My Son…

March 20, 2008 at 8:43 pm (Crazy Shit, My Travels, Nate)

Watches too much television. It seems as though one of Nate’s favorite programs has become, “I Shouldn’t Be Alive.” The true-life stories of people caught in extraordinary circumstances who come out of it alive. The people profiled yesterday were the young parents caught in a snowstorm with their infant son. I don’t remember the names but it was an incredible story for its time.

Nate takes all of this to heart and I don’t like to make fun of him, because, you know, you never really know what’s going to happen. However, I believe the best plan is to be prepared, be rational, be reasonable, be safe, and be smart. Nate’s plan is to prepare for the absolute worst.

To appease the worry-wart in him, we are now the proud owners of two lightweight flashlights, a snakebite kit, a 152 piece First Aid kit, two rain ponchos, and anti-germ tablets for fresh water. Okay, that last one, I thought might come in handy. And, I had also thought of the First Aid kit, until I realized we’re going to Arizona, not Cambodia. You know, Arizona, where they still have grocery stores and Wal*Marts.

Trust me, I talked him out of the portable showering kit, yet he talked me out of the emergency blanket. His biggest gripe… bugs. WE NEED BUG REPELLANT!!! And who knew that Arizona was the only state in the union where West Nile virus is an epidemic? Obviously my son. However, I don’t think with temps at the Grand Canyon still at or below the freezing mark at night that we’ll be eaten by an army of mosquitoes while on our three mile hike.

Maybe in Phoenix, but not in Flagstaff.

We’re also taking a compass and an emergency whistle, although I have no intentions of wandering off the path and having to plot my course in the sand by using the moon and stars. I prefer to sit with my feet up in the hotel room, sipping a beer.

I think Nate needs to join the Boy Scouts.

Regardless, as I forked over my hard-earned cash, I thought to myself, “If we need that portable shower, I’ll never hear the end of it.”

9 Comments

  1. Jammie J said,

    he sounds like me three years ago. i still don’t believe that there are grocery stores or the like anywhere but where i live. seeing is believing, and i won’t believe it until i see it. which means that i pack everything when i travel. šŸ™‚

  2. blackpunkin said,

    LOL! And you know me Jammie, I pack a pair of shorts, a t-shirt, and four bras for three days.

  3. Aimee said,

    Oh–you DO need that shower at the Grand Canyon. Did they forget to tell you that on the brochure?

    Yeah, well… there are no “facilities”, so you have to bring your own along.

    šŸ˜‰

    (You’re so gullible!)

  4. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    “We need it to wash the sweat off, Ma,” he said. “What were you thinking?”

  5. Tina said,

    The Boy Scouts is a good idea. šŸ™‚ Tell Nate to “chill out” for me. The worst thing you have to worry about at the Grand Canyon is the thin air, not snakes. šŸ˜‰ Have a safe trip, dude! I wish I could go with you!

  6. Vince said,

    I agree. Nate would make a great scout.

  7. Seamus said,

    Where the bugs may not be an issue this time of the year, dehydration will be; so keep lots of water at hand … LOTS!
    BTW … if you have the time while you are there you may want to check out the Hermit’s Rest Trail at the south end of the park. It’s not as well known as the Bright Angel and the Kaibab trails, but it is a unique and interesting hike with less people pressure!

  8. subeeds said,

    You guys have a super fantastic time!! Did you get the FMG beads in time? LOL! My son did Boy Scouts for a few years and enjoyed it. I bet Nate would, too. BTW, don’t forget the sunblock.

  9. Trashman said,

    Don’t forget the scorpions, SunShine.

Leave a Reply

