Take It Easy

April 2, 2008 at 10:03 pm (My Travels)

The last of the lot… thanks Mikey for reminding me.

grand-canyon-100.jpg

Fountain at Tlaquepaque

grand-canyon-103.jpg

This looked eerily like a spaceship…

grand-canyon-116.jpg

No, not a mural, but just a window to the outside world at Meteor Crater. It’s so beautiful looking out it looks like a picture.

grand-canyon-108.jpg

Meteor Crater

grand-canyon-124.jpg

Self-explanatory

grand-canyon-125.jpg

Right over Nate’s shoulder is the girl, my Lord, in a flatbed Ford.

grand-canyon-126.jpg

grand-canyon-129.jpg

It was hot, dusty, dry, and windy at Homo’lovi ruins.

grand-canyon-132.jpg

grand-canyon-138.jpg

Old eagle/raven’s nest.

grand-canyon-140.jpg

You can tell from the petroglyphs that rocks have fallen and this part was once must higher.

Like this…

grand-canyon-143.jpg

Amazing this photo turned out considering the winds were gusting 30-40 mph and I was holding onto part of the plant to take this pic.

grand-canyon-144.jpg

The trip to Arizona was absolutely lovely. Even the barren landscapes were a thing of beauty. I noticed it most on our return drive from Pittsburgh to home. The trees, 99% deciduous, have not gotten their leaves, and it wasn’t until we returned to Southern WV that we found the dogwoods and forsythia blooming.ย The leaves of my rose bush are dark green again and the buds are just waiting to burst on Jeff’s cherry tree.

Spring, waiting to exhale. I could use a few Ponderosa pines around here.

8 Comments

  1. Jammie J. said,

    The desert is a strange place in the springtime. My Miata club does an annual run early March to see the desert flowers bloom. The blooms don’t last for long, though, before the dry heat takes them over. I’ve not gone on that run for several years… maybe next year I’ll make the time.

    Beautiful pictures, really enjoyed them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Zelda said,

    For some reason, I always pictured the girl (my Lord) in the flatbed of the Ford with her hands and feet tied. And she’s wearing boots.

    I’m sick. And I’ve read too many Nancy Drew books.

  3. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    You could use the Ponderosas — just as long as you are immune to loads of pollen!

  4. Tina said,

    Kickass pics, dude!

  5. Vince said,

    That’s such a cool vacation. Just great shots everywhere.

    BTW, quick reminder I’ll be in DC with the family from 4/11 to 4/16. If you want to try and hook up at some point, perhpas over the weekend, let me know.

  6. Seamus said,

    I glad you had such a wonderful experience in Arizona. Isn’t the night sky just amazing there? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope your spring in WV happens soon!

  7. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Arizona is beautiful. I love the dry heat, and cacti blooming away ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Jen said,

    Amazing pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

