Gobble… Gobble

June 28, 2009 at 11:42 am (Nate, Relationships, Work)

Yeah, I know its not time for Thanksgiving and one rarely hears of 4th of July turkey, however, this just may be the year.  See, I have this ginormous turkey in my freezer. I think I got it either from T-Bird or Cam’s parents because either they didn’t have room for it, or, they couldn’t cook it. Frankly, I don’t have room for it!

So, either I pass this bird on to my mother who will then complain that she either has no room for it, or, its too big to cook for the family and I will hear about it until Thanksgiving and end up bringing home two weeks worth of leftovers in November, or I can cook the dang bird for 4th of July family meal at the restaurant and call it a day.

This bird is so big, I bet I could feed day and evening shift! Okay, it only looks big in my freezer. Its almost 14 lbs. I’ll have to borrow a pan to roast it in. I don’t have one big enough anymore. Then again, it maybe be in the “OMG, I forgot all of these kitchen things outside after the fire” box beside of my house. I’m pretty afraid to look in it.

So, because cooking makes me happy, remember, I did a lot of cooking after the fire, I’m going to make *drumstickroll please* roast turkey with a cranberry orange glaze and a wine-simmered fruit stuffing.  Because, seriously, you can’t have too many fruits with your turkey.

And if you’re wondering where Nanner gets her delish recipes, well, look no further than Butterball.

In other news, Nate made it home safe and sound from his overnight camping and whitewater adventure. He said he was the first one tossed from the boat and he spent the rest of his time making sure that didn’t happen again. He also said they played spotlight etc. I’m really glad he took the trip and got to have some fun without it involving me. He needs that.

I woke up at 3 this morning and he and Cam were already asleep. Must mean that my Bubba was tired. Normally I run them to bed when the sun is rising.

I slept a long time last night. I feel pretty good this morning. Lex and I had a falling out, mainly because I’m pretty numb, we don’t communicate well, and… I’m not happy about how he treats me. Not that he’s mean or anything, he’s just, I don’t even know how to describe it. He has his own issues with me, and I know I have plenty.  Its just not going to work out, even on a short term basis. I’m not broken up about it.

So, time to figure out breakfast and I need some coffee. Happy Sunday.

3 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    Glad Nate had a good time! We’re going white water rafting in August and it sounds like a blast!

    Turkey dinner sounds yummy! Wish I could be there to share some of it.

  2. brightonandbear said,

    I love Thanksgiving dinner in July. It’s my favourite meal of the year : ) Glad you let Nate go, sounds like he had fun.

  3. Jammie J said,

    Mmmm, turkey. You know how I love me some turkey!

    On Nate, that’s a big step for both of you. I”m glad you were brave enough to let him go and I’m glad he was brave enough to want to. Wow, heart string by heart string, he’s growing up.

    Sorry about Lex. xo

Leave a Reply

