I Don’t Like Her Hair…

September 12, 2008 at 7:57 am (Crazy Shit, Family, Friends, Politics)

This is what my mother said in relation to Sarah Palin yesterday evening while we had a conversation about the upcoming Presidential race. My mother is a Republican and she’s not exactly happy with John McCain’s VP choice, although I’m not exactly sure why. I wasn’t able to drag much out of her other than she doesn’t like her hair.

She doesn’t like Obama because she’s afraid he’ll put Jesse Jackson in a cabinet position.

My response on both the Sarah Palin hair statement and the Jesse Jackson cabinet position were, “OHMAHGODMOTHER!”

I asked her to remove gender, race, and hair styles from her criteria for choosing the next President, and subsequently Vice President, of the United States and to focus on the issues.

I watched Governor Palin try and talk her way out of her speech in which she said, paraphrased: Our government is sending our troops to Iraq on a task from God.   Charlie Gibson asked if we were in a Holy War. She said it was in reference to Abraham Lincoln saying, paraphrased: That we should not ask God to be on our side during war, but instead hope that we’re on His side.  Those are two different things and in the context of her speech, where she went on to speak of God’s plan, no, good try, Sarah, but I’m not buying it. 

She did not reference Abraham Lincoln in her speech and she did not state that the actions of our government should be based on the hope that we’re on God’s side in the tasks that we undertake.  She didn’t reference it and didn’t infer it either. It was painful and disturbing to watch.

*****

I talked to my sister yesterday while they were on their way to Dallas. She lives in Alvin, TX, which is a suburb of Houston in Brazoria County. They decided to haul ass because they live in a modular home and the area they live in is prone to flooding on a good day. Her in-laws who live close to the Brazoria/Harris County line in the city of Manvel, decided to “hunker down” in their solidly built home. My BIL’s mom probably couldn’t handle the sitting involved with a long trek anyway.

Brighton has also hauled ass and I’m not sure about tinyhands. My cousins that did live in Victoria, TX moved recently to Tennessee, and my other cousin lives closer to Trashman, so, tinyhands, check in, will ya?

And, again, we wait with bated breath.

11 Comments

  1. Mahala said,

    Lulu made the exact same “Jesse Jackson” statement the other day. I just have to smile and nod because I’m out numbered.

  2. kenju said,

    Jesse? I doubt that Obama will have anything to do with him at all. He’s an embarrassment to most people.

    Read my post today: the link to Eve Ensler’s letter about Palin.

  3. cybele said,

    Wait, wasn’t it Jesse Jackson, who, before a Fox tv interview, used the “n” word, with a hot mike?

    People just make shit up to be worried about.

    I haven’t believed anything anybody says for more years than I care to think about. I LOVED Jimmy Carter, and look how that worked out. So I stand by my original premise: If I gotta look at somebody’s picture every damn day, I’m voting for the prettiest candidate.

    Though, to be fair, I can’t argue with yer ma. I don’t like her hair, either.

  4. Julie said,

    Thinking good thoughts for all our Texas blogfriends…I guess we’ll know in a few days what their situations turn out to be.

    I don’t like Palin’s hair, either, but it’s her attitude about my lady parts and how she thinks she should be able to make decisions for them that I really don’t like. You know, among other things.

  5. cybele said,

    Julie said “ladyparts”.

  6. Beth said,

    Tinyhands is hunkering down with family as well, and is doing just fine for now. But he’ll check in with you later, Nanner.

  7. tinyhands said,

    It’s 4:30pm local-time. It’s cloudy outside but no rain, occasional breeze but nothing steady yet. To give you an idea of where I am, I’m due west of downtown, just outside the first “loop” around the city. That puts me a good 40+ miles from the coast and if memory serves about 75 feet above sea level. When the rain finally comes, I expect some street flooding, but no reason to believe it’ll come into the house. I’m not very close to any creeks or flood channels either. I’m watching the same stuff you’re seeing on TV, and that’s nothing like it is here in town. (But tell Jeanette that her cock is going to get VERY wet!)

    My family lives on slightly higher ground than Brighton but in the same part of town, close to Galveston Bay (not the City of Galveston though). They boarded up their homes and have invaded mine. We’ve got food & water for several days, but will leave the city AFTER the storm if the power stays off for more than a day or so. We have a place to retreat to about 4 hours inland (quite safe). Most of my neighbors are still here.

    Your sister was probably on higher ground than her in-laws, but it was still the right decision for her to leave. I’ll check in again later.
    xox

  8. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    I think she has nice hair. I’m going to be keeping an eye on the news for what’s going on in Texas. I hope it’s not as bad as they’re predicting.

  9. PandoraWilde said,

    I’ve got a lot of soaping buddies in Texas–many have evacuated and are checking in from hotel wi-fi’s; most were told to shelter in place and they’re the ones I’m worrying about right now. A lot of them are calling friends outside the hurricane area asking them to post that they’re ok and hunkered down and safe, WITH the proper equipment of course.

    One’s hubby went to the store to pick up ammunition and beer. When the clerk asked if that was all, he said, “Yep, got all I need–medicine and protection”. Sounds crazy but if you’ve ever seen someone loot their neighbors you do stock up on the ammo to make sure no one mistakes your place for deserted.

  10. Marie said,

    Hope everyone is fine now that “Ike” has raised his ugly head and now moving north. Mother Nature is one to be feared – we have absolutely NO control in that arena.

  11. Vince said,

    I think shortly the celebrity obsession with Palin will wear off. It would have to otherwise the VP candidate will eclipse the Presidential candidate. She’s already starting to. I mean, has this much attention been paid to Joe Biden? Think not.

Leave a Reply

