We Got A Tree

December 7, 2007 at 11:47 pm (Cats, Nate, The House, Work)

Its a very small tree. I had thought perhaps my mother had a big tree hanging out in the attic but alas… it is not exactly small enough to be called a table top tree, although that’s where it will be placed. I suppose I can cross my fingers that I will get a great deal on a tree after the holidays. However, since I don’t have the full size tree, I will have enough ornaments to hang on it since it is smaller… I think. I definitely have enough lights to wrap around it twice.

***

Whiny called off today. She said she hurt her wrist carrying beer or ice or wine up the back stairwell day before yesterday. I covered her shift, especially since Slender was working and he hates working the bar. Plus, he was working a double. No one can tell me he doesn’t hurt when he gets home. I know I’m aching all over and my ass just hurts.

I question this “injury” because Whiny has been trying to get someone to cover her shifts so she can go to Morgantown. We’re hopeful this is to work at our satellite restaurant or to go to graduate school. I was supposed to work tomorrow but Addy and I switched because… well, just because he offered and I accepted. Whiny is scheduled to work 10-9 tomorrow and we have a party of 73 taking over one side of the restaurant tomorrow evening, which is why she’s scheduled for 11 hours.

I don’t have much hope that Whiny will show up tomorrow or Monday and she’s off on Tuesday. My ass is already hurting. I told Addy, Slender, and Assistant Manager that if they need me to work, they had better call early. Pulling long shifts sucks, good money or not.

***

I got a call from one of my old lawyer bosses. He had told me around the time of my birthday that his new paralegal was nuts and he had been warned by the other staff that if he didn’t fire her they weren’t coming back to work. He fired her last week and called today to ask if I would do some contract work for him. Sure. I need to keep my skills up and I need the money.

***

The tree doesn’t look so bad. I’ll post pictures when I find the batteries. I also have pictures of the snow. Nate was very excited to help me put the angel and the first ornament on the tree. He said, “Christmas really does make people come together.” He then spent the rest of his time chasing Jack and Hermione away from the tree.

***

Macy loves me. She still won’t have much, okay, anything, to do with Nate unless he forces her. The minute I go into the bathroom or the computer room alone, she comes to visit. Maybe I’ll post a pic of her too. She’s not happy with me though because of all the static. That pisses her off.

***

I finally got my small insurance check today. Not really enough to put much of dent in everything, but enough to put a small dent in really important things. No, one of those is not an Ojibwa loom. I was thinking more like… the mortgage. I also got paid today and made enough in cash tips to buy some groceries and put a bit of gas in the car. Things are slowly looking up.

8 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    That’s good. I got my pay check for last week and a holiday bonus, so things are looking up here too. I have so many presents to buy!

  2. Pand0raWilde said,

    I’m not sure if we’re putting up a tree–my PS is dealing with some depression and a lot of it’s being triggered by the holidays. Personally I’m not wrecked if we don’t, but I’m thinking I at least want to put up some lights. They’re my favorite part of Yuletide so I’d like at least a string around the window in the living room.

  3. Seamus said,

    All our kitties are pissed off about the static. Got any extra antibiotic? 😉

    Yay for things looking up – even if it is incremental!

  4. Tina said,

    (((hugs))) Love ya, girl!

  5. Kent said,

    Hey there cuz!

    I put up a small tree myself. I had a heck of a time finding one that suited my needs.

    I was looking for a three footer. Well, everyone and their uncle had four footers, but I couldn’t find a three footer to save my life. Since the plan was for the tree to go on top of my entertainment center, and there is only about 3 1/2 feet between said entertainment center and the celing, a four footer just wasn’t going to work.

    Well, the GF found three footers at the Ol’ W.M.. So I braved the craziness, went up the hill to W.M., and bought a three footer. I’m decorating with the M&M MPire ornaments, where the M&M’s are all your favorite Star Wars characters. I got The Force series last year, and this year bought The Dark Side. So I’m good to go.

    Anyway, back to work. Talk to you soon.

  6. LisaBinDaCity said,

    That’s funny, I was reading your post and started thinking, “Good, things are looking up for Nanner!” and then I read your last sentence 😉

    I’m proud of you!!!

  7. Inanna said,

    Kenju, it will be a small Yule around here. Nate has chosen several small gifts versus one big one.

    Pandora, yes, I would think lights would help depression. I actually bought a new extension cord so we could string some outside.

    Seamus, every little bit helps right now!

    Love ya, Beanie!

    Kent, you should have known to look at the Evil Empire!

    LisaB., thank you sweetie!

  8. Vince said,

    Someone needs to fire Whiny’s ass. In that kind of business, that kind of crap really ruins your rep. And once a resteraunt gets a bad rep, it’s over.

Leave a Reply

