Opossum Tail and Tiny Black Lion

July 4, 2008 at 6:13 am (Cats)

That is what I would have to name Luna and Jirachi if I were to name them for what they appear to be. Nate and I brought home the new kitties on Monday after I dumped half a vial of flea medicine on each of them.  Ugh! YUCK! Although I had originally intended on only taking Luna, I just couldn’t leave poor little Jirachi behind. (Jirachi was named by Nate… after a Pokemon character. When I want to irritate Nate I call Jirachi, “Little Jerry.”  Hee, hee)

Jirachi reminds me of Smokey when I first got him. Tiny, pathetic, flea-bitten little creature, weighing only a pound, given to meowing pitifully and grunting like a pig. Luna is much heavier than her brother and generally looks healthier because she’s all fur!  Lots of fur. Took me an hour to comb all of the flea crap out of her coat. When I looked down at her from my chair she looked for the world like a little opossum asleep beside my chair and I know this because I used to have an opossum.

Jirachi, on the other hand, is so, so tiny, but has this poofy facial and chest hair.  When he shakes his head it stands out and he looks the world like a tiny little lion. He’s comical. Jack and Tango were initially very curious and Jack still isn’t sure what to think but Tango has taken to loving on the kittens, to the point he was holding Luna down with a paw and licking her silly.

  Macy, well, she’s been so pissed off she’s run around with her tail straight up in the air and even escaped outside and hid under the A/C unit for 24 hours. I guess she was on strike. She won’t make up to them, hell, she still hasn’t made up to Jack and Tango and I’ve had Jack for over a year. She hates other cats and she barely tolerates me. But the little witch will just have to get over it.

I took some pictures, as best I could, to show the new beebies and the difference in their sizes.

The pitiful little lion

The pitiful little lion

 

Luna and Jirachi

Luna and Jirachi

12 Comments

  1. Mahala said,

    AWW!! There’s some kittens up at the lookout that I’m tempted to go steal. There’s a lady in town with like..umpteen jillion cats. She takes the kittens up there and sets them out so that the health department won’t come after her. She goes up and feeds them every day, but still…

  2. Ashley said,

    Sooo cute!

  3. Jammie J. said,

    Ohhhhh! You just melted my heart, so cute and adorable! I love kittens (that’s how we got so many cats!!).

    Happy 4th! ;D

  4. kama said,

    Want to make Mom jealous? – send her a picture of Luna

  5. kenju said,

    They are precious! I could never have left one behind either. I hope the other cats warm up to them.

  6. Tina said,

    I enjoyed meeting them and they are both VERY adorable. They are very lucky to have found a new home! As far as Macy she will have to get over it. My two bitched at me for days after I handled your new beebies. Typical, jealous women! 😉 See you soon!

  7. old horsetail snake said,

    I used to have a black kitten. Then one day he ran away from home. I canvassed a bunch of neighbhoods, but nobody had seen it. Really hacked me off. Jigger ’twas its name….

  8. Tina said,

    ^I used to have a solid black one named Janis, as in Joplin. 😉 She was SO pretty. I LOVE black kitties! I even have a tattoo of one. 😉

  9. Doug Smith said,

    Cool kittys! Happy 4th to you 🙂

  10. restless angel said,

    They’re SO cute!!!

  11. Michael said,

    Ah, so cute, until they grow to be katz.

    Vicious, fickle, mean ol’ katz.

  12. LisaBinDaCity said,

    They are precious! Welcome to your new family members!!!!

    Can Ally come over and play? She’s gentle with the little ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

