Gotta Move, Gotta Go!

July 3, 2010 at 9:20 am (Cats, Crazy Shit, Friends, Grad School, Nate)

Off for the weekend. What a great feeling, except I have so much to do. I got the Residency Schedule for grad school and now I have to figure out which classes I’m taking in addition to the ones I have to take. My eyes were bugging out of my head. There’s so much I’m interested in!!  Plus, looking forward to carving out some free time to explore Fort Worden/Port Townsend. They’re also showing some movies, Pan’s Labyrinth and Into the Wild  are two that I’m interested in.

Plus, they’re going to feed me three times a day.  Anyone who knows me, who has met me, understands the importance of me eating regularly. This is a very good thing.  I haven’t had my coffee yet this morning. I need to go to the bank. I need to hook up my printer. And blackberries are in season. My friend Dave called and asked if Nate and I want to go blackberry picking. That sounds soooo goooood. Better than cleaning house…

Although we could go tomorrow morning before I go to my parents for the 4th. This is how I squeeze so much into one day. Careful planning.

Here is also something, and parents will understand. Sometimes you don’t tell your friends what your kids have done because you’re ashamed to admit that you didn’t kill them for it.

Case in point:  Nate wound one of my elastic hair bands around the nozzle of the sprayer on my sink so that when I turned on the water it sprayed me instead of running from the faucet. Hahahaha. Yeah, that was great. Luckily, I was off that day and I already had on my bathing suit.

Unfortunately… I wasn’t able to get the hair band off of the nozzle… and one of the cats jumped up on the counter and knocked a dish into the hot water valve while I was at work, and Nate was asleep. I came home to a FLOOD of HOT WATER in my kitchen and living room. It felt like a freakin’ sauna in here, not to mention the potential water damage, gas bill, water bill, potential shorting of electrical wires and fire… oh yeah, one of those times I’m ashamed to say I didn’t kill my kid.

This makes shooting out the lightbulbs with cold water from a water gun relatively minor. But guess who got to clean it up? Well, we cleaned it up. The water had run behind the TV into my A/C return and had pooled in the insulated pipe.  I had to stab it with a knife and drain the water.  So, now I have water in my crawl space, on TOP of the vapor lock. That’s going to be one nasty clean up. I almost feel sorry for Nate. Almost. Nah, not really.

Mr. President, Mr. Vice-President, former President Clinton and a host of others were on hand yesterday for the memorial service for Senator Robert Byrd. Bill cracked me up. Wish I could have gone but was stuck watching on TV.

As you can see, things are moving right along here. Time for coffee. Happy 4th. Celebrate your independence and remember all of those who have fought for it, including my brother, who is serving near Khowst, Afghanistan. Keep our servicemen and women in your prayers.

3 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    Nate would be in indefinite lock-up if he had done that here. I hope he realizes the damage he has caused. Kids can be so clueless.

    I saw Pan’s Labyrinth several years ago. I didn’t understand it, but i enjoyed it. I read “Into the Wild” and like it – although it is very sad.

    My computer is in such a sad shape that it took me over an hour to get online this morning. Grrrrr.

  2. Vince said,

    You showed a great deal of self control. I’d have killed either of my kids if they’d done anything like that.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend! Ours will be filled with biking and BBQ.

  3. Tina said,

    Have you ever considered military school? 😉

    It would prevent you from future killings. 😉

Leave a Reply

