Hermione *Updated*

May 28, 2008 at 12:58 pm (Cats)

 

 

Hermione – The Cat Who Lived is really in bad shape. I noticed yesterday evening that she was not her normal self and I also noticed urine on the edge of The Death Star. When I picked her up I noticed the hair around her butt was wet, she smelled foul, and her respirations had increased. I immediately jumped online to find out what time her vet closed (20 minutes) and when I turned to gather her up, she has disappeared. She showed back up around bedtime and did not appear to be any distress, other than her breathing.

I took Nate to school this morning, gathered her up, and took her to the vet. The vet said she was most concerned with the heavy breathing because it meant something other than urinary was going on. The x-ray showed a tear in her diaphragm, causing her intestines to migrate into her chest cavity. She had blood in her urine, but was still putting out urine, which is good.

I made the decision to go ahead with surgery. Her prognosis, at this time, is guarded, however, the x-ray did not show whether or not her kidney or bladder were damaged, and if so, how severely. They will find that out when they do surgery today around 3 o’clock.

I talked to Nate last night since I knew things didn’t look so well. He said, “No, not Hermione, its too soon since the fire and she’s one who lived!”  Ah, my child, life isn’t fair.

The vet said it was most likely caused by being hit by a car, which is likely, since she spent some time outside basking in the sun, or, in my opinion, an asshole giving her a swift kick. She’s a very little cat, more hair than anything else, and it wouldn’t take much to harm her. I’m pretty torn up and it doesn’t help alleviate any of the stress I’m under with the other situations in my life.

When I left her at the vet’s office, I kissed her tiger striped head and told her, “Remember, you’re the cat who lived.”

*UPDATE*

Hermione passed away during surgery. I buried her beside of the others, who died 16 months ago today. I’m really beginning to hate the 28th of the month. Nate and I are not very happy campers right now but we also know we did everything we could. Thank you for your thoughts.

 

16 Comments

  1. Ashley said,

    I’m terribly sorry to hear this. You are all in my thoughts.

  2. Vince said,

    Hope your kitty is ok. Once she gets home, you may want her to stay an indoor cat (notice the positive language here).

  3. kenju said,

    I hope she will be fine again, soon, Nanner.

  4. subeeds said,

    Oh Nanner, I’m so sorry to hear about Hermione. I hope she’s ok. You don’t think your ex idiot could have kicked her, do you? If she was strong enough to survive the fire, she can survive this.

  5. Seamus said,

    Oh NannerBelle, I’m so sorry to hear Hermione is having difficulties. I truly hope she will be ok!

  6. Tina said,

    Hermione is in my prayers, honey. I am SO sorry to hear about this. She’s a survivor, so I expect her to survive this. 🙂 Call me at home if you need anything. Hermione is a kickass cat that won’t give up so easily. It must run in the family. 🙂 Love you both!

    -Tina

  7. PandoraWilde said,

    Praying for you all–and hoping for the best ~hugs~

  8. Beth said,

    If it’s any consolation, she’s resting comfortably somewhere in kitty heaven now. And if she could, I’m sure she’d thank you for taking such good care of her and for all the love you and Nate shared with her.

  9. Jammie J said,

    Oh my god, nooooo.
    Oh honey, I’m so terribly sorry. Tears are pouring down my face for your loss. That just breaks my heart. I’m so sorry. I wish I could give you a hug in person. Please know that I understand how you feel. 😥

    😦 😦 😦

  10. Tina said,

    Oh no………

    😦

    I am crying as I type this. Sending many, MANY (((hugs))) to you and Nate.

  11. Ashley said,

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I think that Hermione served a very important purpose in your life and Nate’s life, she helped you both pick yourselves up after such devestation and carry on so I understand that this loss has been magnified. I am sorry that you need to deal with this again, I wish that I could come there and give you both a hug but instead, I am thinking of you from up North.

  12. Vince said,

    So sorry for you dear.

  13. Zelda said,

    I’m so very sorry.

  14. Jack said,

    I’m very sorry.

  15. Vickie said,

    Wow-so sorry to hear this. You loved her and you did the best you could. I know it’s tough-may you find peace and comfort. And I know Hermione has now joined her companions and they are frolicking about happily-and they want you to know that!

  16. subeeds said,

    Aw man, I’m crying, too. I’m so sorry. You did all you could for her and I agree with Vicki. She’s with her friends now and a little cat named Zippy Kitty and they are having a ball being cats. Hows Nate taking it?

Leave a Reply

