Arizona Again?

August 1, 2008 at 2:55 pm (Alice in Chains, Attitude in Overdrive, Nate)

Now that my trip to Oklahoma is off… pissy, pissy, boo, boo, I’m, of course, still in the mood for excellent adventures. How about Arizona in September? That gives me a bit more time to get my shit together. No, I wouldn’t be driving to Arizona. Which sucks but, the timeframe is wee bit smaller with Nate being in school.  Yes, I’d be going to see a band. Yes, its Alice in Chains. Sadly, I missed all of BSC’s close concerts in KY and OH, and I’ll miss them in OK as well. I miss my guys.

Regardless, DUDE! Alice is playing the End of Summer Scorcher near Phoenix, a burb of Phoenix, whatev. I so wanna be there! Especially since we may get a preview of their new music! Remember last year, I saw them on October 1st. Maybe I can make it my Late Summer/Fall Preview Annual Pilgrimage to See Alice.

This is a all good, except my finances suck. Putting Nate in camp pretty much drained all of my resources but it was the best thing to do, so I can’t complain. I have to admit, its been a quiet summer.

Jeff called yesterday and we talked about Nate’s upcoming trip to Dollywood with Jeff’s brother. I told him that Nate assured me he would not be too homesick and I wouldn’t have to make a trip to TN to pick up his miserable little butt. Jeff said, “Well, he obviously won’t be homesick for me, he’s barely called me all summer.” I couldn’t argue with that as Nate has shown little to no interest in contacting his dad.

Two weeks ago, Nate asked to stay at his dad’s on Friday night, but, Jeff had something else to do so he stayed with me. Then when I was talking to Jeff today he asked what Nate wanted to do or where Nate was staying tonight as they are working on some construction out at Jeff’s parents’ place etc. etc. I asked him what he wanted to do (and given that Nate wasn’t spending the night with his dad on Saturday because he’ll be with is uncle/aunt/cousin to leave early for TN – but they’re next door). So, he’s making noises that he’ll be “too busy” or “too much will be going on” for him to have Nate tonight.

Hmmm. And he wonders why Nate doesn’t call. He also wondered “who’s been influencing Nate” since Nate said he didn’t want to attend the Chili Cook- Off with his dad and older brother last weekend. I was pretty surprised myself, since Nate always likes to see his older brother, but Nate said, “I’m tired and I don’t want to go.”  Okay. Nate had had a full week with two trips to the pool, hiking, and had already attend the Chili Cook-Off with Cameron and his dad. Normally when rides and food are involved, my kid is all over that.

Jeff wanted to know if Nate had been around his sister and her mom and that was the reason for his negative attitude. Nope. Not since his birthday on July 8th. And here’s a shocker, they don’t talk about their dad! Another shocker… if you want Nate to be interested in you, then be interested in him. He’s way old enough to realize, yo, I’m supposed to be with Dad on Friday night, but he’s blown me off again so why should I bother?

Jeff made the comment the weekend before Nate’s birthday that yes, he did want him Friday night since he didn’t get to see him like he used to… then proceeds to blow him off, if he doesn’t keep him tonight, every custodial Friday since his birthday, even when Nate asked to be there. So, what the hell do you want me to do about it? I tell Nate when he calls, I may even ask Nate to call him, and Nate’s response is, “Maybe later…” and maybe later never comes around because Nate doesn’t give a shit and I can’t make him.

Not much else to say about that.

3 Comments

  1. Mahala said,

    Oooo Dollywood is just an hour and a half up the road from here 🙂 So when/where is the Melungeon gathering you mentioned?

  2. Tina said,

    Dollywood is the freakin’ bomb! Tell Nate to ride Thunderhead over and over! It’s my favorite woody!

  3. Jammie J said,

    Sounds like Nate inherited his smarts from his momma.

    Hmmm, Oklahoma? Arizona? You’re starting to sound like a Three Dog Night song… weird.

Leave a Reply

