More Change… GAH!

February 18, 2009 at 11:03 pm (Alice in Chains, Beading, Black Stone Cherry, Music, My Travels, Nate, Work)

So, Assistant Manager Intern did leave, as in, walked out yesterday afternoon. There were many reasons for his departure.  I had a passionate, tearful discussion with GM about it, among other things. She stated that he wasn’t doing his job.

I told her that perhaps he wasn’t fulfilling his duties on a paperwork/administrative level, but he certainly was fulfilling them on the floor and that, after a rather rough start in which we all wanted to string him up by his gonads, 3-4 weeks ago we had all turned a corner with him. She stated he had joined the “cliques.”  I told her that there was only one clique on dayshift and that was the entire staff of dayshift.

She also took it personal when I stated that we depended on him. She took that as that we don’t depend on her. We depend on whoever comes upstairs to help and we depend on her for different things. I told her it wasn’t personal nor a reflection of what she does or doesn’t do for us. She said I was taking it personal that AMI left and I said, yeah, because I liked him, not because I didn’t think she’s supportive of us.

It was a clusterfuck. If you’ve read my blog then you know I can be just downright damned direct and I’m not afraid to tell someone what I think or how I feel. My emotions were high, my blood was hot, and I was focused. Writing that sentence actually scared me.

When I get like that, its almost like I step outside myself and all the thoughts and feelings that have been swirling around align and concentrate, kind of like the laser from the Death Star, into a beam of articulate tell it like it is, take no prisoners, put my foot down brilliance, or bullshit. Guess that would depend on what side of the laser beam you’re standing.

I’m not angry at anyone. I just don’t like how it ended. My GM may have issues, but one of mine is abandonment, so, nah. Jace even said, “Wow, I didn’t think you would take this so personal.”  Well, we had to fire a server about a week ago. I didn’t feel one way or another about it. She was either late or called in or just didn’t show up. I had no investment with her whatsoever.

With AMI, we were all looking forward to Spring so we, dayshift servers collectively, could go hiking and show him some of the more rural parts of WV. We started learning more about him, coaxing the goofy grinning, head swiveling side out of him. GM missed all of that because he was doing such a good job on the floor that she didn’t need to be there. Which, I believe, is the whole point of having an Assistant Manager or Restaurant Manager.

The hell if I know, I just work there.

Restaurant Manager seems to be attempting to fly under the radar. He’s unfamiliar with our POS system, but a quick study, not very good on the computers, but he’s trying, and I told him today that I used to do payroll, so if he has any issues to let me know. It seemed his shoulders lifted a little and he laughed and said, “Everyone is better on these computers than I am!”  He seems to be an okay guy.  I wonder when he’s going to start asserting himself.

Then again, I’ve heard when you do your job, he pretty much leaves you alone, so I should pretty much fly under his radar.

In other news, I went an estate sale on Sunday and bought $225.00 worth of vintage jewelry that I’m estimating is worth 3-6 times that much, depending on the piece. I’ll post some pictures when I get the chance since I need to catalog it anyway. One piece in particular I believe is worth about $225.00, but, it will stay in my private collection.

I’ve been very tired, sore, achy and stiff since Valentine’s Day. Busy as hell double shifts just don’t agree with me!

Oh yeah, and I’m training a new dude on dayshift. He really got on my nerves yesterday because he’s much larger than I am and kept stepping on my heels. I was telling Nate about it and he said, “Mamma, you just need to put your foot down.”

I said, “I would have, but I was afraid he was going to step on it.” Nate just hee-hawed and laughed. I think he’ll be a good fit. He’s flaming gay, a bit of a drama queen, talks far too fucking much but he knows his serving shit. I just need him to tone down the talk and I think he’ll be fine.  He really is very sweet and enthusiastic but I’m going to have to tell him tomorrow that he needs to tone down the talk because he’s wearing me out.

I hope it works better than when we tell our  new line cook to shut up. He just keeps talking and fucks our food up. He swears he’s gay but does nothing but talk about girls. We all get very irritated with him. Nice guy, just won’t shut the fuck up.

Things with Jace are meh. Eh.

I’ve requested three days off in May for Rock on the Range. My boys from Black Stone Cherry are going to be there, as are Alice in Chains! And a crap ton of other bands that I really like. Woot! Now, I just need to get the tickets and a place to stay and I’m SO THERE!!! Its just in Columbus, which is 3 1/2 hours from here, so there will be no concerns about plane tickets and such.

Just need a ticket. A ticket. And a room, somewhere. I’ll make it this time!

Peace out ya’ll. As Mahala would say, “Hump it like you just don’t care!”

4 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    When exactly in May is this Rock on The Range? If it’s the last weekend of May I will be at Holiwood Nights at Holiday World, otherwise I am VERY interested!

  2. Tina said,

    Never mind. I checked out the site. MOTLEY CRUE??????? Fuck YEAH! May 16th and 17th. I can probably score us a free place to crash.

    Ohhhh….it’s tempting. That’s a kickass list of bands!

  3. Vince said,

    I’m not sure I’d want to be on the other end of that laser beam if you were telling me like it is. But glad you spoke your mind. Sometimes it needs to be done.

  4. blackpunkin said,

    Dude, let’s rock ‘n roll!!!!!!

    Vince, I’ve been avoided ever since, but it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

