Rollin’ on the River

August 31, 2008 at 12:50 pm (Crazy Shit, Music, Nate) (, , , )

Its time again for the Sternwheel Regatta. This used to be a two week long regatta with sternwheelers, great musical acts, and just about everything else under the sun. Everyone looked forward to the Regatta. Then, some very stupid people decided it should be a “dry” regatta.

So, if Budweiser was your top sponsor and they take all of their money and toys and go home, that leaves… just about nothing. That leaves zero big musical acts. The wise ones decided, “Well, maybe we should let people drink beer in the streets again, like New Orleans.” Duh.

This year for “rock night” they managed to bring in Rev Theory (formerly known as Revelation Theory) with new guitarist Rikki Lixx, who used to play with Operator, whose other guitarist was Paul Phillips, who used to be with Puddle of Mudd, who was the headlining act. Its a small rock world.

I saw Rev Theory at X-Fest last year, so I knew we were in for a good show. I also saw Rikki when he was with Operator. Their lead singer, Johnny Strong, got them booted off the stage when they opened for Black Stone Cherry in Knoxville. The lead singer of Rev Theory sports a mohawk and rock hard abs. He is so much fun to watch.

Nate had a great time, especially since we were in the VIP section and didn’t have to contend with the immense crowd that had formed on the levee. Wes, the lead singer of POM, said, “This is the biggest crowd we’ve ever played for.” And the crowd loved POM. They did a meet and greet after the show… at least until the police cleared the street at 11:00 p.m., New Orleans Mardi Gras style, minus the horses. This, understandably, pissed the band off. I guess the organizers are determined not to be gracious about allowing bands to do meet & greets and sell merchandise, which is how they make the majority of their money.

I’ve seen this happen to BSC more times than I care to count. The venues do not go out of their way to accomodate meet and greets and the selling of merch after they have made their money from ticket, food, and beverages sales. 

Nate and I ended up VIP because a friend of mine runs the soundboard for Regatta and he got us in on his pass. He’s cool that way. He took Nate and I back to the buses and Nate got to meet Christian from POM, who handed Nate a guitar pick from his pocket, signed his arm, and one of the roadies gave Nate a bunch of other guitar picks, ones that the band actually use, and the ones they throw out into the crowd. I can’t say Christian was overtly friendly, I’m not sure I would be once the cops said, “Autographs are over!” They looked pretty worn out and I’ve seen that look before.

All in all, Nate was freakin’ thrilled and proclaimed, “You’re the coolest mom ever! You know all the people to get us in backstage!” That’s not exactly true, but I let him gush, because the Lady knows… it won’t last. I guess that made up for the fact that I smacked him in the mouth Friday morning on the way to school for sassing me. I also stopped the car, ready to pull him out behind the KMart so he could have an ass-whoopin. He was smart and shut his trap. I laid into him pretty hard and I didn’t feel a bit bad about it. Between the mouth smackin’ and the lecture, I think he got the idea that I won’t tolerate any sass from him.

Nate wasn’t even supposed to be with me. I was supposed to have an adult night out, but Jeff took care of that by getting trashed. See, I talk about how good he’s been and then he does something stupid and asinine. One that will cost him. Getting drunk before picking Nate up from school is not the best way to continue to have privileges of seeing his youngest child. I’ll deal with that in the coming week.

I was totally pissed off, for the obvious reasons, but also pissed off to the point that I was completely calm and quiet. The worst kind of pissed off. I don’t mind taking Nate with me anywhere, so long as I know he’s going to be safe. However, I also like having an opportunity to meet men without my 12 year old in tow. Men in my own town, not hundreds of miles away in Las Vegas or New Orleans or Phoenix. Right here, in grand ole WV. Oh well, we had a great time, the show rocked, and Nate thinks I’m the coolest thing since Guitar Hero and Rock Band. I can’t really ask for much more than that.

******

My aunt and cousins have already evacuated the New Orleans area and are currently about 15 miles south of Memphis in Mississippi. I have cousins also in Leesburg, FL, about 50 miles inland from Orlando. Not sure what Gustav holds for the Gulf Coast and not sure what Hanna holds for Florida or the Carolina coast.

And we wait with bated breath…

4 Comments

  1. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    Glad you had such a good time.

  2. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Sounds like serious fun!

    And yes I can imagine it’s a bit tough to meet Mr. Right with a kid in tow 😉

  3. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    Yea, I’d say you’re at least one of the top 5 coolest Moms ever.
    Kudos for not taking any shit from the little punk. He’ll be OK if you continue to have expectations and hold him to them. Boys need that show of strength. . . and your companionship. He’s lucky that he’s getting both.

  4. Vince said,

    You are indeed the coolest mom ever. And I need to hang out with you so I can get back stage. Then you’d also be the coolest blogger pal ever! (Well, you’re already that, so whatever is better than Coolest Ever).

Leave a Reply

