The Peach ROCKS!

September 21, 2007 at 11:16 pm (Attitude in Overdrive, Work)

Yesterday before my esteemed co-worker began a four day weekend, I came up from the basement after smoking and passed our male sous chef on the stairwell. He said, “Whoa, Assistant Manager and GM are talkin’ to Adelaide, wonder if someone’s gettin’ fired, who’s in trouble, eh?” I had no clue but talking to AM and GM can only mean one of two things… mischief and mayhem or accolades.

It was indeed accolades because Adelaide rocks. And don’t think it is strange that his name is Adelaide. That’s almost exactly how most of the staff mispronounces his name. Plus, our sous chef, Jay, he’s perpetually paranoid about being fired. I have no idea why, except he does shite he’s not supposed to and then goes and tells on himself.

Then it was my turn. Now, there’s nothing more nerve wracking than your AM and GM walking up while you’re cleaning a table and saying, “Peach, why don’t you sit down and talk to us.” Ehhhh, fuck, did we forget to sweep the floor again? Did someone complain?

GM says, “We just wanted to tell you what a wonderful job you’ve been doing and how you’ve really picked up the ball and ran with it. Boss Chef has asked me several times, ‘And is it Peach who didn’t have any experience working in a restaurant?’ (Which I suppose is a good thing) And you are really geared toward excellent customer service (or something like that) and we were very pleased with how you handled bartending at the wedding. Everyone got thrown into roles they may not have been comfortable with and you handled yourself very well.”

I, like Jay, am a Scorpio, and am also prone to that negative thought process, so I’m waiting for the “but…”

However, GM says, “So, we would like to know if you would like to train as a back up bartender for day and evenings. Sometimes we run into staffing problems, like during the catering, and we would like to bring you up to speed on the bar.”

Would I? Oh hell yeah! If there’s something I’ve always wanted to be more than a waitress, it’s a bartender. Yeah, I’m a total glutton for punishment. Hell, its not like I’m not used to dealing with drunks! Lazy Girl was totally psyched about teaching me about bartending. Given the fact AM asked her yesterday to help polish silverware and glasses and she sullenly said, “That’s not my job,” she may want to think twice about being excited to train me. Oh, and Adelaide, they asked him to train as an evening server. Sweeeet.

Bartender and evening server = mo money!

Not bad, eh? Two months and four days on a job that I got without experience. Whodathunkit? I’m actually proud of myself. And I’m bragging… on me! But… there’s still that issue with the floor.

10 Comments

  1. Pand0ra Wilde said,

    I loved bartending–it paid over minimum wage, I didn’t have to declare tips (I did anyhow so that withholding covered taxes), and I made a shitload on tips alone. It usually worked out so that my check covered my tab plus a little, and the tips added a nice pile to the weekly income.

  2. Tina said,

    That’s awesome, girl! I am so happy for ya! πŸ™‚

  3. Mahala said,

    You Go Girl!!

  4. kenju said,

    You are a VERYgood server – but I imagine I got special treatment!! See, if I ask for you every time I eat there, they’ll get the message, won’t they? LOL

    Way to go, Peach!

  5. KtP said,

    Of course you rock. What is this, surprise? No one knew it better than I.

  6. Jammie J. said,

    :mrgreen:
    Pssshhhaw, girl. Of course you wanna bartend. How better to learn the scoop on everyone??? πŸ˜›

  7. Inanna said,

    Thank you all very much. I’m very excited about this opportunity!

  8. Zelda said,

    Bartending would totally rock. I’ve always wanted to do it, but I got a pretty cushy job fluffing this chiropractor I know….

  9. Inanna said,

    LOL! You rock, Z!

  10. Vince said,

    You said it all. You indeed rock. I am not in the least surprised that you’re kicking ass and taking names.

Leave a Reply

