Peachy Keen

May 23, 2008 at 9:33 pm (Alice in Chains, Beading, Crazy Shit, Nate, Work)

At the restaurant, our evening dishwasher is a crusty ole guy named Joe. When I see him I ask, “How are ya, Joe?” and he always answers, “Oh, I’m just super fine.” And then he’ll ask how I am, and I’ll answer, “Just peachy keen.”  It would help to know that Joe is a former United States Marine and, of course, the “super fine,” is a play on, “Semper Fi.” Not knowing Joe to be a former Marine, you probably would think the man is super fine all the time, and not knowing that I’m THE Peach, you’d probably think I’m peachy keen all the time.

I’m doing okay and Nate is okay, although given to numerous eye rolls these days, especially over the subject of his father, which he has tired of and simply wants to be left alone by all parties. It took Jeff a little longer to get the picture. He called me on Wednesday and asked why I was picking Nate up from school.

Your eyes rolled, didn’t they?  Don’t lie, I saw it from here.

When Nate got into the car I told him that his dad called and had asked why I was picking him up from school. Nate gave me the, “DUH! You gotta be fuckin’ kiddin’ me, Mom!” look, which is priceless. Nate then rolled his eyes and said, “Like he has to ask.”

For the most part, though, we don’t discuss it past what we have to and I keep Nate blissfully unaware of my plans, which are still incomplete, but brewing yet. The less he knows the better off he is. Although, since Friday, and the overheard phone conversation on Saturday, Nate has been quite different. Nate is well aware of the depths of my temper, as he treads around on it quite frequently.

He knows if I raise my voice, I’m only about half-way there, and not really angry but perturbed and frustrated. However, he is also aware of a quiet, calm Momma, the one who cuddles with him on the couch, sings silly songs to him in the mornings to wake him up, gooses him on the knees, and smells his hair after a bath to ensure that he actually washed something instead of cavorting around like a dolphin.

He is also aware of the other calm Momma, the kind of calm that says, “Don’t fuck with me.” Its not an angry, quiet, sullen calm, its just a very, “I’m not taking any shit,” calm. And that also means his shit. Nate hasn’t pushed any of my buttons since Saturday. This is rare.

When Nate heard me stand up to his dad, it changed him and it changed our relationship. I’ve been standing up to his dad a lot more in the past months and it has made a difference, but the big difference was on Saturday. Nate heard something in my voice that his dad is too stupid to hear. Finality.

Its like something clicked in his head, like, “Ya know, maybe I ought not to mess with my Mom.” A new respect was born.

Of course, the management at the restaurant is aware of my situation and have been very understanding of me leaving early, especially since I’ll bring Nate back or come in a little early or drop Nate off and then come back and work longer to get everything done. Owner’s Wife, who I just adore, asked if I had somewhere I could go if I had to. I thought of all of my friends and family, spread all over the US and part of the globe and said, “Oh, I could stay hidden for quite some time. He has no idea.”

Now, Owner’s Wife, she’s ALL woman, hell, I won’t even mess with her.  Besides T-Bird, she’s one woman I want on my side and watching my back. She’s a helluva lady and she fucking cracks me UP!  She does the bookkeeping so we work together every morning and she has similar problems with her youngest child who is a year younger than Nate, so we have a lot in common. Sometimes, I’ll ask her a management question before the GM gets there and she’ll laugh and say, “Hell, Nanner Mae, I don’t know, I just work here.” LOL!

Don’t let her fool ya, though. She was a pastry chef at The Greenbrier Hotel. The woman knows her shit.

So, for the time being, things have calmed. Nate will be spending his summer at the YMCA T.O.G.A. Camp (I’m signing him up on Wednesday). He usually spends summers with his dad, but, I didn’t think that was a good idea before Friday and definitely not an option now. Plus, I think that seeing me is all a part of it, so, this cuts down on the time that I actually see Jeff as well.

Things still on the “iffy” line are the Court ordered visitations and my trip to Milwaukee. I got the grant! Now, not sure I’m going. But, we’ll see. I have to talk to my mom and see if she can come down and stay here a few days to take care of Nate and I’ll just cut the trip short, essentially missing the “show” portion of the Bead & Button Show but I could still take my classes and only be gone three to four days, only two of which Nate will be in school. Damn snow days!

Well, that’s it from here and since I haven’t quoted Alice in Chains nor Jerry Cantrell yet,

Yeah, its fine
We’ll walk down the line
Leave our rain, a cold
Trade for warm sunshine – NO EXCUSES (Jar of Flies – AiC)

Say good-bye, don’t follow – DON’T FOLLOW (Jar of Flies – AiC)

1 Comment

  1. kenju said,

    Nanner, I sort of lost track of you when you didn’t blog there for a while. I am really sorry to read about Nate’s being hit. That corsses the last line (for me) and I hope for Nate too. Good luck with all this.

Leave a Reply

