This and That: Volume 3 or 4

July 10, 2009 at 12:00 pm (Chico, Family, Nate, Work, Writing)

The announcement was made yesterday that an unnamed individual had been discharged from employment at the restaurant due to sexual harassment. No one seemed surprised and no one asked who it was because… we all knew who it was because you can’t keep anything quiet in food service.

Obviously this was going on even while he and I were dating. Dipwad.

*****

I was talking to one our teengaged hostesses yesterday about movies and such. It was painfully slow at the restaurant last night so we were making small talk and I told her that I had taken a Facebook quiz about which crazy writer I was. The writer was Cormack McCarthy. I had no clue who the man is. But, I now know all things about Cormack McCarthy. He wrote “No Country for Old Men.” One of his other books, “The Road” has been made into a movie and is being released later this year.

Originally I thought “The Road” was one of his older books but it was published in 2006. McCarthy said he wrote it for his youngest son, who is currently 8 years old. Viggo Mortensen plays the lead role in the upcoming film, which drew a blank stare from my hostess.

I asked if she had seen Lord of the Rings. No. A History of Violence? No. Eastern Promises? No. Shocking, just shocking. She’s only seen two of the six Star Wars movies. Sheltered.  Harry Potter? Nope. Jeeeez. At least she knows what “Twilight” is.

*****

The Chico Mocoso –

Cats.Chico.Nate 014 He’s laying in the stuffing of my c0ouch cushions while I was washing the covers.

My turkey:

Cats.Chico.Nate 011 Mmmmmm…

Oh, that reminds me, I need to make something for family meal this evening. Gah. I guess I’ll make squash casserole.

*****

Didn’t hear from my brother for Nate’s birthday. Not even a phone call. That makes me a little pissy. Actually, it makes me a lot pissy. If I don’t get a card in the mail, or visit, or send something via my mother, I at least call my nephews and niece on their birthday and give them a little something when I see them. I’m boycotting my brother and his wife. I’m not asking for money or even a card, but a little recognition would be nice. Assholes.

*****

My dad and I were discussing Federal Firefighters while I was there over the weekend. They work for the Forest Service and I guess are often moved around from post to post, or where they are needed to fight fires. Makes sense. My dad said, “That must be some good money.” My mom said, “Oh I bet you would have liked that, being away from your family all of the time and not having to deal with any of us.”  Issues, mother?

I said, “Well, take your family with you.”  My mom said, “What? And move around all the time?” I said, “Military families do it, all the time. Your sister did it for years.”  Then she said that it was only every five years that they moved etc. etc.

I had happened across a $2 bill while at King’s Island and talked a lady out of it. My dad collects them. I also happened across one of the new Lincoln pennies so I took those for his Father’s Day gift.  He said, “Oh, I have a ton of these, you know I collect them.” Why yes, Father, that must be why I thought of you when I saw it. He then told me a lady in the area had taken $158 worth of $2 bills to the bank and the ladies at the bank called him to come and get them.

Hmmmm… I only brought you one but I thought of you.

I finally went and took a nap.  Avoidant behavior? Why yes, thanks for noticing.

Is it September yet?

4 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    My bro and I don’t talk much but I always gave his stepdaughter a birthday card (until she was in college anyway). Doesn’t take much to do a little something.

    We have a $2 at home. The Wife’s dad used to like collecting them. And we collect wheat pennies.

    Hope you enjoyed your nap. And no, you can’t nap until September.

  2. Beth said,

    Belated happy birthday to the Not-So-Little one!! Gosh they grow up fast!!

    Actually, I would’ve been more shocked if the teenage waitress didn’t know about “Twilight.” Still, she needs to get out more! Or stay in and rent movies cause there are now 5 Harry Potter movies and to not have seen at least one of them is crazy. Are you psyched about the new one coming out next week?!? It’s getting good reviews!

  3. kenju said,

    The turkey looks great – it is bigger than Chico!! LOL

  4. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    And, that is just but one reason why I only have an EX brother now. Ahhh, makes life much less pissy!

Leave a Reply

