NOLA – Volume I

October 5, 2007 at 6:32 pm (AZ, Family, Music, My Travels)

I started writing my trip report and determined it will have to be broken up into pieces.

The weekend started with Steve’s (AZ) wedding. I spent so much time researching cool haunted places to visit in Nawlins, I was late getting ready. By the way, everywhere in Nawlins is haunted, save yourself the trouble of looking it up. As I parked in the lot at the church I said to myself, “I really don’t want to be here.” I went anyway.

I saw a lot of people I haven’t seen in a long time, including my ex – Lex. I also saw Ray, a total hottie from Steve’s days at his first radio station. Yeah, and he’s single. He has my MySpace page and he hasn’t contacted me since I got home, so I guess he read whatever I’ve written and decided against it, which, hey, whatever. I’m nothing if not honest, perhaps even more so than I should be.

steves-wedding-new-orleans-001.JPG

He was a very handsome groom and she was a very beautiful bride.  Again, I don’t get their whole relationship and really, I’m not the one who has to, that’s between them. She looks happy here but a lot of the time she didn’t look happy at all. She looked miserable, but maybe that’s just her way. By the way, her gown was the shizznet.

steves-wedding-new-orleans-013.JPG

About six drinks into the reception, that morose feeling started and I really had to shake myself out of it. I couldn’t quite pinpoint whether I thought it should be me with him, or whether I wondered if it would ever be me with anyone. Eh.  

All good intentions aside, I didn’t quite make the 7 p.m. curfew I set for myself and didn’t end up back here until 10, then, despite the number of drinks I had, I still couldn’t wind down and go to sleep. Despite my best intentions, and the number of drinks I had, I also didn’t catch any kind of buzz. I should have sucked down that half bottle of Reisling in the fridge. 2 a.m., it came early, but I bolted up, finished packing, fed and watered the cats, and took off.

I arrived at Pittsburgh Intl. 2 minutes late to check my baggage so I had to toss my shaving cream, contact lens solution, and my toothpaste or I would have had to wait on the 11:50 flight. My ass folks! Not after rising at 2 a.m. and driving 4 hours. Bite ME!

I sat beside a very engaging man on the flight to Philly who was also widely traveled and we shared stories. I was so tired that I can’t even remember who I sat beside of on the way to Nawlins because I was asleep before the flight took off, woke briefly when we took off, and slept about 3/4ths of the way to Nawlins. My right hip and sciatic nerve have been giving me trouble and it woke me up.

It was pouring the rain when I arrived and rained all the way to the hotel. However, by the time I got checked in and dumped my stuff, it had stopped. I made my way to Jackson Square and waited on my cousin.

 steves-wedding-new-orleans-042.JPG

steves-wedding-new-orleans-043.JPG

We ate beignets and drank coffee at the Cafe Du Monde. Still as awesome as evah!

My cousin and I then walked down to St. Louis Cemetery #1, stopping at Marie Laveau’s Voodoo Shop along the way. I did not purchase a chicken foot, although it was tempting. Come to find out, the cemetery was closed, so we walked back to Decatur Street. I pointed out all of the supposed haunted spots along the way, which meant I pointed at every building.

We stopped at Crescent City Brewhouse and had a sampling of their beers –

 steves-wedding-new-orleans-044.JPG

steves-wedding-new-orleans-045.JPG

watched some football, and then decided we should try and find a different cemetery. We didn’t find much because we went the wrong way and it ended up being forever away on foot so we scrapped that, ended up meeting Seven, went back to the room for a pee break, and then wandered down to the Clover Grill for a late lunch. Huge ass burgers under a hubcap and hashbrowns. It kicked ass.

steves-wedding-new-orleans-046.JPG

Seven took off after we made plans for lunch the following day and my cousin and I went to Pat O’Briens. A guy named Daniel came in after we were there a while and he had a bad habit of kissing our hands, which after a while became extremely irritating and strange.  Booze helped, but not a whole lot.

steves-wedding-new-orleans-047.JPG

We escaped by telling him that I needed a nap and my cousin had to get home; this following a meeting with another gentleman who had recently been mugged and shot on N. Rampart, which runs parallel to Basin where the #1 St. Louis Cemetery is.

So, at 9 p.m. I took a nap.

steves-wedding-new-orleans-041.JPG

And as you all know, the freaks come out at night…

11 Comments

  1. kenju said,

    You can’t stop there!

  2. kama said,

    You forgot about the spitting, thanks a lot for that!!!

    I had a great time that day, glad you did too. Mom’s surgery is on the 24th, so I’ll see you in a month.

  3. Ashley said,

    Can’t wait to hear the rest!

  4. Vince said,

    Damn, don’t you alwasy meet interesting people! Can’t wait to hear more!

  5. Inanna said,

    Kenju, but I did stop there!

    Kama, oh yeah, I forgot about the spitting part, mainly because I was out of the line of fire… LOL! Oh yeah, I had a great time!

    Ashley, it gets even more interesting.

    Vince, I do, I meet the best people!!!!

  6. Jammie J said,

    It’s a good thing your trip didn’t go the way of your lens solution… still a bummer to have to toss that stuff. I love the narrative… 🙂

  7. Seamus said,

    Crammed a lot into a short time…and there’s still more! 🙂

  8. Zelda said,

    I am totally jealous. Everything sounds awesome.

  9. Inanna said,

    Jammie, yeah, it sucked having to toss my stuff, especially considering the price of toothpaste!

    Seamus, short trips mean little to no sleep.

    Zelda, it was definitely a great trip!

  10. Pand0ra Wilde said,

    You got to meet Se7en and now I am SO jealous!

    Love the necklace you’re wearing–is that your work?

  11. Beth said,

    Ew, a hand kisser eh? If there is one place on my body I don’t like being kissed, it’s the hands. I mean, executed well by someone I’m crazy about, hand-kissing is fine, but guys who like to think they’re being slick? Bleck!

    Anyway, it’s been very interesting so far…….what happens next?

Leave a Reply

