Answers

August 24, 2008 at 7:34 am (Uncategorized)

Sometimes I like to respond to comments in posts.

First, I appreciate your offers of assistance, but I assure you, Nate and I are fine. Tight financially, but, this too shall pass. If I need help with the mortgage, I’ll let you know. It won’t hurt to do without for a bit. I work hard, I put Nate in camp for the summer (and I believe it has made all the difference in him, me, and his father), I play as hard as I work, and its just been very slow at work but these are all temporary and we’ll be back on track before too long.

Vince brought up that interesting question of my single life versus having a man around. After listening to my parents gripe and bitch at each other one day I made the comment, “And you wonder why I don’t have a boyfriend.” My father responded: “Its because you don’t want one.”

My Daddy is a very intuitive man. But he’s only half right. I don’t want just any one. There’s a difference in not wanting a boyfriend and not wanting just any boyfriend, just to say I have a boyfriend. I have this little thing against settling. I’m not even sure I know what I’m looking for, but I’m pretty damn sure I’ll know him when he shows up. Or shows up again. I’m fairly certain he and I have passed like ships in the night before. Not someone I’ve dated before, but someone, like me, who’s been on the fringe or skulks around the fringe or would even like to be on the fringe. And that’s where we’ll meet… on the fringe.

No doubt, there are certain things I’m drawn to… like DJs and musicians and men involved in music in some way. I like a man who works with his hands, whether its woodworking or playing an instrument. I like men who like animals, all animals, not just dogs. I like men who are kind and self-aware.

I know there’s a specific combination and that “click.” Somewhere. Perhaps we’ve not been receptive at the same time, close in proximity at times, but not in the place we need to be, physically and mentally. And when it happens, it will be worth more than any fringe benefit, whether it be sex or Internet service.

4 Comments

  1. Evil Twin's Wife said,

    I like the way you think – you have the right attitude. And if you’re interested, Buzzardbilly has some info on her blog today (teehee). I am sooo going to hell.

  2. Vince said,

    That was damn near poetic.

    I’ve always said the right man is out there waiting for you to find. Hopefully you guys bump into each other soon.

  3. kenju said,

    Inanna, this is such an honest, forthright and intelligent post! The part about not settling for just any man should be required reading for every female from the ages of ten through ninety.

    We like the same things in men, although the music part is not specific for me. But a love and aptitude for music usually denotes a sensitive person, and that is what I like too!

  4. PandoraWilde said,

    A man good with his hands is priceless, no matter what he’s good at doing with them. It’s just one of those things I look for too.

Leave a Reply

