Pain

June 22, 2009 at 9:39 am (Crazy Shit, Friends)

Yesterday was just a painful day.

On Saturday, a recent high school graduate was killed in a car accident.  He was 19 years old and was to begin basic training at the Air Force Academy this week.

Yesterday I was reading our catering sheet and found that an acquaintance of mine had passed away. He was 48. I know his family pretty well. His father and brother especially.

Then there was my situation.

Three fathers spent Father’s Day without their sons.

It was just painful and not something I can escape. So, in addition to the hearing tomorrow, I’ll also be attending a memorial service. Happy days.

7 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    I’m sorry to hear. I’m sure things will be getting better.

  2. Tammie said,

    I’ve finally gotten caught up with your blog. I’m so sorry about everything you’ve been dealing with and going through.
    Hang in there and take it one day at a time.
    Try to focus on the good things in your life when you’re feeling overwhelmed.
    You have my number…call me if you want to talk.

  3. Zelda said,

    Stiff upper lip. This too shall pass. The darkest hour is just before dawn. Any more cliches you want me to trot out? I’ve got bucket loads. Seriously, though, best of luck at the hearing.

  4. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Let me know if you need to talk.

  5. Zelda said,

    Nanner, I’m so sorry. My comment came out with a snark I didn’t intend at all. I was trying to be jokey, but it there is nothing funny at all about your post. My only excuse is that I have a fever and have been seeing strange animals running around the room. This comment is probably coming out bad too, but I love you and I’m sorry you’re hurting and I hope you give Jeff hell at the hearing.

  6. Jammie J. said,

    For you it’s now tomorrow, and I just want you to know that I’m thinking about you on this day.

    You give the best hugs… so warm and loving. When I think of you during the day, that’s the first thing that comes to my mind. So, right now I wish I could give you one of your hugs, a warm and loving hug from a friend. Because I think you could probably use it. And I wouldn’t let you go for at least a minute.

    (hhhhhhhhhuuuuuuuuuuuuuggggggggg)

  7. tricia said,

    Oh girl. I am sending good thoughts your way. I hope tomorrow accomplishes all that you and Nate need right now. I love you, just wanted you to know that.

Leave a Reply

