Little Unicorn Man

January 5, 2009 at 10:14 am (Cats)

No, I don’t have I-net yet, I’m blogging quickly from work. Wanted to let you know about our little Jirachi. If you’ve followed his saga, he has had a continous sinus/upper respiratory problem since birth. Three rounds of antibiotics and a round of anti-virals and the little man was still snotting and sneezing and not growing. He’s 8 months old and weighs 4.9 lbs. That’s a little kitty!

This all came to a head right before the New Year when it appeared Jirachi was attempting to grow a horn from his forehead. Abscess city baby! Off to the vet we go and he had his little forehead shaved, his little abscess drained, and now he’s sporting a shaved head and a drain that appears to be an oversized twist-tie that I have to flush every morning and evening with an iodine solution.

Luckily, Jirachi is a spoiled little thing and takes his little pills without fuss and only gives me a bit of trouble over flushing the drain. The good thing is, he no longer sounds like Darth Vader and the vet sent a culture off to see if it may be a fungal problem given that Jirachi was born in a barn and exposed to all kinds of different fungi, bacterias, and viruses.

So, Happy New Year to you all.Β  I had saved all kinds of money to get my I-net turned back on, but, I had to get Jirachi’s horn removed and that pretty well took care of that. I’ll post pictures whenever I can.

See ya soon!

31 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    Hope your kitty’s ok. Though a cat that can breath like Darth Vader sounds pretty cool.

  2. Tammie said,

    Glad to hear that the kitty is going to be better. I’m looking forward to the new year and hopefully that will include us hanging out some.

  3. kenju said,

    I hope he gets well soon. After all that, he should.
    Also hope you get your i-net soon.

  4. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Poor little woobie. I hope he gets better soon. I also hope to see you soon!

  5. trashman said,

    a bag of rocks is cheaper.

  6. Tina said,

    My prayers and thoughts go out to the little guy. Give him extra hugs for me. πŸ™‚ Timbers and Kumba sends their meows and purrs. πŸ™‚

  7. Tina said,

    ^^Is that supposed to be funny, Trashman? If so it’s not working.

  8. PandoraWilde said,

    OK Trashman, that’s twice I’ve hoped it was a joke. If it’s a joke, it’s not funny. If it’s not a joke, just keep it to yourself–the lady doesn’t need crap like this.

  9. trashman said,

    Dudes
    Y’all need to lighten the fuck up.

  10. Zelda said,

    Claws in, cat lovers. πŸ˜†

    Trash and Nanner go way back. It was funny.

    Nanner, I’m sorry about your kitty (why do I get a thrill out of saying that?) and I hope he gets better soon.

  11. Jammie J. said,

    Have to say it was a good thing you were saving up your money. Kitty is more important than Internet. Glad to hear you’re doing OK, was wondering about you.

    Hope kitty gets better soon. Poor little guy.

    xo

  12. trashman said,

    I think y’all got me wrong. I love cats. Especially on a Ritz. Everything tastes better on a Ritz.

  13. Tina said,

    It’s not funny, Trashman. You REALLY need to get a sense of humor. I am the last person to flame someone on the net but joking about dead cats is NOT cool.

  14. trashman said,

    Dearest Tina
    There are far more uses for dead cats than just jokes. In fact I think some one wrote a book about 101 uses for dead cats. So now there are 102. I have a great sense of humor MAYBE you should look into finding one. Dead cats are hilarious, almost as funny as dead babies.

  15. Tina said,

    ^It’s NOT funny to some people. Granted, I don’t know you. You don’t know me. I am sure you are a cool guy. If not you wouldn’t be friends with one of my best friends. I just don’t see the humor right now. I don’t see anything funny about dead cats, as well as dead babies. I really do have a sense of humor. Your comments hit me the wrong way.

  16. trashman said,

    Tina
    You’re right. I am a cool guy. In fact my roots have been traced back to the old country and I am related to the Cool famiy. So yeah. I’m cool.

  17. Tina said,

    ^Same here. πŸ™‚

  18. Inanna said,

    It appears my comments have taken on a life of their own and negated the need for me to blog.

    Beanie, I know why you feel the way you do but Trash has his own brand of humor. Sometimes I don’t find it funny either, sometimes I smirk, sometimes I laugh out loud, just depends.

    Trash, stop baiting my cat lovers, especially while I’m not around to keep the peace!

    Everyone else, thanks for stopping by. Hopefully, one day soon, I’ll be around to check up with everyone.

  19. Zelda said,

    Wasn’t it a little exciting though? Nothing fun has happened for months.

  20. trashman said,

    Here kitty kitty kitty.

  21. Tina said,

    Trashman is OK in my book. πŸ™‚

    Peace. πŸ™‚

    -Tina

  22. trashman said,

    Tina
    There two kinds of women in this world.
    1. Those that love me.
    2. Those that hate me because they cant have me.

  23. Tina said,

    ^Haha. Nice! πŸ™‚

  24. trashman said,

    Tina
    You wouldn’t be trying to get the last word in, would you?

  25. Jammie J. said,

    Me and my five cats stalk Trashman.

  26. trashman said,

    Jammie J
    5 cats? Really? I guess I need the big box of Ritz.

  27. Seamus said,

    Hiya Nannerbelle! πŸ™‚

    Sounds like the kitty is in good hands! πŸ™‚

  28. trashman said,

    Did the cats eat you?

  29. cybele said,

    I missed all the excitement!

    Peach, hope your penchant for adoption doesn’t keep you broke for too long. I need a Nate-update! And best wishes for the unicat, who, we can all agree, is in good hands.

    Trash, I’ve got some loaner cats. Any advice on how to fudge it with the owners should they encounter an, uh, accident on my watch?

  30. Celti said,

    awwww, I hope the little bugger is all healed up by now. *big hugs*

  31. Evil Julie said,

    Poor little guy. Hope he’s doing well (hope the same for you and Nate, of course)!

Leave a Reply

