ROTR Crotch

May 17, 2009 at 2:05 am (Alice in Chains, Black Stone Cherry, Music, My Travels)

That’s what I stared at for a good part of my day. Hot, young studs in yellow shirts and black shorts sticking their crotches in my face THE ENTIRE DAY. This is what happens when you are up against the barricade and the hot, young studs that are running security have to stand up in front of you and haul crowd surfers out overtop of you.

Were it not for the fact I couldn’t see the concerts at all and that there should DEFINITELY be a weight limit for crowd surfing (OUCH, OKAY!), I would have been content with hot crotch in my face all day. I think the worst of the crowd surfing was during Flyleaf. I don’t think I saw more than 2 minutes of their set. And, not that I mean to discriminate, but dude, if you’re in a wheelchair, you AND your wheelchair should NOT BE CROWD SURFING!!! OUCH!

I saw a lot of drunk people, I saw one lady who was unconscious and bleeding (I don’t think the Korn moshpit agreed with her), and I saw several people carted off semi-conscious by the Ranger Security. Moshpits are only for the very young and agile, or the very drunk and ginormous. If you are anything other than young and agile or very drunk and ginormous, chances are you will end up unconscious and bleeding.

Luckily, the crowd was a bit more sedate for Alice and I got a couple of pictures of Jerry and William. Mmmmmm… Jerry and William. Jerry had sound problems with one of his guitars and actually finished the first song, Sludge Factory, sans guitar. It seemed like they were onstage for five minutes but managed to squeeze in Man in the Box from “Facelift,” Them Bones, Dam That River, Junkhead, Rooster, Angry Chair, and Would from “Dirt,” and Sludge Factory and Again from their eponymous CD.  

I should have eaten a bit more before I went, but all I had was a package of powered donuts and a 16 oz. cup of coffee. I got there at 12:30, used the bathroom, went and got a spot at the barricade and didn’t move until 9:15. I then grabbed a bratwurst, got a t-shirt, and got the hell out of there. I like Slipknot, but not enough to get more bruises and have to fight the other 22,000 people there getting out of the parking lot. I stopped at the first rest area to use the bathroom. No way in hell I was braving the ladies bathroom after a day of drinking, debauchery, and carnival food. YIKES!

Black Stone Cherry was a little disappointing. Their sound had to be the worst of the day. Actually, I didn’t think Alice’s sound was that great. Jerry’s guitar was turned up too loud and William’s mike was too soft, which really sucks because William has an amazing voice and it was a strain to hear it sometimes. Plus, BSC only got to play six songs. Lonely Train, Rain Wizard, and Maybe Someday from the first CD and Blind Man, Soul Creek, and Please Come In from the second.

All in all, it was worth the trip, especially to see Alice. Having Jerry in my sights for 45 minutes, yep, that made it totally worth it.

7 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    Totally rock and roll, man! I was going to call you to see how it was going but I figured you wouldn’t be able to hear me anyway. LOL! Did it rain it all?

    Mosh pits are just….fun to watch. That’s it. I was accidently involved in one once (I think it was Pantera) YEARS ago and got the fuck OUT of there before I got hurt.

    Anyway, I am glad you had a great time and got to see some of your men, especially Jerry! 🙂

    -Tina

  2. Jammie J. said,

    Sounds like you had an exhilarating, but exhausting time. Glad you got to see what you did get to see and at least had appreciation for seeing what was barricading you from seeing what you couldn’t see when that was in front of you.

    Wow. That was confusing to type. hehe

    Also glad you made it out and home safely.

  3. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Sounds like fun. Too bad the crotch couldn’t have always been up to the standards. LOL.

  4. Vince said,

    glad you enjoyed the show. Sucks when the don’t get the sound right, both for the band and audience.

    And like you, my moshing days are FAR behind me.

  5. Beth said,

    “William’s mike was too soft”

    I’m so immature. 😀

    But I’m glad you got to go see them and enjoy yourself.

  6. Seamus said,

    Sux that the sound wasn’t right, but it sounds like it was a fun time.

  7. noonie said,

    Nanner I just found out your choices in music are considered cool by my 14 year old daughter. She is going to see Nickelback on Tuesday and just yelled… “oooh Black Stone Cherry are supporting Nickelback.” Normally this would go right over my head but not this time… I spun to her and said “You know who Black Stone Cherry are?”

    her reply “Duh, yes.” with that look that only your fourteen year old daughter can deliver.

    WEll I can’t help it I’m her old mum, I rarely listen to the radio these days. I can outwit her on the internet still.

    So tell me she’ll be safe at this concert…. worry worry worry…. I am assured that she will stay away from the mosh pit. She claims she will crowd surf… I’m going to let her read this post now.

Leave a Reply

