Must. STOP.

January 29, 2008 at 11:22 pm (Alice in Chains, Beading, Crazy Shit)

buying. beads.

For almost an entire year, I didn’t bead very much nor did I buy much because I had a hard time paying the mortgage, much less buying beads. Now, I’m buying beads. Although someone may look in my beading bags and see a lot of beads, a good beader knows, you have to have a lot of beads. You have to have cabochons and big beads and little beads and micro beads and bugle beads.

You have to be able to spread them out and look at their colors and their shine and their texture, and you have to thumb through your beading books and magazines and take an idea here and idea there and mix it all up and create something else. Sometimes you have to make something that someone else designed just so you can take one part of it to make something better than you made it before.

And you really need a lot of beads to do that. (That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!)

Last night I was laying in bed and a design idea just came to me. Out of nowhere. Then, as I was taking a short blogging break to indulge in a hot fudge sundae, another design idea came to me about my Alice in Chains jacket.Β  Now, the jacket has evolved a great deal since the original idea and basic Alice in Chains sun logo. It now has a different center, a different background, and different embellishments.

Okay, so, I’m done buying beads, for now. “Now” is subject to change without notice. Thank you.

12 Comments

  1. Jammie J. said,

    You can’t bind an artist.
    Artists have to be freeeeee! πŸ™‚

  2. Mahala said,

    Beads are definitely addictive. There’s a killer bead store in Big City. I really need to get out there soon.

  3. Vince said,

    You’re right. You need to stop buying beads. And start buying me guitars instead. You can start with this:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Gibson-Les-Paul-Artisan_W0QQitemZ160202376896QQihZ006QQcategoryZ47072QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    I can give you more suggestions if you need them. I’ll even come to you to pick them up in person.

  4. blackpunkin said,

    Jammie, thats it, feed the addict!

    Mahala, if there’s a bead store in Big City, I’ll meet you there!

    Vince, if I’m buying a vintage Les Paul it had better have Jerry Cantrell attached to it!

  5. Aimee said,

    You have beads. I have yarn (and scrapbooking supplies). Together we can keep the craft industries afloat. πŸ™‚

  6. subeeds said,

    No matter how many beads I buy, I always get an idea for something that needs different colors/textures/sizes than what I have on hand. This usually occurs right after I get a bead order, too. I guess it’s the color freak in me just wanting an excuse to buy more beads.

  7. Inanna said,

    Aimee, lets just hope the craft industry keeps us afloat as well!

    subeeds, no doubt, I always remember something else I want or need after I make a bead order!

  8. Julie said,

    Girl, I am nowhere near the beader you are and I feel the same way. I just hide the beads where Rick can’t see them. Same with my yarn stash. And my roving stash. πŸ˜‰

  9. PandoraWilde said,

    The same things happen to soapmakers.

    We’ll be just finishing up unloading our seven large-assed Rubbermaid containers full of soaping essentials (like virgin organic fresh-squeezed ostrich extract and Praying Mantis essential oil), and then it’ll hit us.

    We didn’t see any 3.27 oz push-up lotion bar containers. And we NEED them. No, the 3.25 oz ones we unpacked yesterday will NOT do–it’s gotta be the 3.27’s or it won’t work.

    So then we must Place An Order.

    But while we’re ordering the 3.27’s we see that there’s a surplus buy on Leatherman’s Ass fragrance oil, and we know for a FACT we’ll need that to blend with if we ever need to make something for the ass of a Leatherman, so we MUST get 2 lbs–it’s a surplus buy so we won’t see THAT incredible price again…

    Getting my drift? I’m sure you are.

  10. Inanna said,

    Julez and Serra, oh yeah, I’m feelin’ ya!

  11. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Enjoy every moment of your bead extravaganza!!!

  12. Lois Lane said,

    I love the subject to change disclaimer at the end. Good luck Nanner. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

