FUBAR

September 15, 2008 at 9:33 pm (Attitude in Overdrive, Crazy Shit, Memories)

As usual, I’m here to piss people off… so let us commence with the golden showers:

1.  Folks of Texas and Louisana that refused to leave and now need rescuing – I heard the reports all the way in WV that things could be obscene down there. I mean, OBSCENE. I mean, “Certain death if you stay” obscene.  Why did you stay? I haven’t heard one of you say, “I didn’t have any transportation,” I have heard you say, “I didn’t think it would be that bad.” What part of “certain death” and “18-22 foot storm surge” and “massive power outages” did you not get? For those sitting in their attics watching TV running on generators and don’t want rescued, well, good for you.

2.   For those concerned, despite the recent meltdowns of Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, Lehman Bros., and Merrill Lynch, with AIG teetering on the great abyss, the potential for thousands of jobs to go down the drain, etc., well, don’t worry, the economy is fine, its merely “sluggish.”  Unemployment is at its highest level in 5 years, but still relatively low according to history, and in the past year the number of unemployed people in the US only rose by 2 million. And don’t worry about the ever spiraling debt and ever growing trade deficit, we’ll have years and years to pay all of that back.

3.   Gas has only gone up $.20 to $4.05 a gallon. WOOT! Even though our local refinery is only an hour away, we get our crude oil from the Texas pipeline. Regardless of the fact that the price of oil has fallen, the price of gas keeps rising, and not just because of Ike. This happened before Ike, like two weeks ago. Yep, it was $3.73 and then it went to $3.85 even though the price of oil fell.  The good news is, I got a gallon of milk today for $2.99!!!  Now, if my car ran on milk, I’d be a little better off.

4.  Remember the Greek Adonis from the engagement party last year?  Yeah, you know, I’ve had a mad crush on him ever since. I’ve seen him quite a few times since then and he’s always just as handsome and courteous and sweet and tall as he was then. And I always want to smooch his face and a few other things. So, someone I know, she got to smooch his face and a few other things. And she said he was a good smoocher and his other things weren’t anything to snicker at either.

You know that shitty feeling you get when someone gets something you’ve wanted and you kind of hope it wasn’t all that so you don’t feel so bad that you didn’t get it, but then you find out it was all that and a bucket of peaches and it just makes you feel shittier? 

Yeah, that’s kinda where I am right now.

Oh, and I’m not going to Arizona either… so, the week is off to a great start already. Now, I’m going to wander over and make a donation to the Red Cross. I’m not entirely heartless.

8 Comments

  1. Vince said,

    I’d rant about these things but you say them so much more eloquently than I.

    Should we start a “Nanner’s Arizona Trip” fund? I’d contribute. How much you need?

  2. subeeds said,

    Well said, Nanner!!!!! Ii was born and raised in Fla-on an itty bitty island about the size of Galvaston Island. If I saw something like Ike headed at me, I would have been outta there so fast….. Mandatory evacuation doesn’t exactly mean you have to go and it should mean that in the case of storms like Ike. For those people sitting in their attics watching TV running on generators-hasn’t anybody ever told you generators need ventilation or you will die.

    Also, well said on the price of gas and the economy. It always annoyed me that unemployment figures do not count the jobless folks who aren’t eligible for unemployment.

  3. kenju said,

    You are so right about the idiots who didn’t leave TX when they had the chance. I don’t know as I’d be in any rescue party now.

    On our way to Myrtle last weekend, we saw one station had upped their gas to $4.21. We hoped that the Att’y General would come down on them fast and hard (just like you’d like to do the Adonis, or maybe you prefer slow and easy?)

  4. blackpunkin said,

    Vince, its not just the money, its work obligations as well. But thanks anyway.

    Subeeds, my point is, if you stay when facing a storm the size of Ike, by choice, despite all the warnings, and you’re prepared to face the consequences, then okay, fine. But if not, don’t bellyache about it. I read about the lone holdout on one of the islands… they found him the next day, drunk, but alive and he still refused to be rescued. Still, if resources have to be put out there to search for and rescue 100,000 potential victims… that’s a helluva lot of resources that could go toward something else.

    Kenju, yeah, Manchin has already issued his warning about price gouging here. As for the Adonis, I’d take him anyway I could 😀

  5. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    I went thru 5 gallons of milk last week alone!

  6. Marie said,

    I have come to the conclusion (to give the benefit of the doubt) that they must speak a different language in Texas. “CERTAIN DEATH” must be translated into – “no problem, have a blast and ride the wave!!” Mind you, I am not supportive of the journalists risking their lives either, just to see that I get a “sense of the situation.” I love the news, but I can wait for reports at a later date.

    As for the Wall Street meltdown…I have said it before, it was a government sanctioned PYRAMID scheme.

  7. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Based on all my family in Texas, I can’t comment 😉

    *waves hi to Nanner*

  8. old horsetail snake said,

    Beware of Greeks carrying big ones…..

Leave a Reply

