Clueless

September 22, 2008 at 9:06 pm (Alice in Chains, AZ, Black Stone Cherry, Friends, My Travels)

Last night, my good bud, Beanie and I went to one of my favorite haunts, The Point. I think she’d had a bit to drink or wasn’t paying attention or both, because it took her about 45 minutes of driving in the dark on a two lane highway before she asked, “Dude, where are we?”  Clueless was she.

I kind of didn’t tell her where we were going, just asked if she wanted to take a drive.  I distracted her by listening to Black Stone Cherry’s new CD and telling her twice why I love Alice and Jerry and why AZ is still stuck in my crawl. Then I spent some time laughing at her as she told me how creepy The Point is, which I already know. Except, well, The Point is not so creepy for me anymore. I’m pretty convinced that The Point sits on converging lines of energy and the reason I am drawn there is due to that energy.

I love the riverfront there. I know I’ve been there so many times and have never taken pictures. Maybe someday. I can see that they are working on the murals again and the 7th annual Mothman Festival was this weekend, which I missed… but I much prefer The Point to myself.

Happened to talk to AZ while I was out there. Beanie was witness to the ultimate humiliation of hating someone and loving them all at the same time. I think somewhere in the rant afterwards that I, or we, came to the conclusion that he’s a big pussy and completely and utterly, fucking, clueless. CLUE. LESS.

I said, “Well, you and the wife have almost been married a year… how’s that workin’ for ya?”

He said, “Its had its moments. We were actually talking about that the other day and she said, ‘I didn’t think we’d make it a year’ and I said, ‘Me either, but there’s still time.'” See, clueless. I mean, if I’m going to go through all of this turmoil, then at least put your back into it! Dumbass.

Ya’ll are so right. I need someone with a little bit more of a clue! What a waste!

I think Jefferson Airplane said it best:

When the truth is found to be lies
and all the joy within you dies
don’t you want somebody to love
don’t you need somebody to love
wouldn’t you love somebody to love
you better find somebody to love

And they’d better not be fucking clueless.

7 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    I believe at the 1 year point in my marriage I was still blissfully in love. I recall we had a very nice anniversary dinner at a local diner in the 50’s style, called Ronnie’s. I even verified my memory with the Wife. I recall we were looking forward to the many years we’d have together.

    Oh, but wait, I have a clue.

    I know there’s more guys out there with clue so there’s a pretty good bet you’ll find one of them.

  2. Tina said,

    I can’t thank you enough for the field trip. I did drink earlier but I wasn’t “drunk”……..just pissed, distracted, tired, exhausted, and feeling sorry for myself. I was too caught up in my own misery to really pay attention to where we were going.

    I am always clueless. 🙂

    I am really glad you took me to Pt. Pleasant. I was SCARED but in a thrilling type of way.

    As far as that phone conversation I wanted to smack you while I was listening to you talk to him but I would of been a hypocrite for doing so. Like I said he’s a big PUSSY.

    Love ya dude,

    -Tina

  3. blackpunkin said,

    Vince, I’m not certain he’s capable of being blissful about anything. You can either say they were being realistic about their chances or that’s just the way they are and are made for each other. I should have told him that all of us were equally as surprised. I figure if I feel that way when I get married, maybe I shouldn’t get married.

    Beanie, I didn’t say you were “drunk,” I said you’d “had a bit to drink.” 🙂 Actually, I think you were too busy have X-rated text messages to pay much attention to where we were going. Next time, remind me to take a camera and a jacket, it was downright nipply!

  4. Tina said,

    Anytime, dude! I want to go back!

    Yeah, Chuck was keeping me busy with the TM’s. 🙂 Anything sex-related will totally destroy my attention span. 😉 That’s nothing new. 😉

  5. kenju said,

    I’m glad to read that, Nanner. You are too smart to settle for someone clueless about anything.

  6. Seamus said,

    Having a clue should be an imperative for a relationship!

  7. Marie said,

    I am in agreemenet here….having a clue or lots of clues is a very, very good thing. To many walking brain, deads out there now. You are better than that!!

Leave a Reply

