It’s 7:09 AM

December 22, 2007 at 8:24 am (General, T-Bird, Work)

And I’m preparing to work my last shift before the holiday break. I’ve worked my ass off this week. We’ve all worked our asses off this week.  Yesterday, I had my biggest day ever as a server. I did over $1100 in sales… at lunch. That’s a lot. A whole lot. It helped that the party I was serving said they had been told they could order from the dinner menu, which is twice as expensive as the lunch menu. Except… it was 2 in the afternoon and I had no knowledge of this.

I immediately went to my sous chefs, Jay and Missy, and told them. They freaked out. We don’t have many items which are the same for both menus and nothing for evening was prepped because it was too early. Then I went to Assistant Manager and asked her. She said she had no knowledge of this either, neither did Chef. But, we did it anyway.

After it was all over, I went down to the office and told Manager how proud I was of our chefs for pulling it out of their asses. The group was very happy and tipped me accordingly. I’ve never seen a tip like that before. I thought we were busy the last time I blogged. Yesterday surpassed that by double. Jay said it was the best lunch he’s ever seen, money wise, and honestly, while we spent an incredible amount of time in the weeds, it worked out okay.

But, I’m exhausted. Christmas with my family is tomorrow and no, I don’t have my SIL’s gift finished, nor my parent’s second gift. That’s why I’m up at, now, 7:20 when I have lunch shift and catering today. I’m hungry, my eyes are red, and yesterday evening as I was finishing cleaning the party room, I could barely put one word in front of the other. I think A-Rod, night server and catering guru, might have felt a bit sorry for me.

This is why I haven’t been around to visit or comment but I’m thinking of you all. I gotta roll. Remember to tip your servers and bartenders!!!!

10 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    I understand. It’s been SLAMMED at my work as well and I still haven’t done any Christmas shopping. I am too tired! 🙂 I honestly can’t wait until Christmas is over with.

    See ya sometime soon. 🙂

  2. Jammie J said,

    Wow, you have an amazing crew in the kitchen. 🙂
    I think the perfect gift for you would be a day off to do nothing. But honestly, I’m not sure you know how to do that. 🙂

  3. Seamus said,

    Time to get outta da weeds and into the weed! 😉

    We like to tip generously during the holidaze – makes folks smile!

  4. kenju said,

    That was some lunch!~! I am surprised, since the whole place isn’t that big – or doesn’t appear to be. The food is good, though, and you are a good server – so I am not surprised that you were well-tipped! Merry Christmas, Nanner.

  5. Jen said,

    Hope you and your family have a very happy Christmas.

  6. Jethro said,

    You know, we’re going to have to visit this restaurant of yours. We can request you right?

  7. Serra said,

    I used to be a bartender–so I always tip well. I understand all too well how tips can bail one’s ass out of a financial jam.

    Oh–if you’re around at all this weekend, I’m running Refugee Weekend from now til Tuesday, so you’re welcome to stop in and join.

    I have to run–I still have a pair of slippers to finish and 3 things to make. Thank Dog we’re snowed in so no one’s come in for Yule yet and I don’t have to have it all done tomorrow night like I first thought.

    Hugs and hang in there, Nanner.

  8. Vince said,

    Damn, you rock! Enjoy the break and Merry Christmas.

  9. Trashman said,

    Merry Christmas or Yule or whatever it is you witchs celebrate.

  10. brightonandbear said,

    Merry Christmas Peaches, I love you!

Leave a Reply

