This, That & The Other

April 22, 2009 at 10:43 pm (Chico, Crazy Shit, Nate)

I still don’t really feel like blogging about Jeff. I know I need to write it down and document everything but I don’t feel like it. I worked a double Monday, a double yesterday and had to be back at 7:30 this morning for a delivery. I’m whooped.

However, I do feel the need to write about Nate and Chico. Nate is doing a bit better in school. Right now he’s borderline “not going to pass 7th grade.” I’ve been listening to a CD that Evil Twin’s Wife gave me about effective parenting skills and what to say and what not to say. Unfortunately after a day or two of effective parenting, Nate can already tell me what I’m going to say before I say it.

Its working, though, whether he knows what I’m going to say or not. So far he’s making a 100% in Algebra and a 100% in Basic Skills. I’m not sure how his other classes are going yet, but I’m in touch with his teachers.

Chico, poor, poor Chico, had a really rough day. Because he is so small and my house is not completely puppy-proofed yet, and he isn’t completely potty-trained, and I do have this pride of vicious felines, Chico is remanded to the bathroom while we are away. He has all the amenities of home. Food, water, man cave, pee paper, and his chew toys.

I noticed within a day or two that Chico was able to climb atop his man cave, which is actually the cat carrier. You know, the kind with the hard plastic sides and the aluminum crate front. The man cave nestles easily between my toilet and the vanity sink. I warned Nate that we had to make sure and CLOSE THE LID ON THE TOILET lest Chico get frisky and attempt a daring water escape via the sewage pipes.

Since I had to be at work so early, Jace was kind enough to rouse my child and cart him off to school for me. When I returned home to pick up Chico so I could take him to pick up Nate with me, I found him, yep, IN THE TOILET!

Poor. little. guy. Stuck in the toilet for who knows how long. Although I don’t believe there was any, um, private residue hanging out in there because both Jace and myself are fastidious flushers, it appeared as though Jace may have thrown a piece of toilet paper in there as I had to clean Chico off and he did have tiny bits of decimated TP clinging to his hindquarters.

Not to mention, he is a rather little dog with big ears. This means he lost a lot of body heat and was shivering and starving when I fished him out. He went straight to his food bowl and growled viciously at Tango and Luna when they dared to venture too close. I cleaned him up, then snuggled him up, and my normal rather bouncy, lively pup has slept ALL EVENING.

He’s probably just exhausted from the ordeal. I’m just very thankful that he didn’t drown and that I wasn’t stuck at work for 12 hours today. It appears as though he stayed up on the side of the bowl, as much out of the water as possible, although since I’m not certain how long he was in there, he may have dried off a lot before I got home.

Tomorrow is my day off so of course I’m going in to work. I told Owner Boss’s Wife that I would bring Chico in to say hello and then RM called and asked if I would do two deliveries. I need the money so I said I would. I was going to be there anyway, might as well get paid for it. Then I’m coming home and the world can kiss my ass for a few hours. I need some sleep!

Good night!

5 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    Poor pup! I think he might have learned his lesson about climbing on teh carrier.

  2. Jammie J. said,

    Uh oh… poor little puppy! Hopefully he’ll be good as new in the morning. Even if he was dry on the side of the inner bowl, that inner bowl is cold, cold porcelain.

    Sounds like you need to be joining your pup in a nap…

  3. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Poor little Chico! Enjoy your nap today! 🙂

  4. blackpunkin said,

    Oh, I think he’s doing okay! I heard him whining this morning and found he had jumped off of Nate’s bed, went to the bathroom to potty, and then was trying to get back in the bed but is too little! He came in with Mom and slept a while.

  5. Vince said,

    Poor doggie! Glad to hear he’s ok.

Leave a Reply

