Why Is It Always the Bartender???

December 12, 2008 at 10:47 pm (Work)

We have another new bartender. I’m not sure if I blogged that Addy upped and walked out during service one day. I wasn’t there but I got “the call” because they had to change my servers for the following week and I needed to be in the loop. It broke my heart, but hearts will be broken.

So, after a week or two of everyone on evening shift pulling doubles to help us cover the bar, we hired Shifty-Eyed Chick. SEC, in her two weeks with us, has gotten on my last nerve. She’s always worried that someone is going to screw her over on tips and how much is she getting in tips and by the way, what was my tip share? And, “I’m only scheduled until 2 on Saturday so I won’t be helping with the meeting room.” Eh, fuck you.

Oh JOY, I get to work ALL DAY with her tomorrow! Except, she’s leaving at 2, and she’ll be back at 4 or 5, or whenever she is scheduled. As you can tell, she’s a real team player. We were effin’ slow today and with three servers and bartender, I left the floor before 1:30 to work downstairs. I left Shanni to take tables so SEC could put away wine and liquor, because we always get big orders in on Friday.

Come 4:00, my quittin’ time, I walk upstairs to find SEC yakking at the bar, the wine still isn’t put away, the liquor isn’t put away, and four of her seven tables are still dirty from lunch service… which ended three hours prior. Just because I go downstairs doesn’t mean I don’t ever float back up to the surface. I was upstairs numerous times and each time she appeared to be doing something. Too bad that something was really nothing.

Shanni, luckily, asked if we needed additional champagne flutes for the brunch we’re having tomorrow morning at 10, which is why I have to be in at 8:30. I called down to the GM and asked if those needed to be brought up from the basement and she said, “Oh, crap! Yeah.” 

I bussed SEC’s two dirty tables, and wiped and re-sat all four, then found that it was impossible to unload any dirty dishes at the tank because it was totally full, as in, the kitchen was busy with prep and our dishwasher had left at 3 because he was working a split shift and wasn’t due back until 6, and since I knew that one of our Lynch Mob sisters had 20 people in the meeting room and would need to unload all of her dirties, I decided that instead of helping SEC, who appeared to have done nothing since 1:30, I’d do something for everyone, and started running dishes through the tank.

Once GM came upstairs I told her I would unavailable to bring up champagne flutes from the basement and she could ask SEC to do so. GM then asked me why Candyman was unloading wine and liquor. I gave her a “that’s a rhetorical question, right?” look and went back to running dishes and then putting them where they belonged.

I probably ran 9 or 12 racks or maybe 15 racks of dishes, pots and pans, four or five racks of glasses, and a rack of silver. (And damn, this cheap Merlot I bought tastes mighty fine! I think I’ll have another glass!) The sous chef was very complimentary of my mad dishtanking skillz.

Actually, it was a good experience for me because of all of the different jobs in the restaurant, I was always intimidated by the dishtank. I know it may seem silly, considering I know how to load a dishwasher, but the spray arm with its scalding water, and the heavy glass racks, the endless array of different types of dishes, pots, pans, and other utilities, it was overwhelming for someone with ADD.

Then after I finished with what was already AT the tank, I unloaded all of the trays that had piled up because of the lack of space, which was three or four. No wonder it took me an hour to clear that mess. However, I am pleased to announce that I have CONQUERED THE DISHTANK!

It was much more fun working the dishtank than carrying up champagne flutes from the basement and wanting to kill the bartender.

On a sad note, or humdinger, as Jammie would call it, a friend of Jace’s died in a car accident. He’s very upset and pretty exhausted, mentally and physically. Send some good vibes!

7 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    I think your boss is very lucky to have you! I hope he appreciates it.

  2. themom (Marie) said,

    You are definitely muti-talented. There is always an “upside and downside” to knowing ewvery aspect of one’s workplace though. Do not let yourself be taken advantage of….I mean that.

  3. Jammie J. said,

    i have confidence that you can do whatever you set your mind to. You do have a way of managing to get done what needs to be done, despite the obstacles (whatever or whomever they may be) that may be in your path.

    At my job I always look at a task if it’s outside of the realm of my job description and think, “If I do this, will it set a precedent and become an expectation, something to be added to my job description…? Will I have time to continue doing the other aspects of my job if it does?” It’s sad, really, because sometimes I just want to pitch in and help, but there’s always a concern that if I breach that boundary myself, everyone else will to.

    Hopefully that’s not the case at your job. 🙂

  4. Zelda said,

    I never learn anything unless it’s under extreme duress. But that’s good because then I pay attention.

    And I’m sorry about Jace’s friend. My condolences.

  5. Inanna said,

    Kenju, she does, to a degree.

    Marie, well, you just have not let yourself be taken advantage of.

    Jammie, I know what you mean. I do step outside the boundaries, but mainly they know it is only on a short-term basis to get us where we need to be, then I go back to doing what I should. There has to be a boundary there, luckily for me, there’s a pretty big boundary between “front of the house” and “back of the house.”

    Zelda, I don’t think you give yourself enough credit!

  6. Vince said,

    Sorry to hear about Jace’s friend.

    They got to have you start hiring the help so they get good people instead of this current crop of “talent”.

  7. theunderstood said,

    Help will never be the help you want, you never want to tell the help what you want!!?? Just do your best know that you regulars are their for you and the unhelpy-helpertons will be gone before you know it.

    Peace

Leave a Reply

