Tired

September 17, 2007 at 1:16 pm (Crazy Shit, Nate, T-Bird, Work)

The past week has been difficult. Work has had its ups and downs. I pulled 10 hours on Friday and almost 14 hours Saturday due to a catering. It was outside and it decided to turn very Fall-like on us. It was 47 degrees, ya’ll. That is freakin’ cold when you’re not moving around. I wasn’t moving around because we were several people down.

The restaurant moves like well oiled machine. Sometimes it reminds me of a beehive or cars smoothly switching lanes on a busy highway. Even though there are day and evening servers, day picks up evenings and evenings work doubles and generally, hell, we’re a great group and we all get along (most of the time).

Sometimes we can get by with a minimal amount of people on a catering and sometimes, we need everyone not at the restaurant, like yesterday. Then, our hostess who was supposed to help serve had a sudden death in the family, our saute chef was in the ER throwing up blood, and the two servers who were supposed to work evening shift while the rest of us catered were stuck at Hartsfield in Atlanta. I still hate that airport.

So, our other hostess was drafted for catering and the hostess that we used to have, who quit to return to college, was called to see if she could hostess, which she did. Our day pastry chef was drafted for a double and the evening pastry chef went with us. The dishwasher/cooking intern was drafted to serve, the other server who was supposed to go with us stayed at the restaurant, and I was drafted to bartend, which is why I was so freakin’ cold. I’m used to serving and being out in the crowd, not standing in one spot. Brrrrrrr…

Plus, Jeff called Friday morning at 7:40 a.m. to inform me that I needed to pick up Nate from school. I was scheduled to work 10-12 hours and on Thursday I had left at three so I could pick up Nate so he could pick which instrument he wanted to play in the band. It came down to clarinet or trumpet and he chose clarinet, which thrilled the band director. Jeff couldn’t make it there either. However, he did make it a point to call and harass me and tell me he was going to call Child Protective Services because he just knew my house was filthy. I told him to go right ahead and call them and while he was at it he could crawl out of my ass and up their’s. Then I very nicely hung up on him.

So, I had to call Danlel’s mom and see if she could pick Nate up, which she could, but she had to be at work at 7 p.m. so I called T-Bird to see if she could pick up Nate from Danlel’s, and then one of them was going to have to keep him on Saturday while I worked because Jeff couldn’t tell me whether he was going to be able to or not. Danlel asked Nate to come back to her house and spend the night Saturday but Nate, surprisingly, declined and stayed with T-Bird and her brood.

Jeff called me at Saturday morning at 8 a.m. wanting to know if I was dropping Nate off or if he was picking him up and I told him that Nate already had plans, however, if Jeff felt he was going to be sober then we could see about it. I guess he didn’t feel it because he didn’t really make much of a fuss about it.

This morning I talked to Jeff about whether he wanted to pick Nate up from school and visit with him since I have to make a trip to The Point about this citation and Officer D. doesn’t come on duty until 4 p.m. He declined and said I could take Nate with me. I didn’t get the chance to tell him that open house at Nate’s school is tomorrow at 6 p.m., but, I doubt he’ll have much inclination to go there either. He just likes to sit back and make judgments and get pissed off when things don’t go his way.

He was drunk and screaming all last week. He makes a mountain out of every molehill he can find. As I’ve said before, one of his big kicks is wanting his child support lowered. The Court only sees fit to do so when the number of overnights increases. That hasn’t happened and I doubt it ever will. If nothing else, Jeff has missed more weekends in 2007 than he ever has before due to his alcoholism. Trying to have a rational conversation with him is nigh impossible. Who am I kidding? It is impossible.

Yesterday was J3’s birthday party and also the company picnic. Nate and I had a really nice Sunday together with lots of free food, dessert, and good company. We had it at the assistant manager’s farm and all of the kids or adults who wanted to got to ride one of her horses in the ring, play tag football, badminton, or play with the general manger’s golden retriever. It was a beautiful day.

That is all from Peachville. I’m going to take a long nap now.

8 Comments

  1. Beth said,

    I got tired just thinking about all you had done this past week! I need a nap too.

    But it’s a good thing that you still have your “ups” at work. I’m sure you’d be exhausted if it was just “downs.”

    Go enjoy your nap, you’ve earned it.

  2. Vince said,

    Your week sounds a lot like mine, minus the drunk, asshole, lazy good for nothing ex. Way too much shit going on during the school year. Every night is booked.

    Enjoy your nap. You deserve it.

  3. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    You have too much to do — but I understand why you have to do it. The child support should be increased, if anything. Rotten pig.

  4. kenju said,

    I agree with Hoss. The restaurant/catering business can be great, but also the pits, especially when people call in sick or have emergencies. It is just like the floral/wedding/party business and sometimes people just have to leave it. I don’t envy you having to scout around for people to keep Nate, and I know how hard life can be under those circumstances. And yet, we keep on keeping on, don’t we? I wish I could help you, Nanner.

  5. Ashley said,

    I wish that I was closer so that I could give you and Nate a hug. Is there anything that I can do?

  6. Jammie J. said,

    Your ex is exhausting. Huh. Must be something to the first two letters being the same, eh?

    It sounds like you like your job, though, even though y’all sound like a bunch of beers … being drafted here for this and there for that.

    Oy.

  7. Inanna said,

    All is well folks. A lot of times I write things down more to document it than to actually complain or give two shits about it. I’m used to it. Not that it doesn’t make me angry or irritate the piss out of me, I just let a lot of it slide off otherwise I’d be angry all the time and what kind of life is that???

  8. Julie said,

    I’m excited about Nate picking clarinet to play as well – most boys would have gone for trumpet. Maybe he’s already figured out how to meet the ladies? 🙂 Let us know how he does with it (says the former band geek).

Leave a Reply

