‘Tis the Season for TMJ

December 16, 2008 at 7:04 am (General)

I thought I had escaped it this year.  It normally hits around Thanksgiving but this year, it has waited this long to rear its ugly head. Perhaps its because the Christmas rush has taken longer to kick in here.  Who knows. I just hate it.

The weather has been in flux for several days. My sinuses are singing, loudly, and my jaw pops right along with that rythmn. I’ve been up since 3:30 or so. It had just started snowing and now they’re issuing school delays. I figure I’ll wait another 18 minutes to see if they are going to delay Nate’s school then take another shower to help loosen the muscles in my jaw and wash the vestiges of vapor rub from my body.

The pain is tolerable at this point, thanks to ibuprofen and vapor rub. I did doze on the couch but when I went back to bed my sinuses started draining, causing me to cough and cough and cough. Ugh.

Plus, yesterday was just a clusterfuck. I thought I was off work and looking forward to it. Luckily, I went in anyway to get some paperwork done, and since we’ve been busy, I took my work clothes. Good thing, because I wasn’t off yesterday. I still had to leave early because I had to pick up Nate’s medicine and Nate, for that matter.

I doubt if there is a delay that I can count on Jeff to take Nate to school for me since he called at 11:00 last night, either drunk or stoned on pills or both. Its hard to tell sometimes. He said he loved me so it may have been his pills. Hell, he may have been asleep for all I know. That’s been known to happen.

Its still pitch black outside and from the window I can’t tell if its still snowing, although the radar says, “Yes, its been snowing outside and its going to snow more because you’re under a Winter Weather Advisory, dumbass.” I don’t feel like opening the front door and looking, or even opening the window to listen for the delicate sound of snow falling. It smells like snow. Its cold like snow.

Time for my shower.

6 Comments

  1. themom (Marie) said,

    yeah, yeah, yeah…another school delay. My grandson now is able to sleep an extra 2 hours – but he won’t, and his school day is shortened just enough to NOT get tanything accomplished. I think we only have 2″ of white stuff. Take care of yourself, you don’t want to wear yourself out to the point you can’t enjoy some Holiday time with Nate. Good luck…:)

  2. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Since the Evil Twin takes Buddy to school, I didn’t even look outside until after they’d left, then checked for a delay, but found no listing for the county. Whew. LOL. Mom of the Year award is coming my way, I think. I hope you get to feeling better soon.

  3. PandoraWilde said,

    I’m betting we get a snow day here tomorrow–we’re due for about 9″ of snow here in north central Wisconsin.

  4. LisaBinDaCity said,

    This time of year it’s nonstop STUFF!

  5. Jammie J. said,

    Oh man, my sinuses have been KILLING me. It’s been a couple weeks of nonstop headaches and I’m about ready to just start banging my head on the nearest hard object just because it might make my sinuses bust open and ease the pain!

    All that to say that I feel your pain. Or my pain, but it’s pain and I feel it. So I sympathize with you is what I’m trying to say in a long-winded fashion that makes sense in a roundabout way.

    Bummer about having to work when you thought you were off.

    Oh and Jeff is weird.

  6. Vince said,

    Hope you’re feeling better. Snow started here today, but probably won’t be as bad as what you’re getting.

Leave a Reply

