ALICE!!!!

July 11, 2009 at 3:03 am (Alice in Chains, Crazy Shit, Music, Work)

Alice in Chains has posted their new video and hence their new song, “A Looking In View” on their webiste. OMG!  *SQUEAL*  No disappointment.  Its dark and bleak and hauntingly beautiful. And its got this kick ass riff… just listen to the first 60 seconds!

Hear footsteps creak the floor/The shadows give away/Someone outside the door/Won’t let ’em in

(As if I needed anything else to keep me awake tonight. Nate is at my mom and dad’s and I find it difficult, if not downright impossible to sleep, or to at least sleep soundly while he’s not here. 

The Chico Mocoso is on my lap, knawing his bone, his squeaky bear, and occasionally my hand.  I’m trying to convince myself that I don’t have to sleep with my Maglite and Jeff isn’t suddenly going to break in my door and murder me in my sleep… or awake.)

Alice also just announced that they’re having two pre-release listening parties, one in LA and one in NY. The one in LA is July the 14th and the one in NY is July the 21st. Only five fans are going to each of the parties. Of course I submitted my name for the NY party.

New York is only 9 hours away. This is only one more hour than Atlanta. However, they’re not announcing the winners for the NY party until … July 20th. The way they announced it, it was almost like you had to live in NY because of the short time frame. Ha. They don’t know me very well.  So, keep your freakin’ fingers crossed!  And your toes, and cross your legs for good measure.

Chico needs to calm down. He’s more hyped than I am. Work was good. My tip average was 35%. One of my guests tipped me almost 50% and another 70%! Candyman says if you wait on him very often he’ll put you in a new tax bracket. This guest worked his way through college as a … bartender. He and his wife are both very, very generous.

My back is really bothering me tonight. It feels like someone is constantly stabbing me between the shoulder blades. Imagine that. I finally get my lower back to quit hurting and now its moved. My muscles are so knotted, the knots have knots. Rosie and Candyman have both attempted to rub my back but it brings tears to my eyes and the restaurant generally prohibits torture (not to mention the muffled screams).

I like the fact that on iTunes, the new song falls right before the MTV Unplugged version of “Nutshell.” I could listen to “Nutshell” all day long. Jar of Flies, “Nutshell’s” original EP, is my favorite Alice. Dirt is second.

I’ve quoted or referenced every song from Jar of Flies in my blog except “Rotten Apple.” The lyrics are a bit different. One line lyrics interspersed with  “hey ah na na.” 

Hey ah na na/Innocence is over/hey ah na na/over

Hey ah na na/Ignorance is spoken/hey ah na na/spoken

Cool song, though, nice funky rhythm at the beginning.

Well, its 3 a.m. and I’m going to try and get some sleep and unkink my back. As soon as I listen to “A Looking In View” one more time.

6 Comments

  1. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    Hows about I just stick knitting needles in my ears instead?

  2. Tina said,

    Rock on, dude! I am hoping you will get to go to NY! Sending good karma your way. 🙂

  3. Vince said,

    Good luck on the tickets! I’m sure you and Jerry would get along famously!

  4. Kate said,

    I’m keeping everything crossed for you and my wish also includes that your back feels better!

Leave a Reply

