Ahhh, Shit

July 11, 2008 at 8:54 pm (Uncategorized)

Remember a while back I was supposed to have a date? And then I didn’t mention it again? The reason is that the gentleman in question told me one day that his birthday was the following day… sometime in May. What a great time to quell my curiosity and find out for sure how old he is, so I asked him. His response: Old enough to drink. Well, that’s anywhere from 21 to 109, but he really, literally, meant “old enough to drink,” as in 20 freakin’ 1.

Ya’ll know I’m open-minded, but, I didn’t like him that much. So, now I find myself in the same position with someone else.  See, we got this new cook at work a few months back and I’ve knew he was young, today I found out how young… like 21. Someone made the comment that I was old enough, technically, to be his Mama. Trust me, “motherly feelings” is not what I have for him, far from it.

It sort of snuck up on me, like shit does. Shit is sneaky. One day I looked across the line into his startling blue eyes and said, to myself, “Ahhhh, fuck.” He’s rather quiet most of the time but we have a running joke that I’m going to start charging him for everytime I have to change his clock-in time because he forgets. He flirts across the line as much as I do. We make faces at each other and if I ask for something special he’ll tell me no while he’s doing it.

I shared my feelings with my GM and she said, “You’ll have to wait until he leaves us next month because as lead, you’re over him.” WHAT? I’m a freakin’ lead, not a sous chef. I don’t tell those guys what to do! That’s “Back of House,” I’m “Front of House.”  Besides, I really have no idea if he’s just being nice and flirty or if he actually likes me, despite our age difference. I know he acts way more mature than some all of the other cooks who have way more years on them than he does.

Even when we’re cranking out the food and things are hectic, he never loses his cool or his temper. He doesn’t get too pissy when the servers make mistakes, even when it means more work for him.  He just goes about his business of cranking out food instead of running his mouth.

Did I mention how good looking he is?  And those incredible blue eyes that look out over the line at me?

I talked to Addy about it too, since he shared his crush on our new bartender, who is no longer new, and no longer there. He said, “Maybe its just a crush. You do work with him everyday and he’s a nice guy, the same with me and Megan.” I pointed out that he and Megan each had significant others and Timmy and I are both single. And, he and Megan were a bit closer in age. Although, he said that since she left he doesn’t think about her.

We’re having a restaurant outing next weekend, white water rafting, so maybe I’ll see what happens when we get out of the restaurant. I don’t care how old he is, I like him. Shit.

17 Comments

  1. trashman said,

    Life is too short. Bang everybody you want to.

  2. Beth said,

    A calm-tempered young man with incredible blue eyes? Damn. Can’t blame you if you like him!

  3. blackpunkin said,

    Trash, that is just creepy how we were reading each other’s blogs at the same time… and trust me, given the chance, I will.

    Beth, if you could see him, you’d know what I’m talkinga bout.

  4. Kent said,

    Hey cuz!

    Enjoy the flirting… it’s fun. But follow the advice to wait until he’s no longer working with you to try and take things further. The at-work romance hasn’t been such a lucky thing for me, so I don’t recommend it.

    Speaking of romance, Beth and I are over. She actually initiated the breakup, but I agreed that it was time. So I’m going to be giving myself a little time and then trying to find a little flirtage of my own.

    I keep telling myself I need to call you, but I just haven’t got around to it. I need to try harder because I haven’t seen you in too long.

    Kent

  5. Vince said,

    Not for nothing, but if the sexes were reversed no one would tell a guy “she’s too young”. It would be more like, “Dude!”. So forget the age. If there’s an interest persue it. You should be careful when dating a co-worker, but as long as he doesn’t DIRECTLY report to you, then it should be cool regardless of what the GM says.

    Good luck!

  6. Inanna said,

    Kent, you need to meet my GM.

  7. Tina said,

    Just do him, dude! That way you can brag about it to your friends, especially me. LOL!

    Oh wait, you shouldn’t take my advice! DUH!

  8. brightonandbear said,

    Age be damned. I would wait until he leaves though, not worth risking the job over.

    Had a dream about you last night, you were a mid-wife. Maybe I am picking up on past lives or something!

  9. Inanna said,

    Vince, true, true, true that! If the ages were reversed everyone would be slapping the “old” guy on the back. But, need to wait until he leaves, or at least really close to the time that he’s leaving.

    Dude, I’m soooo not taking your advice. I said I liked him, not that I JUST wanted to do him. 😉

    Brighton, I’m not so worried about the age thing but I don’t want to freak him out either and heaven forbid that “cougar” word come out.

  10. Michael said,

    Purposely tip the boat when you’re white water rafting with him. If he still keeps his cool while capsized and heading toward the rocky rapids, I say def. go for it.

  11. Inanna said,

    Mikey, so I should attempt to drown him? Or get his head bashed in on the rocks? This works to my favor, how???? LOL!

  12. old horsetail snake said,

    Not to worry, little one. Just think, when you’re 95 he’ll be 74 and it won’t matter much. You can still hold hands.

  13. Jammie J said,

    😯 Are you talking about fornicating???

  14. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    A good friend of mine who is in well into her 40s just had a wild affair with a guy 26 yrs old. She had a great time with no regrets (I wonder what that’s like).
    Go for it.

  15. Inanna said,

    Hoss, you always have a great way of looking at things!

    Jammie, ummmmm… yeah, I was.

    Juan, what were you wondering? What its like to have a wild affair with someone 20 years or so younger, or not having any regrets? Ohhhh, wait a minute, I think I know the answer to that one.

  16. kenju said,

    I’m really sorry I didn’t get to the restaurant this weekend. The only free night was Sun. and you were closed. :-/

  17. Jammie J said,

    tee hee hee
    😛

Leave a Reply

