A Quite Fetching Day

October 1, 2008 at 10:21 pm (Politics, Relationships, Work)

So, after spending an inordinate amount of time going over the new bailout proposal, I was glad to see that Paulson did not get his way in which foreign banks could transfer their debt to their American counterparts and then have we taxpayers shoulder that burden. I believe all of the sweetening caveats in the new bailout proposal would be just fine WITHOUT the 700 billion dollar (or so) pricetag.

I agree that eventually something will have to be done, however, I believe if we raise the FDIC, that things will stablize for the time being until more time can be taken to review all of the options instead of just those of former Goldman Sachs man, Henry Paulson. I don’t trust him not to be a bit, shall we say, biased towards Wall Street versus the best interests of yours truly. After all, instead of standing with my hand out, I would instead be telling him to STOP SPENDING MY MONEY!

*Ahem*

Anyway, I had a much better day at work today. I’d say it was pretty damn good.  I waited on the First Lady of WV who wrote, “Great Job!” on my credit slip. I’m making a copy of it.

However, the best part of my day was when I noticed a particular guest at the bar. He’s one of those guests that I’ve secretly, or perhaps not so secretly, had a crush on. Actually, I’m not sure I would call it a crush. We had a little bit of run-in one day over a parking issue and then the next time he was in, which was yesterday, he was being a bit, umm, cranky with his mother. I’m a huge fan of his mother as she is a  true lady. I believe she’s quite fond of me as well. So, he was rather cranky yesterday and then someone joined them and I went downstairs and didn’t see him again.

Today was a bit different. I went up to the bar to say hello because it would be strange if I didn’t, plus he seemed to be in a better mood. He said, “Well, hello babe. You look quite fetching today.” (Yeah, in that black uniform I wear everytime he sees me.) I thanked him and then said, “Hmmm, ‘fetching’, I do like that word.” And then we discussed how people just don’t use that word anymore. I quite like it. But since I had the F.L. of WV at the other end of the restaurant I had to leave.

But I returned, where we discussed the bailout new proposal and he said “Its refreshing to talk to someone who’s been paying attention.” I also asked him what he did for a living. I know he’s been involved in politics and PR and used to live in Washington. I also know he ran the Bush campaign in WV in 2000 and 2004, which, okay, I didn’t say he was perfect. He seemed very proud that I had written to my Senators and laughed out loud when I told him that I had told them that I expected them to stick their feet up Wall Street’s ass so far they coughed up shoe leather.

Right now, he eats lunch at the restaurant. That’s his job. At least, that’s what he said. But, he’s hot,  intelligent, and passionate. Plus he’s 42 and he said I have pretty eyes. He also said that after 9/11 Washington became very boring. (As if WV is a bustling metropolis???) I told him I had a friend who was an attorney there but I didn’t care much for D.C.  We talked about my work at the restaurant and my previous employment with the law firms and he, like a lot of people, wanted to know why I left.

Tired of an office smaller than a jail cell,  tired of sitting on my ass, “and, I like people.” He said, “Yes, you connect with people.”

So, after all that, I had to retreat to the back of the restaurant and serve some food instead of flirting with hot men at the bar but emboldened by his response today I silently hoped he wouldn’t leave before I could make one more pass. He was gathering his things as I did so … on the run… never stopping… just saying…

“We should get together and discuss politics sometime.”

And he said, ummmm, he said something like, “Yeah, that would be great!” or something like that. It was an affirmative answer with enthusiasm.

Yeah, that would be great.

He’s quite fetching you know. Quite.

7 Comments

  1. PandoraWilde said,

    It sounds like you should fetch him til he fetches you, to paraphrase another out-of-use phrase (“chasing a man til he catches you” being the specific one–saying so because what I said at first didn’t make much sense unless you had the old saw to compare with. Shit, I spent FAR too much time around the elderly in my nursing career).

  2. Seamus said,

    Sounds like a good, flirty diversion. 😉

  3. kenju said,

    More importantly, how much did the first lady of WV tip!!?? LOL

  4. Tina said,

    You go girl!

  5. eviltwinswife said,

    Ahhh… the fun of the flirt. That’s the best part!

  6. blackpunkin said,

    Pandora, I shall not be chasing him. He knows where I work!

    Diversions are good, Seamus.

    Kenju, she tipped just fine.

    Tina, I’ma puttin’ along.

    No, ETW, the best part is the sex.

  7. Vince said,

    Damn, the First Lady of WV. Nice to see some people don’t let big titles go to their head.

    Good luck fetching the fetching man.

Leave a Reply

