Confirmed

September 23, 2007 at 9:53 pm (Alice in Chains, Attitude in Overdrive, AZ, Family, Friends, Music, My Travels)

I just booked my flight and hotel in New Orleans. Normally I stay with my cousin but this time we decided it would be best if I got a room downtown as this is not a typical trip. Although my cousin and I get along fabulously, we appreciate each other’s differences as much as we celebrate our similarities, I tend to be a bit more on the wild side. I’m a night owl and a prowler. She has to rise at the ass crack of dawn for her job. I’m into the rock ‘n’ roll scene and she’s not so much into that. However, I bet we’ll have a few beers and watch some football while I’m there because in that way, we’re definitely alike.

In other words, she’s as laid back as I am hyper, and believe it or not, she may even be more mysterious than I am. We do share blood, my people.

I’m actually departing on Sunday from Pittsburgh. Much cheaper than flying from my home city, even with hotel, ground transport, parking, and gas, it is cheaper than just driving 15 miles to my nearest airport. Sad, oh so sad.

I could have flown out Saturday, but that would mean I would miss AZ (Steve’s) wedding. Can’t have that peeps. I’ve talked to him a few times in the past week. He’s reminded me several times that I can bring a date if I desire. I was really hell bent on having a date for this affair, but really, I don’t give a shit anymore. I wasn’t even sure I could stay for the reception, given that I was flying out to New Orleans the same weekend.

He said they cut the guest list to 200. If an invitation was returned because of a bad address, then they were just stricken. Trying to pay for a wedding on unemployment must be pretty tough. He’s already had his bachelor party. He got bombed on Jagermeister and spewed Chinese food all over his friend’s lawn. Lovely.

I’m looking forward to the wedding, almost as much as I’m looking forward to going shopping since I don’t have a thing to wear, literally. I’m looking forward to having that finality that it’s over – really, really over and I’m free. I’ll be closing a chapter of my life, perhaps without answers, but also without regret or remorse. I think I’ll call this chapter, “Preparation for the Real “One”.” My only irritation, I’m starting my period this week! GAH! Bloat city! Why must I always buy clothes when I’m BLOATED?!? Then they only fit when I’M ON MY PERIOD!!!!

I may wait until Saturday morning even to buy something. Gah! A trip to the mall on Saturday morning???? Gag me with a ten-foot toenail. Pbooey!

The upside? I’M GOING TO NEW ORLEANS TO SEE ALICE IN CHAINS! Totally worth a trip to the mall, even on Saturday morning.

7 Comments

  1. brightonandbear said,

    I’m glad he’s getting married and getting you out of his grasp. Much needed.
    Yay for the NO trip!! FUN!!

  2. se7en said,

    Paying for a wedding on unemployment? LOL

    I like AIC too, but their gig is going to be acoustic. I don’t think I would like that so much. Don’t forget to email me so we can meet up when you get to N.O.

    8)

  3. Vince said,

    That sounds like much fun. I’d like to get to The Big Easy one day. After the kids are grown.

  4. Seamus said,

    Yay for a trip to the Big Easy for the Peach! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great way to decompress after suffering the wedding!

  5. Tina said,

    I wish I was going with ya, girl!

    I totally understand about the airfare bullshit. Everytime I have to fly to California I have to drive to Columbus, OH. Charleston has some pretty good flights going to Chicago or DC but otherwise it’s a POS airport. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have fun in New Orleans and I expect a FULL report….heheheheheh. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. cybele said,

    Be sure to visit the Clover Grill if you’re in the Quarter. Open 24 hours, and they cook burgers underneath chrome hubcaps from Cadillacs. Best hash browns I’ve ever tasted. And eat me a beignet at Cafe du Monde, willya? Man, I miss N’Awlins.

    I suggest a simple dress in a solid color accented by one of your fabbo pieces of jewelry. Then you can cheap out on the dress AND turn the wedding into a marketing event for yourself. And write off the whole thing, gift and all.

    xox

  7. Inanna said,

    I plan on having massive amounts of fun in N’awlins. I will eat beignets, enough for all of you, not just Cybele because that’s not nearly enough. And I will definitely eat at the Clover Grill.

Leave a Reply

