And So It Goes

March 11, 2009 at 12:19 am (Cats, Friends, Memories, Nate, Work)

After the death of his wife Betty, Hoss wrote:  “Many times in the past when some of you were having a particularly bad time, Old Hoss has offered “counsel,” which consisted largely of this: When you can’t do something about something, let it go. Say to yourself, “So it goes,” and get on with your life. So, so it goes. Thank you, all.”

Yes, Hoss, so it goes. There isn’t a damn thing I can do about you moving on up to Big Ernie and I hope you at least got to say hi before you reincarnated as a dung beetle. I will always be kind to dung beetles.

And, as it goes, I also wanted to post a picture of a rabbit, even though it isn’t the first of the month.

big-bunnyHoo boy, Hoss would have loved this BIG OLE BUNNY!

I’m also posting a picture of a frog:

spring-peeperBut not just any frog, but a Spring Peeper. Someone had claimed to hear one the other day when it was 16* and I though they were shitting me, but, on the way home Sunday, before finding out about Hoss, I too heard the Spring Peepers. However, it was 70*, not 16*. I have been looking forward to Spring a great deal and was so pleased to hear their peeping and croaking. They say that in Alzheimer’s patients, the last part of the brain to die is the part that recognizes music and the emotions they are attached to.

Hoss may have passed on March 7th, but I know each year when I hear the Spring Peepers and their music, I will know this is the day he moved on to Big Ernie.

And so it goes.

*****

Nate has sinusitis. I took him to the doctor yesterday, my day off, and they gave him ginormous horse pills for his nose. He is also coughing and feverish.

Jirachi went to the vet yesterday afternoon, my day off, and his ass is healing very well. They clipped some more hair off so it doesn’t get stuck in the antibiotic ointment. The vet says we have to wait until his balls and scrotum heal so he can get them cut out. Thinking about that statement makes my eyeballs wrinkle.

Tango escaped from the house, right after Macy did. When I wasn’t at some kind of doctor’s office I was walking the neighborhood, on my day off, trying to find Tango, as I knew Macy was on a short hunger strike, for whatever reason, under my house.

This morning I filled out an online missing pet form with our local humane society. It read something like: Lost in —- block —– Ave., Small WV Town, black cat, green/yellow eyes, answers to Tango. Loves feet, please call ###-####.

He does love feet, loves to rub on them, then loves to chew and bite on them.

I pressed “send,” walked outside onto the porch, hollered his name, heard his little Tango “barrupp” and there he was. He couldn’t decide whether to eat breakfast or love on my feet. I went back to the computer and penned a note to the Humane Society.

“Hi, this is Nanner. I just sent a missing pet form regarding a black cat named Tango in Small WV Town. He obviously knew this because he came home. Thanks anyway. ”

*****

I have felt like a new woman since the sun has been out and we have changed the clocks. I feel – rejuvenated.

*****

I’m not sure if I remember telling anyone but I stepped down from my lead position at the restaurant so I could work more bar shifts and evening shifts. This is a good exchange. However, I was supposed to work just two bar shifts a week and that lasted about two weeks, and now its three or four. Which is, hey, fine with me!

However, I went to buy some new work pants, which I never do unless I have to because I hate shopping. However, a lady who had come into the restaurant had a really cool pair of pants on and was kind enough to tell me where they were on sale at the local mall. Anamoly No. 1: So, even without needing them, I went to get a new pair of those pants.

Since I hate shopping, I just generally guess at what size I need and then deal with it.  I haven’t tried on clothes since Christmas of 2007 when I bought my last pair of jeans. Anamoly No. 2:  I actually tried the pants on before buying them. Naturally, I got the size I thought I wore and when I could put both hands down the front of them thought… hmmmm… maybe I need a smaller size.

Yes, I had the joy of going shopping and finding I had dropped a pants size. I think this is due to the extra bar shifts and I will admit, I have been trying to eat healthier. I took one of those online test thingies about nutrition and found… well, I don’t eat so healthy. I love fruit and veggies but they are seriously lacking in my diet. I eat may too much red meat, which is likely to continue, and not enough fish or chicken.

I’ve just been making some small changes and being more conscious about what I’m eating. But make no mistake, I still eat what I want. For instance, I decided to eat at Wendy’s this evening because Nate had already eaten with his dad and in line with my new nutrition outlook, I ordered the side salad (which isn’t THAT healthy since it has iceberg lettuce versus the darker, more healthy lettuce/spinach) with a side of mandarin oranges, plus a baked potato with butter and sour cream and one of their strawberry shakes.

So, I got my starch and dairy, my fruits and veggies, and ice cream, which you all should know IS a food group. I had 1/2 a steak burger at the restaurant so I’d had enough meat for the day.

I made a crap-ton of money today, even I was shocked. Now I can buy more fruits and vegetables.

I’m so happy it is Springtime!

6 Comments

  1. Zelda said,

    I’m so sorry about Old Horsetail Snake. I enjoyed him. He was a good one.

  2. eviltwinswife said,

    That’s really sad about Hoss. He seemed like a sweet man.

    Looks like the temps might be dropping again for a bit, but I hope they’re on the way up soon! I’m eager for Spring, too.

  3. kenju said,

    I will miss Hoss forever.

    Glad Tango came back, I also love DST, and hooray for the weight loss, although you are not overweight by any means.

  4. Tammie said,

    I’m happy Tango returned. Cats are so independent. It’s hard to have a relationship with a cat, don’t you think?

    I try to eat healthier but my main diet consists of coffee, alcohol and sex.

    Hey…I do the best I can, ok?

  5. Tina said,

    Sex is ALWAYS good for your diet. 😉

    I am trying to eat healthier as well. Actually I am almost completely off meat but I do like a nice steak, buffalo wings, or a loaded burger at times. I can’t completely go vegan. 😉 I still can’t give up my carbs, though. I will always be addicted to bread, potato chips, and fries. 😉 I am buying more veggies and fruits, though, and have almost given up soda for good. Almost. 😉 When I do drink soda it’s the real shit, not the Diet stuff. Now if only I can get my boyfriend to give up the Diet Coke. He literally drinks a case a day!

    I don’t like sweets and don’t smoke, do drugs, drink coffee, and have managed my alcohol intake. Actually, my only vice is sex and rollercoasters!

    Actually one of these days I want to start a garden and grow my own stuff. I have lost weight as well. I haven’t tried to. It just happens. 😉

    I am so happy to hear Tango came back. He’s my buddy! I am also glad to hear Jerachi is on the mend. I am sending much love to them!

  6. boo said,

    I’m still weeping….but as Hoss would say “So it goes” .

    Yay for lots of money and lots of veggies and even more ice cream. 😉

Leave a Reply

