Did You Say It?

June 2, 2009 at 1:38 pm (Attitude in Overdrive, General, International Travel, The House)

Rabbit, rabbit, that is. I did! Then realized that my registration expired on my vehicle on the 1st.  Not so lucky, or maybe it is that I realized it and can get that taken care of this week.

Sagacious Hillbilly asked just how happy I wanted to be. Well, we all know that happiness is relative. You may be happy in one aspect and miserable in another. Some people say that happiness is a choice you make everyday. I try to remember that. I try to look on the bright side.

Things could be a lot worse. Changing your life is a difficult maneuver and is never without a shit-ton of stress. Stress makes me crabby. Stress makes me thin which then leads to my clothes not fitting which makes me crabby. If I exercise to offset my stress, well, that just makes me thinner too, which then makes me crabbier because, again, my clothes don’t fit and then I get crabby because I don’t have a lot of money to buy clothes that do fit.

However, speaking German makes me happy and I did write my host parents today using the new Deustch-Englisch dictionary they sent me for Christmas. I asked my host father why the German word for thunderstorm is Gewitter when the German words for thunder and storm are Donner and Sturm. It should be Donnersturm because Germans love compound words. By the way, the German word for lightning is BlitzenDonner and Blitzen, get it? I hope you get it!

And, because peaches make me happy, I’m eating some Carbmaster yogurt. A lot of calcium, protein and peaches, not to mention some L. Acidophilus and B. Bifidum for healthy intestinal flora.

Do you ever watch BBC? I love watching the show about being what you eat except I never was sure about how much the folks weigh because I didn’t know the equivalent weight measure of a “stone.”  I now know a stone is 14 lbs. I also watch “Clean House” because it makes me feel better about the fact my house is not nearly as cluttered as some out there. And, I also watch “What Not To Wear” and take Clint and Stacy with me when I actually do go shopping.

Okay, I’m sorta happy now. I have to go mow grass before work. And just so you know, if you ask for a Hummer in Germany, they’ll give you a lobster. Tschuss!

12 Comments

  1. tricia said,

    Well I for one would much rather have a lobster than a silly Hummer. (this from the girl in the Smartfortwo car…)

    Happiness is relative. You are right on that score.

    I also believe that we make our own happiness. Like Dr.Sister always says, “The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence. So water your own damn yard!”

    Smile & wave Nanner Peach ; )

  2. Beth said,

    Oh, I love Stacy and Clint!!! I would’ve nominated myself to their show except I’d have to stand in the 360 mirror room and I don’t think I could stand to be humiliated like that.

    The Donner and Blitzen thing is cute.

    Happiness is something you make happen, not something that happens to you. I truly believe that, except I’m just too damn lazy to do anything about it in my life.

  3. Vince said,

    Happiness is indeed relative. And elusive at times. Grab every little piece of it you can and hang on.

    I LOVED Germany when I visited there so many years ago. Such a cool place. However, they have no idea how to make a pizza. We ordered one (from a menu written in German, of course) with what we thought was pepperoni and it came with sliced sausage similar to salami. Interesting, but not as tasty. Those crazy Germans.

  4. Tammie said,

    My emotional happiness is a roller coaster. And it’s not by choice. Thyroid problems do strange things to people….BUT I enjoy the happy days when I have them and I try to make the best of the not so happy days.
    A lot of people may think I blog to entertain them, but actually I do it to entertain myself. To make myself laugh and allow myself to be silly or vent or whatever.
    Blogging is the key to part of my happiness.
    How happy do I want to be?
    I’d like to be somewhere in the middle.
    Being happy all the time wouldn’t allow me to experience the highs of being REALLY happy. You can’t feel high if you’ve never experienced low.

    I think you’ll be ok because you’ve got a good head on your shoulders and you’re determined. This is just a low time for you so you can appreciate the high more when it comes.

    ((HUGS))

    • blackpunkin said,

      That’s a good way to look at it. I do like being somewhere in the middle, otherwise you’re not being challenged. However, I do not like funks.

  5. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    Quit complicating things. You’re either happy in the now or you aren’t.
    There are no “aspects,” only the moment of right now. How are you right now?
    If you chose to be miserable somewhere else(like the past or future), you are living a delusional fantasy.

  6. blackpunkin said,

    I will complicate things as I please. Right now, no, I’m not happy. And I don’t believe I mentioned anything about being miserable in another lifetime or timeframe. In that regard, your comment is out of context and ridiculous. And there are aspects and perspectives on everything, to not believe so is delusional.

  7. Jammie J. said,

    I agree with you. Happiness is relative.

    I think there’s some truth to the fact that we choose to be happy or not and a lot of it has to do with the perspective you have of whatever the situation — perhaps in the big picture.

    But death, for example, is not a happy occasion, per se, and it would be inappropriate to display happiness at a funeral. Health problems are also not happy occasions. I can’t think of one person who sits on the toilet with explosive diarrhea and says to themselves, “I’m so happy to be doing this right now!!” And you know, other things, like chemotherapy, divorce, court hearings, 12 hour shifts at the restaurant, a sick pet, or ____________ <—- fill in the blank.

    The fighting spirit that is an integral part of people — those who maintain a positive outlook by keeping the end goal in their sights, that is a choice and that is what will contribute to the overall happiness of a person. And I think you’re doing just fine with your attitude with what you’re contending with right now.

    And by the way, counting your blessings (which you just did) can help lift your spirits.

    xo

  8. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    Is there something that is happening right now where you sit that is making you unhappy or are you unhappy over something that might, could, might have, should have or did happen?
    Yes, you can complicate things all you want and make life as twisted, tumultuous and sad as you want it to be.

Leave a Reply

