Promotion

February 2, 2008 at 11:18 am (Work)

I’ve been promoted at work, but its a big secret until Tuesday, so ya’ll keep it to yourselves. Our Assistant Manager is going back to the floor so they’ve been looking for another AM. I made it clear I wasn’t interested in spending 12-14 hours a day at the restaurant. Nor would I be happy sitting on my ass in the basement office. I took this job so I could move around.

So, they created a new position, sort of. The first part of my job description will be AM lead, which entails being at work at 9 a.m. and being in charge of my shift, making sure everything is done correctly, assisting my fellow servers, and still serving myself, which was big for me. I wanted to stay on the floor. After 2 p.m., I retire to the basement to do paperwork, leave between 4 and 5, weekends off, more money.

At first they wanted me to become an administrative assistant and still bar back and hostess, which I nixed. I wanted to stay on the floor as a server and sitting in the office for hours, again, is not why I wanted to work there. I’m sure I’ll pick up my fair share of bar shifts and I’ll still work wherever they need me, when they need me, but for the most part, I think it will be more streamlined and I’m looking forward to having two days off in a row.

I’m sure all of this will go to hell in a handbag during busy season but until then, I’ll just enjoy myself. I have a new design ready for a kickin’ necklace and hopefully I’ll get to work on that this weekend. Ya’ll have a great one!

13 Comments

  1. Mahala said,

    Congrats!!!

  2. KtP said,

    SWEET! Way to go, Nanner Pie.

  3. Jammie J. said,

    Congrats on the promotion.
    But I’m gonna tell Tony. πŸ˜›

  4. old horsetail snake said,

    Yahoo: Go get ’em, Tiger.

  5. Vince said,

    Congrats! Sounds like the best of both worlds. And weekends off!

  6. Tina said,

    That’s awesome dude! You know your shit. You kick ass! I am more or less in the same position right now, depending. More weekends off means MORE chances for me to take you and Nate to amusement parks. πŸ™‚ We ROCK, gf! πŸ™‚

  7. Michael said,

    Congratulations! Everyone in S. Cal. now knows.

  8. blackpunkin said,

    Awww, thanks guys and gals. I think they rewrote the job description to include “most” weekends… ah, well, at least I’ll be hourly now. We’ll see how it goes. I always have the option of going back to the floor.

  9. Ashley said,

    Sounds great! Congrats! πŸ™‚

  10. kenju said,

    I knew it was only a matter of time before they realized what a gem you are!

  11. Aimee said,

    So I guess it’s Super Tuesday in more ways than one, hey? Congrats, Sweet Pea. I’m happy for you. πŸ™‚

    (My interview is 11:00 on Wednesday morning. Yesssss!)

  12. Zelda said,

    I’m so happy for you. Congratulations.

  13. restless angel said,

    Awesome. Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

