Karma Comes ‘Round

February 17, 2009 at 12:48 am (Work)

I guess that’s what I get for a being a bitty. I dropped an entire container of Sweet and Sour Mix concentrate this morning on the bar floor and it burst in a tidal wave of sweet ‘n sar sticky goodness, effectively coating me from ass to ankle… for nine long hours. Ugh.

We have a new restaurant manager, at least, that’s his title for now. I think everyone sees the writing on the wall that he’ll soon be our new GM. He’s the brother of one of our bartenders and has a lot of managerial experience.  So far, I like him.  He helped me clean up the sweet and sour mess and helped stock some odds and ends at the bar.

He acts like he’s familiar with my personality, which makes sense. His brother has worked with me, and he has also worked with Maribee and A-Rod so I’m sure they all sat and had a few beers and talked shop. Hell, I would have.  I think, even though his brother works there, and he’s worked with not only A-Rod and Maribee before but also Shifty-Eyed Bartender, that he’ll be fair.

I get a good feeling from him. It helps that he’s effin’ hot, too. Too effin’ hot. Almost uncomfortable, not look at him at all as not to stare uncomfortable. Striking, deep set vivid blue eyes uncomfortable. GQ, looks great in a dress shirt and tie uncomfortable. Drop sweet ‘n sar concentrate on the floor uncomfortable.

I hope he pisses me off soon so then he’ll just be RM (Restaurant Manager) instead of the FHNG (Fucking Hot New Guy). 

A lot of transitions going on in the restaurant and change is tough. Our Assistant Manager Intern may or may not be staying as long as he thought since FHNG has been hired and I told him today that it pissed me off because we really just got to know him and honestly, although we all had our problems with him at first, now we all really like him. Plus, I trust him for an honest assessment of my work.

He was complimentary. His one lone concern was that I can be “volatile.” I told him I preferred “passionate.” He laughed but I have to admit to having a temper. When we were talking about him perhaps leaving earlier than expected and what he had learned, he gave me another compliment by saying that he had learned more from me than anyone, especially regarding payroll issues and few other things.

I told him that sometimes we learn as much from our good experiences as we do from others’ mistakes, so that generally, he got a good education. He’s moving to the kitchen tomorrow, so that should be really fun. He’s a chef at a private club in upstate NY near the Adirondack Mountains.

The hostess and I were teasing him that we were going to road trip to see him over a long weekend. Actually, I don’t think we were teasing much. A long road trip… hmmmm… I’m in.

Well, I need to wash my sticky pants for another day of restaurant goodness. We got Monday licked!

6 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    It sounds like you dropped the sweet and sour mix because you couldn’t stop gawking at the hot new guy. 😉 Haha!

  2. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    LOL. Sounds like some interesting happenings in the future!

  3. kenju said,

    That place is ever-changing, isn’t it? I think all restaurants are the same way.

  4. Marie said,

    Never a dull moment I see. Good luck working with the new “hottie.”

  5. Vince said,

    Just catching up. My what a lot of stuff going on!

    I know this isn’t timely, but just a quick 2 cents on Jace. The Wife and I don’t share a ton of interests any more (though we do share some). Our relationship is at a whole other level now. But the passion was there in the beginning as well as all the interests and stuff. Just saying that there’s more to a relationship than sharing all the same stuff. Not saying whether you should stick it out or not, since the whole not wanting to conversate thing is kind of odd, just saying keep an open mind. Sometimes the things that connect people are not what we expect and those things can create stronger bonds than the things we would expect.

    Hope I made sense.

  6. blackpunkin said,

    Beanie, I was not gawking when I dropped the sweet and sour mix! Thankyouverymuch. 🙂

    ETW, more than you know.

    Kenju, yep, that’s how it appears.

    Thanks Marie. He’s just becoming one of the gang.

    Vince, thanks for your input. I’ll remember that and trust me, I am keeping an open mind.

Leave a Reply

