Did You Ever Wonder…

May 12, 2008 at 10:48 pm (Uncategorized)

If you’re making a difference in your child’s life? If anything you’re saying or doing is sinking in? If the example you’re setting is being watched?

I found out.

Nate had cajoled my Mom into buying me a Mother’s Day present from him, “Chicken Soup for the Soul – A Tribute to Moms.” Nate thumbed through the book and made me read a particular story called, “How?” written by Tammy Ruggles. This mother related her and her son’s struggles following the death of her husband. She asked herself the kinds of questions I’ve asked myself through the years, although for difference reasons. “Who will be Nate’s role model? How do I teach him to be a man?” And my other questions, “Is anything I’m doing going to make a difference?”

Nate, contrary to popular belief, can be a quiet child, especially when expressing his heartfelt emotions. I have no doubt my little man loves me but I’ve long wondered what is going on inside his head. I was also a bit perplexed as to why he wanted me to read this particular story since it didn’t fit our circumstances. I understood once I got to the end of the story.

The child in the story comes to his mother and asks if she remembers all the things they’ve done together (fishing, bowling, swimming, skating) and she indicates that she does. He hands her a piece of paper to read…

The title of the paper was, “My Hero,” and the words read: My hero is my mom. I want to be just like her I grow up. She teaches me right from wrong, and she wants me to be a good man.

Nate told me later that he didn’t much like the beginning of the story but he really liked the end. I liked the ending too.

Thank you, Nate, for finding a way to tell me I’m making a difference in your life. Happy Mother’s Day to me.

7 Comments

  1. Jammie J. said,

    Kids watch everything adults do.
    Then when you least expect it, they throw something out — whether it’s emulation of something you’ve done, or a depth of character you weren’t expecting.
    Sounds like Nate gave you a wonderful gift — one that touched your heart. Beautiful. 🙂

  2. Tina said,

    That’s sweet. Go Nate! 🙂

  3. Vince said,

    Damn you got a good kid where it matters. I’m postive he’s going to grow up and make you proud. You’re doing a great job with him.

  4. Jamie said,

    That is SO sweet! Ethan made me a card that he had to fill in the ends of sentences. It was pretty darn cute, too! He was so embarrassed, but proud, too!

  5. Ashley said,

    such an amazing son you have there.

  6. cybele said,

    Good on ya, Mama. Kiss Nate from us.

  7. Beth said,

    I’m sure you are making a difference in his life, but it’s good to have him confirm that, and in writing, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

