Lean & Mean in AZ *Updated*

March 25, 2008 at 1:01 am (My Travels)

Wow, what a day!!! Sunset Crater Park, Waputaki Ruins, Winslow (for food only), Petrified Forest, and the Painted Desert. No pictures today…. too tired. However, the lean and mean refers to an amazing sight we saw while driving from Sunset Crater Park to Waputaki Ruins, one of the most beautiful drives I’ve ever been on. Nate and I saw a lean furry creature cross in front of the car, which we later identified as a badger. Given they are nocturnal, it was surely a lucky sighting. And luckier for it that we weren’t any closer or it may have become roadkill.

It was a beautiful, beautiful day and we capped it off with a drive into the sunset on I-40. I’ve never seen so many stars as I have in the desert. Tomorrow… The Grand Canyon.       *No Grand Canyon today. We were unprepared and it was too late when we got up, which was 7:12 a.m.  Need gas, water, snacks, and to drive up there. I felt unprepared so we’re switching to the Hoover Dam and a trip to Lowell Observatory tonight.* 

5 Comments

  1. Seamus said,

    I’m ready to go back now!

  2. PandoraWilde said,

    Man, I wish I was stowed away in the trunk!

  3. Jammie J. said,

    Sounds like you’re having the time of your life! 🙂

  4. Tina said,

    Oh man I forgot about the Painted Desert!!!! Words cannot describe it. I so wish I was with you guys right now!

  5. SagaciousHillbilly said,

    Sounds like hardcore extreme touring!

Leave a Reply

