mother and I have discussed throwing in to get our MtDNA checked, which traces the maternal lineage. However, it is my father’s family which is the great mystery, especially my paternal grandmother’s family, which I suspect, based on my research, to be Haplogroup J, or a sub-lineage of J, meaning this group of people arose about 50,000 years ago in the Near East and set up residence in and around the Mediterranean, however, I would have to have my dad’s sister do the testing. And, it is expensive! So, that’s who I know.

  6. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    1. How could you possibly afford to get all this DNA testing and the even more expensive analysis done? Doesn’t it cost around $10k for even the most basic test?
    2. Where was this performed? I assume it’s not done in the KV.
    3. Why does everyone who figures all this stuff out somehow, either through DNA testing, past life regression, etc. seem to be descended from some form of grand royalty.
    4. Doesn’t everyone of European descent claim descendence from Charlemagne. It’s sorta like what they write at the bottom of every family tree.

    I have a tough enough time being who I am today. Fuck all those ancestors.

    Always glad to help.

    SH

  7. blackpunkin said,

    SH – See the comment above yours for an explanation of who was tested. As for your other questions –
    1. Your most basic DNA profile can be performed for around $99, which will tell you that you’re human and whether or not your profile links you to other individuals that claim the same ancestery. The Familytree DNA website, as well as the National Geographic Genome Project both offer test kits. I’m sure there are others. The more indepth the testing becomes, the more expensive it becomes. Deep testing costs $500 to $600.
    2. The testing for Familytree DNA is done through a company in Texas. I haven’t had time to hop over to National Geographic so make yourself useful and do it yourself. 3. Maybe because there are multiple descendents of royalty. Niall of the Nine Hostages had a lot of sons and 1 out of every 5 Irishmen today can claim ancestry to Niall, so, not really a big deal. GRAND royalty? I’m not sure what was so grand about ancient Ireland. The castles were damp, cold, and drafty with no running water or electricity. Your worth was determined by your birth or how much land, horses, or bitches you had. Sounds GRAND to me.
    I haven’t been regressed to my past lives yet, but I’ll bet they’re as interesting as my DNA.
    4. I didn’t claim decendence from Charlemagne. I said my 14th great grandfather’s ugly sister married Charlemagne’s uncle or some other bullshit.
    5. Stop being such a dick. Fuck the ancestors? That’s hypocritical coming from someone who visited his ancestor’s homeland of Wales and has done his own genealogical research. Guess you didn’t find Charlemagne at the bottom of your family tree.

    And if you really must know, the real reason my family is so gung-ho about the DNA testing is because of the prevelance of Mediterranean illnesses, especially FMF (Familial Mediterranean Fever), among a bunch hillbillies that were told they were of Scotch-Irish and American Indian descent. Our DNA shows something a little different, which for many in my family is very important medically.

  8. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    1—>4. blah, blah, blah.
    5. You know I can’t stop being a dick. It’s part of my ancestry. . . me ‘n Charliemange and Alexander the Great and that Caesar guy.

    And yes, I’ve got Charlemagne in one of my family geneologys done a long time ago by one of my great aunts, so naw, naw, naw, naw, naw. All you got is some dumb Mick.

    Love ya babe!

  9. Tammie said,

    Miss KIA volunteered at the college two years ago and did DNA research with the professor.
    They found that she has a direct link to Marie Antoinette through me and the females in my side of the family.
    Hmmm….
    No wonder I feel like I’m losing my head all the time.

Leave a Reply

