Fuzzy Kittens…

July 30, 2008 at 10:42 pm (Uncategorized)

Look, its a fuzzy kitty named Jirachi, or Itty Bitty Kitty or Little Man. Yes, my left eye is swollen in this picture. I’d been outside cutting weeds and my eye has been inflamed for a while. Yes, I just got new contacts. No, I don’t know why.

I’m having quite few problems with my left knee, for not apparent reason. I’ve always had a bad knee, Osgood-Schlatter’s disease, but, unless I bump it or really, really overwork it, it doesn’t bother me. Its really bothering me. Its pretty swollen too. Bah! Change of weather, change of seasons, someone sneezes… stupid knee.

Anyway, I would like to point out that Jeanette has once again proven to be my “sister incarnate” by describing beetles as “crunchy.” We don’t like crunchy bugs, they are gross.

Brighton requested a picture of a fuzzy kittens and since she is also my “sister incarnate,” I obliged.

I have not checked on Leslie, I’ll assume all is well until I have to mow again.

Things on eHarmony are… going. One gentleman is rather enthusiastic, unfortunately more enthusiastic than I am, especially since in our first real e-mail “conversation” he talked about me relocating if we “hit it off.” I was my loving, direct self when I said, “You gotta be fuckin’ kiddin’ me!” Not in those exact words, it went more like… it would have to be more than, “hit it off” for me to sell my house, go to court over Nate, leave my family, and my entire social structure. I get the feeling he’s a little needy. Needy is not for me. We’ll see.

Another guy is very interesting. Our personality profiles show us to be almost exact opposites. I like him though, because he’s not like me. We’ll see.

I like another guy, we’ve talked on the phone a few times. He works evening shift, I work day shift. We don’t get to talk much. We’ll see.

T-Bird and I are on the outs. She’s mad at me and I’m a little miffed that it took her so long to tell me why because now I can’t hardly remember anything that happened that day. I also don’t agree with her selective memory. Its taken her almost three weeks to tell me what’s wrong and I wish she would have addressed it sooner. I also know my son is no angel, but I also don’t need her to tell me how to raise him. Yes, we have very different parenting styles and that’s the reason why Nate and I don’t go visit often, besides the fact she has three boys running around.

I’m at the point where we’ll either get through it or we won’t. I’ve held my tongue numerous times, NUMEROUS times, and the times I did say something it didn’t do any good, especially how she’ll believe her son over Nate, which, understandably pisses him off. Nate is a typical kid but he’s for the most part, a very gentle-natured fellow and honestly, he’s not used to wrestling around like a banshee (which is what she called him), like her kids are. He doesn’t have siblings or cousins at home, where he spends the majority of his time, and even then, his older brother is going to be 21 this year.

I learned with my nephews that just because they’re little, doesn’t mean what they do doesn’t hurt, and the same goes for her nephews and her son. Don’t pick a “fight” with someone bigger and older and just expect them to take it because you’re younger and smaller and always expect someone to make exceptions for it. Her kids are totally into the wrestling thing. Fine. Nate’s into video games. Not fine with T-Bird. I disagree. I see no difference in Nate playing video games for hours and her kids playing with wrestlers and watching wrestling and wrestling each other for hours.

Trust me, the little shit isn’t sitting inside 8 hours a day, playing video games while I’m at work. He’s even stopped taking his PSP to camp. He’s brown as a little Melungeon from swimming one or two times a week, hiking in the woods once a week, and whatever else it is that they do. It seems like he’s grown at least four inches in the last week and he’s actually making friends and wanting to do things with the group at camp, even on my days off.

He and his friend Cameron, the one who lived next door, get together about every other week and play Pokemon and Bakugan and all that stuff, and compare video games and play games on the computer.

As far as I know, he’s not had a problem at camp and I rarely, if ever, have to call him and Cameron down for anything, other than staying up too late.  He has his fusses with neighborhood kids at his dad’s, especially over basketball and things like that. But, that’s how kids learn, from play, from interacting with their peers and not having Mom or Dad always step in to make sure things are fair and even. Life isn’t fair nor even. 

And T-Bird likes to control that aspect of things in her kids favor. I don’t call that fair nor even and this has been pretty consistent since her son was born.  She wants things to be fair and even for her son, even when it may not be for Nate, and I have a big problem with this. But, she doesn’t listen. I take things under consideration, I try to see the big picture. Frankly, she created her own problem and then didn’t like it when everyone stepped into it and it didn’t turn out the way she wanted. She has a saying that its her house, her rules. That’s fine, but I don’t like your rules, especially when they always find my son at fault, and given she’s the only one who seems to have a problem… that makes it my problem too.

I intend on telling her that, in about three weeks. Because, like my sister T-Bird, I can take my time as well. Meow.

8 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    Wow! You guys sound like me and Katie! Love the picture of the beebie! 🙂

  2. cybele said,

    Sounds as though T-birds kids and your Nate aren’t each other’s “type”. I deal with that with my guys, only it’s their own cousins. So I make sure to limit the cousin-exposure and that they have time with kids who share their interests. Congrats on your patience. Cute cat!

  3. Vince said,

    Meow indeed!

    Fair is fair. Meaning you gotta teach kids early they don’t always get their way. My boys learn cosequences to actions, and consequences for actions not taken that should have been. Call me tough, but I want my boys to learn personal responsibility and self reliance. They won’t get that if I stack the deck in their favor.

  4. Inanna said,

    Beanie, this hasn’t happend in quite a few years…

    Belle, they really aren’t. Sometimes, like when she and I and her nephews aren’t around, they play well. I don’t think they play enthusiastically, but they play well.

    Vince, sometimes what people find fault about in other people, is what they like least about themselves. I try to remember that when I find fault. It’s always a good idea to peer into your own mirror.

  5. Jammie J said,

    Of all the crunchy bugs in the world, I have to say, I hate these the most. Thankfully, I’ve only seen them twice in my life and that was quite enough. Crickets are fine… outside. But they’re crunchy. Ugh. Obviously I’m passionate about my dislike of crunchy bugs.

    Sounds like TBird is kind of a crunchy bug right now, eh?

  6. Jammie J said,

    By the way, as much as I dislike crunchy bugs, the scale tips just as much with love for fuzzy critters. I love your fuzzy kitty. Sooooo cute. 🙂

  7. Celti said,

    P-p-p-p-puddy tat! 🙂

    *hugs*

  8. V.E.G. said,

    Ray Frank Thomson, the victim of the Pacific Southwest Airlines is possibly of Melungeon origin.

Leave a Reply

