Home Sweet Home

March 30, 2008 at 10:11 pm (My Travels)

Nate and I arrived home safely at 1:00 p.m. today after plane hopping and an overnight flight from Vegas.  Nate slept most of the way. I was not so lucky. He woke me up at 5:00 a.m. EST having to go to the bathroom. It felt as though the cushion I was sitting on was made of Arizona limestone. I squirmed for the next hour and a half, trying to find a comfortable spot, which never happened. No one was happier than I when the plane landed early.

I ended up taking a short nap at the WV Welcome Center and have slept off and on all day. I’m ready for bed now.

So, we’re up to Friday. Nate and I had a pretty laid back day with a trip to Riordan Mansion, which was about 3 blocks from the hotel. The Riordan family helped build Flagstaff into what it is today. Once you go through the tour you understand a lot more about the area and why things are named the way they are. We went on down to Sedona again, and once again could not find a place to park at the airport vortex, so we stopped by Tlaquepaque again, which is a replica of a Mexican shopping plaza, to visit Cocopah again, and I bought beads, again.

We then went back to the hotel and vegged out until sundown and then headed out to Lowell Observatory for their evening hours.  The space station flew over while we were there, and Mars, Saturn, and the Orion Nebulae were the featured sites on the telescopes. Have you ever seen Saturn through a telescope? Wow.

Flagstaff has signs proclaiming it to be the world’s first international dark-sky city. They got that right. That’s one of the first things I noticed about Flagstaff was how many fekkin’ stars you can see, just standing on a street corner, much less at the observatory, which is at an elevation of 7,200 feet. The city of Flagstaff is at 6,902.  Their dark-sky ordinances mean all of the lights have to be domed in a particular way to cut down on light pollution. Its amazing, it works, and it makes it so much better to be there, especially for  stargazers like me and Nate. It’s the only place I didn’t get any pictures. Kind of useless to try given there are rules against using flash photography at night.

Saturday we packed up our rental car, said good-bye to the room, and headed out for Winslow, AZ. We had been to Winslow previously, but only to drop off the interstate for a quick bite of food. On the way, we decided to stop at Meteor Crater. Wow. Not much to see other than a big hole in the ground, until you realize those little specks at the bottom of it are the cutout of a 6′ tall astronaut and an American flag the same size as the one on the moon.

And the wind. Oh my hell! The wind was ferocious! At least 60 mph gusts at the rim.

We then continued on to Winslow, AZ and stood on the corner. Nate looked up from reading his book long enough to snap some pictures then looked around. “Is this it?” Yep, that was it. We continued on to Homo’lovi ruins just north of Winslow. We hiked Tsu’vo trail, which means, “Trail of Rattlesnakes,” none of which we saw, although we did see an old eagles nest and some petroglyphs.

It was a beautiful day, yet still with a stiff wind, and we headed back to Barnes & Noble in Flagstaff to pick up Nate another book since he had finished “Bridge to Terabithia.” I had picked up “P.S. I Love You” when he got his book and I had already finished it (excellent book, by the way), and he picked me out a book called, “Peaches.” Although it was in the teen aisle, I have to say, it’s a very engrossing story about three very different teenage girls in Georgia.

So, we turned in the rental car, watched our last Flagstaff sunset (for a while), and now we’re home. Home sweet home.

7 Comments

  1. Trashman said,

    Teenage girls in Georgia? Tell me more.

  2. Jammie J. said,

    Dang! Well, welcome home. I love all the pictures in your previous post and have to say your hair color looks fabulous on you, especially in the natural sunlight. It really looks great. 🙂

    Glad you’re home safely and sounds like you had a wonderful trip.

  3. LisaBinDaCity said,

    I kept up with your adventures although I didn’t comment, (bad blogger!) Glad y’all had such a good time!!!

  4. Vince said,

    Sounds like you guys had a great trip. Those pictures were so cool. Now get some rest.

  5. PandoraWilde said,

    Smacking self upside head because I am a space cadet.

    I’ll have your box in tomorrow’s mail! I’m SO sorry–it’s been insane here, including an ER trip and my brain went into FUBAR mode.

  6. Michael said,

    Great photos and sounds like a fun trip. I’ve been to Winslow Arizona all the way to Tacoma, Philadelphia, Atlanta, LA. Okay, it’s not as good as Steve Miller’s “The Joker”….

  7. Inanna said,

    DAMN, MIKEY! Now, I’m gonna have to go to Philadelphia and Tacoma so I can fit the words to THAT song!

Leave a Reply

