When It Rains, It Hails *Updated With Photo*

June 22, 2008 at 10:04 pm (Beading, Cats, My Travels, T-Bird, Work)

Yeah, we had a massive hailstorm today. First one I’ve actually experienced in person. It was… scary, but cool. I was just glad the hail was not big enough to do a lot of actual damage to homes and cars, it just damaged the vegetation.  We got about an inch of hail in 10 minutes.  North of here they got 2-3 inches, looked like winter time.

Friday, T-Bird and I left for Washington, D.C… and we all know how much I love D.C. traffic. I hauled ass up there, knowing we would get stuck in rush hour traffic since T-Bird couldn’t leave until noon. We had to be at the DAR Hall at 7:00 for our evening with medium, John Edward. No, we didn’t get read, but it was totally worth it. The folks in front of us were read and that was exciting enough. John was talking about carrying around grief with us and how its like 500 lbs. of negative energy. When he talked about that, I knew I was done and I had heard what I needed to hear and I could enjoy the rest of the show.

We stayed with Troy and his wife afterwards. It was Troy who actually got us to the DAR Hall in time, well, with two minutes to walk a block and a half. We went out to a local bistro afterwards and it was good but not any better and probably not as good as where I work.  We hauled ass back to WV on Saturday morning.

I woke at 6 a.m., not by choice, but fell back asleep and had a dream about Napoleon. Not the little guy from France, but my cat. I woke up with a very good feeling although the dream was kind of skewed and now Tango has decided to take on the Napoleonic traits of purring loudly and licking! I HATE LICKING! Ever try to sleep with a cat licking you??? Yeah.

I took a nap when I got home and then went to eat at my restaurant, as I’ve never eaten dinner there. It was so freakin’ good! Oh my hell! I wish I could afford to eat such good food all the time!

This morning, Nate was determined that I rise and go to watch the implosion of some old smoke stacks at the Dow plant… at 8 a.m.  One of the towers fell as expected and the other stubbornly refused to budge. It was anti-climatic.

I joined Eharmony. I did meet someone and I have gotten quite a few matches. The problem is… so many of them don’t put enough information in their profiles. I keep wondering if these guys are as boring in person as they are on paper… I just close the match and move on. Chuck wasn’t boring. His profile made me laugh and we talked on the phone yesterday. He lives in South Carolina and he’s a bartender.

My former Assistant Manager had this to say:  Well, you know how bartenders are, they can get laid any time they want.  I wouldn’t say that’s a good move to make.

I told her, Ms. I-attend-three-churches, exactly how judgemental I thought she was being, especially not knowing him. Not that I do, but if I start making judgement calls like that, I’m in for a hell of a rough road. I pointed out that, I, indeed, am a bartender and I’M NOT GETTING LAID! At least not regularly. Hell, at this point, I’m lucky to get laid AT ALL! I recently broke my dry spell… however, I want something more.

It really pissed me off, especially considering she’s still a “newlywed,” which she pointed out at family meal the other morning and then grossed us all out by referencing her husband and nookie, which I didn’t find palatable family meal conversation… considering her husband has a serious case of Dick-Do, meaning his belly hang out far more than his dick probably do.

She’s seriously gotten a complex since she stepped down from management. I’m working my first “Manager on Duty” shift on Friday. Because she was previously the Assistant Manager, if both the GM and Exec. Chef were gone, she took the MOD shift, but they decided that I should, since I’m the one who is actually Quasi-Management.  Trust me, I had nothing to do with it.

Anyway, she said, “Oh, I’ve been demoted.” I said, “No you weren’t, you chose to step down from management because you wanted to spend more time at home and with your horses.”   She’s driving me a bit crazy.

I made an awesome find at the local antique mall!!! I found a French steel cut beaded purse, hand-loomed, about 100 years old, in fantastic shape. I took it apart to access the damage.. a few rips where it was attached to the frame (which is brass), and some rusting, which I worked on today with a soft nail file. I also got some Naval Jelly, which is used to dissolve rust on antiques. I’ll try it out tomorrow on what is left of the fringe. I’ll have to invest in some matching antique beads so I can remake some kind of fringe on it.  It is very beautiful, heavy as hell, but beautiful. Once I restore it, I’ll probably be able to sell it for triple what I bought it for.

Life is good.

9 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    You mean the restaurant doesn’t give you enough of a discount so you can eat there? Shame on them! I’ll be there in July and August, so I hope to see you. Right now the schedule is up in the air, so I don’t know exactly when, but I’ll let you know.

    Can you show us the purse you bought? I’d love to know where that antique mall is, so I can try to go there soon.

  2. Jammie J. said,

    Yeah, I’m with Kenju… you need to show us the French steel cut beaded purse!
    Glad you got what you needed in DC, sounds like an interesting trip… heh… trip. in more than one way. 🙂

    A hailstorm of weather, watching smoke stacks implode, joining eHarmony and weird people at work. Eesh. You do know how to fill your time.

  3. Tina said,

    Glad you had a good time, dude! You can tell me more about it later. 🙂 That hailstorm was NASTY yesterday. Our power flickered on and off at work there for a while. ttyl.

  4. blackpunkin said,

    Kenju, there are two antique stores in South Charleston, across from each other, down the main street where the Mound is in the little shopping district there. Another good one is in Nitro. If I remember correctly you turn off of 25 like you’re going to Ridenour Park and its on the left about three blocks down. Call me when you know for sure and I’ll see if I can’t get a day off and we’ll go antiquing if you have time.

    Yes, they give me a nice discount but I also eat a lot of food!

    Jeanette, I try to fill my time with interesting things… except for the co-workers.

    Beanie, I got your message but I was really tired and ate and went home and went to bed.

  5. brightonandbear said,

    Hail is something we never really have here. Would be cool though!

    The purse is beautiful, I am sure you will restore it to it’s original beauty.

    You really need to make a trip down to Texas. I could use some Peach time ; )

  6. Vince said,

    Glad things are looking up for you. Lord knows you deserve it.

    Would have loved hanging in DC with you. How knows, I may be back that way next year so we can give it a shot.

  7. Seamus said,

    It’s hard enough to sleep with the cats licking themselves on the bed. More than one has been jettisoned for such behavior. 😉

  8. Serra said,

    Licking, I don’t mind so much. Now, LISTENING to licking–that’s just like nails on a chalkboard to me. Sluuurppp–slurpslurpslurp… EW!

  9. Zelda said,

    That bag is gorgeous. I’m sure you’ll restore it to it’s original luster.

Leave a Reply

