Rockin’ Around

December 17, 2007 at 12:42 am (General, Music, Nate, Work)

I went Christmas shopping today.  I bought myself a pair of lounge/sleep pants. They are black and have “AC/DC” in red all over them. I also bought myself a beading book that I had before the fire but didn’t have after the fire, some new beads, and some new dichoric glass pendants.

I got some other folks gifts too but I can’t list them here because one of them happens to live with me and is smart enough to check my blog AND the history in my computer. I found this out because he told his dad I was looking at prices on HDTVs and when asked how he knew this, he told him it was because he had looked through the history.

This must be why midterm grades came out and that some certain little someone has improved his grades. If school were a video game, he would make straight A’s.

I’ve been thinking of someone a lot. He at least knows I’m on this planet. Not much else, but he knows I’m on this planet. That’s a start!

I worked a double Friday, 1st shift as server, where we got our asses handed to us, and 2nd shift as hostess, where we again, got our asses handed to us. Yesterday, I worked a catering which is the equivelant of a double shift. Our host was most gracious in tipping the four of us a considerable lump of cash, even though we get a cut of the gratuity on our paycheck. They had the most beautiful house!!!!! And the most incredible kitchen you’ve ever seen. When I’m not exhausted, I’ll tell you about it, and their seven bathrooms. Seven. And their computerized front load washer and dryer.

My cousin has progressed to the end-stage of his battle with cancer.  It’s one of those paradoxes of life that you love someone and you don’t want to see them go, yet, you pray for their departure to the afterlife. Some shitty paradox that is.

12 Comments

  1. Seamus said,

    Three cheers for doing some shopping for yourself! 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about your cousin – it is a terrible paradox.

  2. kenju said,

    Yeah, me too, Nanner. I have prayed for swift exits too (for friends and relatives). I’d love to hear about that house.

  3. Jammie J. said,

    That certain someone who lives with you is a piece of work, for sure. 🙂

    A house with seven bathrooms, wow, that means seven toilets, huh? Coolness. Of course, you knew I’d be thinking about that.

    Your cousin, well, that just sucks. I’m sorry to hear about that.

  4. Vince said,

    I know what you mean about the paradox. We went through that with the Wife’s dad. Although, truth be told, after his stroke, we’re not sure he was all really there. His passing really was a blessing.

    Girl, you need to get smarter than your kid on the computer. First of all, create a login for yourself with a password and one one for him. Give him user rights to the PC so he can’t mess it up. This way he can’t access your stuff and do things like read your browser history. Which, BTW, you can configure to retain zero days so he still can’t figure it out. Let me know if you need help staying one step ahead of the kid. I’m really sneaky that way.

  5. Serra said,

    Vince said what i was going to about keeping smart kids out of your stuff.

    And shopping for yourself is necessary, especially when it’s replacing familiar bits of a life lost as parts of yours (and mine but in a different way). I hate spending money on me, especially when money’s tight but once a month I have to allow me to pick up one small piece of what I lost 18 months ago. It helps me see the light at the end of the tunnel, and lets me hope it’s not just another fucking train.

  6. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Sorry did you say something after 7 bathrooms? Must have missed it 😉

  7. Michael said,

    With seven bathrooms you can do your daily business in a different location all week long. Sounds like the owner went shopping for himself when he bought that house.

  8. restless angel said,

    Sorry about your cousin…

    And Christmas shopping… I’m tryin’ like crazy to finish… people keep coming up with lists! LOL

  9. Julie said,

    Since Rick and I just went through the cancer paradox with his sister, I know what you’re going through. I’m around if you want someone to talk to. *hugs*

  10. cybele said,

    That kid of yours isn’t smart enough to cure your cousin’s cancer already? Whazzup with THAT? C’mon, Nate, yer lettin us down, dude.

    My sister in law is suffering similarly, and since August, when we first knew, I imagined that she might’ve been hit by a bus instead; no warning, no extra hugs, no special trips, just suddenly a funeral.

    Every day I spend having a nice time with her, I’m glad she wasn’t hit by a bus. But every day I watch her suffer, I sort of wish she had been. Paradox? Not really.

    Love ’em while you got ’em. Which is the point anyway, right?

  11. Beth said,

    I like Michael’s idea! A different bathroom each day! That, right there, is my dream house. 😀

    Shopping for oneself during the holiday season is the best, isn’t it?

    My prayers go out to your cousin.

  12. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    Yeah, the old “go now,” “don’t go” syndrome. I know it well. Pish.

Leave a Reply

