Strange Days

June 16, 2008 at 7:02 pm (Crazy Shit, Family, Memories, Nate, Relationships, Work)

I’m sure I’ve posted a blog with a title like this before…

First, I still have the remnants of this effin’ cold. Any given moment I may spasm with breath-stealing, choking, wheezing, gagging, gurgling sounds. Really, I haven’t passed out yet. It may happen when I’m serving your food, it may happen when I’m sleeping soundly at 3 or 4 or 5 a.m.  I may not have any symptoms for a day or so, then suddenly I sound like an asthmatic in a goldenrod field.

Jeff was civil today.  Wonders never cease. This is the first conversation we’ve had since I hung up on him last week. I didn’t even speak to him yesterday when I picked Nate up. I really don’t have much to say.

When I cleaned my house, I found something Nate had stashed away with some of his toys – Jeanette’s Christmas CD. Can you say “Christmas in June?”  THANK YOU, JEANETTE!!! 6 months late…

Its almost the full moon. So soon????

We had a crazy lady at the restaurant the last time I evening bartended. I recognized her but couldn’t put my finger on her name or where I knew her from. Come to find out, she’s the owner of another restaurant in town, one which I’ve eaten at and always enjoyed. As it were, after I almost tossed her out on her drunk, belligerent ass, I saw her sous chef at a local bar that night. Her sous chef is the son of one of our former hostesses and used to work at our restaurant. I informed him of what a joy it was to serve her. 

Our capitol city is so small that my GM knew within 48 hours that her date had severely under-tipped the server at another restaurant because that server had worked with one of our servers and severs talk. Our server tipped off our GM who then rectified the situation by sending the other server a check with her thanks and apologies. Moral:  DON’T FUCK WITH SERVERS!

I was sitting at work the other night (rare, because I never sit at work, but had to because my feet were hurting so bad from the high heels I was wearing because I was hostessing) when I suddenly thought of Lex, my ex, the one who introduced me to blogs? Yeah, him. It was like a rift in time. I missed him a great deal, which sucks.

I forgot my blogiversary… it was at the end of May. Four long years.

Our family reunion was yesterday. I saw a couple of cousins I haven’t seen in four years, one who now has a baby. And she is the sweetest baby ever!  Which is good, considering they never intended on having children. She said she had a hard time coming to terms with being pregnant and becoming a parent, which I fully understand. However, Kiera is much loved and adored by her parents and the rest of us think she’s pretty swell too.  They’ve been married for 12 years and I know this because I was full-on preggo with Nate when they got married.

My niece and nephews were also there… for as long as it took them to eat, change clothes, and spend 10 minutes there until their mother took them to the pool. I didn’t see them again. My aunt remarked later that my brother was still waiting on my SIL as we were all leaving. I said, “That’s his fault. He married her.” IMHO, he should have brought the kids and left her at home.

When I get a chance I’ll tell you about my crazy Hungarian hotel neighbor from Milwaukee.

7 Comments

  1. brightonandbear said,

    Get well soon Nanner.

    Jeff is toxic. Sometimes we can handle being around toxic for brief periods of time, most of the time it’s just lethal.

    Love you girl.

  2. Jammie J said,

    Really? You think you’ve used “Strange Days” as a title before? You??? 😛

    I’m glad you found the CD… hope you enjoy it. 🙂 Now you know how I feel when I record the songs, it’s Christmas in the hottest days of the year for me and then I listed to Tony tell me after I record them, “See, I TOLD you it was Christmas in July!!” Lawsy, the man would have Christmas lights strung the whole year if he could get away with it! I love that about him, by the way. 🙂

    I hope your lungs and your feet feel better soon. Sounds like you had a good family get together. Also, sounds like Jeff is going through the “good” part of his abusive cycle again.

  3. kama said,

    I’m jealous, I haven’t seen pictures of Kiera yet. For the first time in my life I want a baby. Most people my age are having grandkids and i want a baby!! I guess Ava and the triplets are bringing out the mother instincts in me. Oh well, won’t ever happen, I’ll just enjoy them when i can. Any juicy gossip from the reunion?

  4. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Hope you feel better soon!

    And I’m with you, don’t treat the waiters/bartenders/staff badly or it will get out at warp-speed 😉

  5. Vince said,

    LOOOOOVED Jeanette’s CD. She has such a wonderful voice.

    I make it a habit to tip my wait staff well as long as they provide good service. Which is almost always the case.

    Like the idea of you in high heels too.

  6. aimee said,

    I’m glad you’re mostly feeling better.

    xoxo

  7. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    Nice tale Nanner. You seem well laid back today, which is good.

Leave a comment