My Poor Tang

October 8, 2008 at 7:45 pm (Cats)

Even though Tango has a short enough name, I still call him, “My Tang Tang.” Day before yesterday I noticed he was not his usual self. By yesterday, I definitely knew something was wrong. When we went to bed last night he felt like a little hot brick, his coat was poor, and I could tell he had already lost weight. Cats are good at camoflauging their problems, so, I knew he’s probably not felt right for longer than two days.

A trip to the vet found my Tang with a temperature of 105.8! YIKES! 106 is considered seizure stage. The big problem is that he’s showing no other symptoms. No vomiting, diahrrea, sneezing, wheezing, coughing, labored breating or painful meows and the vet check was negative for something like painful kidneys or bladder. Right now, it is a “fever of unknown origin.” We had to leave him at the vet’s office for a chill bath, blood work, IV fluids, and antibiotics. He’ll be there until at least Friday when the blood tests come back.

I told my boss it was typical that I think I’m going to get caught up and something happens. Luckily, I get paid on Friday, I had some money put back for the cable bill, my child support should be in the bank, and they’ll let me make payments at the vet’s office.

I know Nate has more up-to-date photos of Tango on his cell phone, but here’s Tango helping me bead back in May. He’s a good beading kitty. I can’t believe how much he’s grown since then. Let’s just hope this is something that can be taken care of with antibiotics. Good thoughts are appreciated.

11 Comments

  1. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Awww. He’s a cutie. I hope he’s feeling better soon. Keep me updated!

  2. Zelda said,

    Poor baby. I hope he’s better soon. And I love your AC/DC pajama pants.

  3. Jammie J. said,

    I’ll say a prayer for the little Tang Tang.
    I’m so sorry he’s not feeling well. Hopefully they find what the “origin” is.

    (hugs)

  4. kenju said,

    He’s a sweetie! I hope the reports are good.

  5. Tina said,

    Bless his little heart! I miss Tang Tang! Many thoughts and prayers are being sent his way! I hope it’s nothing serious.

    -Tina

  6. Celti said,

    Awwww…feel better tang tang!

    *hugs for Nanner*

  7. Vince said,

    Hope your kitty is ok.

  8. restless angel said,

    Poor kitty. I hope he’s alright.

  9. Beth said,

    I hope it’s nothing serious. Will you be able to visit him before Friday?

  10. Marie said,

    I hope the poor kitty feels better soon. The worst part would be NOT knowing what the problem was.

  11. Seamus said,

    He looks like such a sweet kitty! Hope all gets resolved and you two can get back to beading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

