Watching Over Me

November 9, 2008 at 2:55 pm (Black Stone Cherry, Crazy Shit, Friends, Memories, Music, My Travels, Relationships, Shop, Work)

Today, my friend Kevin has been dead two years. I’m finally at peace with what happened and I know that he is watching over me.

Day before yesterday, I was talking to our new evening pantry cook, Jace. He started about two months ago and we always passed on my way out and his way in. He works exclusively nights and I work almost exclusively days. He has another full-time job which is why he works nights. I thought he was really cute, but figured he was too young for me. Well, I found out he was only 5 years younger. Hmmmm…

Friday I worked evening shift and he made the remark that he really didn’t get to go out much and I said, “Yeah, me neither.” And then our conversation got swallowed up by other people hitting the smoke hole before shift started. Later, I was loitering around pantry, due to the positive vibe from our earlier conversation, and he asked me out, which I accepted. We quietly agreed to meet after I got off work yesterday.

We met at a local food and watering hole, ate, drank, talked, and watched football. We then went to another, more quiet, watering hole and drank more and talked. Things were going really, really good. I told him about Kevin and laughed about the fact that Kevin always ate those convenience store burritos that were as big as his head. They were closing up so I asked if he wanted to take a trip to one of my fave places and drink more. He was game so, yes, we headed to The Point.

On the way there, we stopped at the last gas station before heading out onto the sparsley populated two lane highway and ran into a guy who asked if we knew of any bars in the general vicinity, within walking distance, as he was driving a big rig. Jace and I both knew of some bars but they were too far away to walk in the cold night. The driver thanked us, held up a beer and said, “Well, I’ll just kick back in the rig and have a beer and some food.” That food… a ginormous convenience store burrito. It even said, “X-XLarge” on the package. I smiled and pointed it out to Jace.

On the way to The Point, I asked Jace if he believed in signs and he said that sometimes he did and sometimes he didn’t and that you could pretty well turn anything into a “sign” if you wanted it to be. I agreed but I also pointed out that I hadn’t seen anyone with a convenience store burrito until tonight and it was right after I told Jace about Kevin. He agreed that it was something to think about. We talked every moment of the 45 minute drive to The Point and I saw another sign… a shooting star.

Double Ds is the local dive/karaoke bar in that area, one that you can still smoke in. Jace used to sing in some bands so he took a stab at the karaoke and the owner wants him to take part in the karaoke contest next weekend. He’s hot and he’s a great singer, okay? Then the DJ played “Crazy Bitch” by Buckcherry and we had a great time singing that together, as well as the Kid Rock song, “So Hott.” I guess that goes to show that Jace and I… well, we’re birds of a feather when it comes to music.

We left around closing and took a short walk around town to see the Mothman statue, the waterfront, and the obelisk at Tu-Endie-We State Park. We got some kissing in as well. It was well close to 4 a.m. by the time we stopped by my house for a potty break before I took him back to his car. However, more kissing ensued and more kissing and finally, after 18 long months, I finally christened my queen size bed. Eight hours, very little sleep, and a trip to IHOP later, I finally dropped him off at his car.

He admitted at some point that he had thought of cancelling our date because we work together and he knows how that can go sometimes. I’m really glad he didn’t though. I’m also really hopeful that he doesn’t flake out on me, which could still happen, and sometimes does happen even though you have a great time together and we have a lot in common and some things not so much in common, which is a good thing. I laughed and smiled so much my face hurt.

For a date that lasted over 16 hours, I still wasn’t ready for it to be over. He didn’t seem to be in any hurry either. I’m not sure what’s going to happen but it sure is nice to know that I can still click with someone.

As for Kevin, I love you my friend and thanks for letting me know you’re still with me. I miss you.

At night I go to sleep and pray he is watching over me,

Somewhere there’s a sun that’s shining so bright that I can see you smile and all that I need is one last chance just to hear you say good-bye.

And if you have a dream, you better hang on for dear life. And when that cold wind blows just let it pass you by.

Selected lyrics from “Things My Father Said” by Black Stone Cherry.

14 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    Woohooo! That rocks, dude! 😉

  2. cybele said,

    Congrats on the christening! Sounds like a fun time. Hope nothing gets weird at work for ya.

  3. blackpunkin said,

    Thanks, dude. It did actually rock. Matter of fact, it rocked my world.

    Cybele, why thank ya dear. We’re really open about the work situation. He’s worked in restaurants his entire life in management etc. so we’re hoping to sidestep any bullshit. He called me this afternoon and I answered so neither of us are flaking out yet. I like a man who calls me and doesn’t flake out.

  4. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Well, that certainly is one good way to celebrate the weekend! 🙂

  5. Mahala said,

    *hugs* girlfriend and yes that was totally a sign. When we eliminate the word “coincidence” from our vocabulary, it’s fecking amazing the things we begin to noitice.

  6. Vince said,

    You touched me there girl. That sounds like one really fine, romanticaly, enchanged type evening. I hope you guys have lots more of them. I’m a firm believer that our loved ones are indeed interceding for us in heaven and looking out for us. Looks like Kevin is still looking out for you.

  7. themom said,

    One long, hot date I would say – good for you!! I believe in looking for signs or sometimes they just appear at the right time.

  8. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    Having fun is lots better than not having fun. According to me…..

  9. trashman said,

    Sunshine, did you yell my name?

  10. Inanna said,

    ETW, no shit, girlfriend.

    Mahala, truly. I agree some folks overdo it, but sometimes, a sign is a sign.

    Vince, I have no doubt Kevin is watching out for me.

    Hoss, I like how you think.

    SunnyTrash, I did NOT yell your name. I yelled his and it was sooo good.

  11. trashman said,

    I’m sure you were at least thinking about ME.

  12. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Yay Hurrah for the Christening!

    Those long dry spells are less than fun 😉

  13. noonie said,

    Woohoo… Peach got some!

    I’m jealous…

  14. blackpunkin said,

    Trash, I’m sorry, you weren’t in my thoughts. Not at all. Not even close.

    LisaB., dry spells are no fun. Luckily, I’ve had sex since my bed did. Or something like that.

    Noonie, and if I’m lucky, I’ll get more!

Leave a Reply

