*Sigh*

November 26, 2007 at 10:28 pm (Crazy Shit, Work)

Monday morning, always a rough one, isn’t it?  I remember what a rough Monday I had on January the 29th. Our dishwasher, Rex, had the same kind of Monday. The details are sketchy but it appears as though a fire started in he and his wife’s mobile home (rental) around 2:30 this morning. They were alerted in enough time to put it out but left the residence to stay with her mother.  At 7:15, our Assistant Manager, who is also Rex’s wife’s cousin, drove by to see if they needed anything but no one was home and everything looked okay. By 9:00, it was a shell and ash. They lost everything and they didn’t have renters insurance.

*Sigh*

Luckily for Rex, he works with the best group of folks anyone could ask for and some wise sage once said that perhaps one day I would be the one showing the way out of the dark, or smoke, as it may be.

Jay looked at me and said, “Okay, Nanner, you’ve been through this. What’s the best thing to say? What’s the best thing to do?”  I told him to imagine walking into an apartment with nothing in it but kitchen appliances, then in his mind imagine everything he would need to fill it up, from toothbrushes to bed sheets, spices to soap, frying pans to trashcans, food and towels, a place to lay your head, and so much more.

Rex is a great guy and I know we’ll take care of him as best we can. Just happy he and his wife are okay.  Send some good thoughts and prayers his way.  Thanks.

6 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    I hope they’ll be okay. I’ll pray for them.

  2. Seamus said,

    I’ll keep them in my prayers.

  3. Pand0raWilde said,

    Lighting a candle once I get it made, Nanner. Send hugs from me too please?

  4. Vince said,

    You know I will. Everything happens for a reason. Now you get to help someone else from your experiences.

  5. brightonandbear said,

    So scary, sending my best thoughts!

  6. restless angel said,

    They’re definitely in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

