Aren’t You Glad I Read Fast?

July 21, 2007 at 10:13 pm (General, Relationships)

I finished the final installment earlier today. I loved it but it was also sad and I’m not totally depressed but also still absorbing the nuances of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.” I was right about many things and of course, if you would care for a discussion of the book, please e-mail me as not to publish any spoilers.

Work is going well. My first week review was very positive and I really, really like everyone I work with, so far. I was supposed to meet one of the bartenders this evening for a drink, a young single mom, much like myself at her age, however, Jeff does not have Nate this weekend because he re-injured his back and has been under a fog of pain medications.

I saw one of the sous chefs at the Harry Potter party last night. I felt bad that he came out to get a copy of the book and then had to return to work to finish prep for a wedding today. I believe he also had to go to the wedding itself so he may not be able to start reading until late, late tonight. If he’s like me, he probably spent an inordinate amount of time last night, until 6 a.m. for me, reading. The only reason I sat the book down was because Nate would have thrown a fit had he realized I was much further ahead than he was.

I should have continued reading as I would have had it finished by the time he woke at 10 a.m. and then he wouldn’t have actually thrown that fit to find that Mom was well ahead of his first efforts and I could have simply started the book over again. *Sigh* It was not a pretty sight.

Numerous plans have been thwarted this weekend. I like to think that things happen for a reason and I’m right where I should be. Regardless, I’m not above feeling a bit of disappointment, resentment even, that things have not gone my way. I fight the self-deprecation and nagging doubts about my future, having almost fully emerged from one of the darkest periods of my life, still wondering where the fuck my golden prize is. Ha, ha, ha, as though I’m owed anything by this world, however, getting something I want on occasion would be rather nice.

Anyway. . . in other news, I fail to see what enticed Michael Vick to begin fighting pit bulls in violation of several State and Federal laws. As though the purses in those fights rival his NFL contract in any way. Dog and cock fighting for sport are two of the most heinous inventions of mankind involving animals. I know, innocent until proven guilty and the Grand Jury only hears one side of the story, blah, blah, blah. If he is found guilty I hope they put him in a pen with some pit bulls that know how to “sic balls.”

Ah, well, my rancor is showing, as is my sarcasm. Some old hurts have resurfaced and I quest for answers to soothe my heart and struggle to let other things, and people, go. And, okay, I am a bit sad over the final installment of HP; sad for the loss of characters I had come to love and sad that the saga is over. I would have read HP for years. Oh wait, I already have. Well… I’m off to make a watchband. Ta.

13 Comments

  1. Jammie J. said,

    Hmmm, sorry you’re in a spot tonight. Doesn’t sound as if the HP ending did anything to help things….
    Sometimes we go through things for the experience, not for any greater reward. Maybe someday you’ll be able to help someone who’s going through the same (or similar) thing as you are now. Not really a reward, but it makes you feel better right in there. (hug)
    I guess I can be grateful. At some point, I’ll buy the books and read them. Probably be sad five years from now and I can just call myself a slow griever.

  2. Kate the Peon said,

    Darling Peach…I wish I had words to comfort. I’m sending you good healthy positive vibes, not to cure your hurt, but to get you past it.

  3. Jethro said,

    One day at a time, Nanner. One day at a time.

    Re: Mike Vick. I’ve been thinking the same thing. I’m thinking that he feels pressure to live this “thug” life. Now, thanks to his own stupidity, he’ll lose millions per year. See kids? Not so cool now is he?

    Of course this goes if he IS guilty.

  4. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Glad you are enjoying work and Harry Potter!!!

    It was great meeting you and Nate! Oh and you both got a mention at Chez Lisa B 😉

  5. Vince said,

    So it appears your haitus was short lived. Mine shall be a little longer since even though i recieved the book yesterday in the mail, I have yet to start reading it. That begins tonight. And since I can no longer pull an all day read fest, it will probably take me to the end of the week to finish.

    Glad work is going well. BTW, your golden prize after all the trials and tribulations should be to be at peace with yourself. Are you?

  6. Foundme said,

    I’m done, and will be emailing shortly!!!

  7. Pand0ra Wilde said,

    Thanks for not posting spoilers–I’m doing everything I can to avoid them.

    Leaving hugs for you and yours hoping the funk breaks

  8. Inanna said,

    Jammie J, yes, perhaps it is just for the greater good, however, a slice or even a patch of sunshine just for me would be great.

    Thank you, Katey.

    Jethro, one day at a time… yes, indeed.

    LisaB., thanks fpr the mention!

    Vince, no, I’m not at peace with myself.

    Foundme, got ya!

    Pandora Wilde, I don’t want to ruin it for anyone, however, as I mentioned over at Evil Julie’s, just because someone might say who died doesn’t mean it is necessarily ruined. We all knew Anakin Skywalker was going to become Darth Vader, yet it was the whole story about HOW he became Darth Vader that we found interesting. So, although someone may say who died, doesn’t mean we still aren’t fascinated by how it happened.

  9. Juan Morales said,

    Is reality that bad?

    El guzano Vick? WTF? Yo no comprendo.

    “old hurts, nagging doubts, etc.”
    AFGO – Another fucking growth opportunity.

    Adios,
    1

  10. cybele said,

    Buck up, buckaroo.

    I am almost about to write a review- without spoilers- on the book. I’ve finished. I read fast. And I HAVE to read HP fast, otherwise, as a literary snob, JKR’s shortcomings as a writer piss me off enough spoil my enjoyment of the story.

    Fluffy was kind- he reached Chapter 12 and handed it off to me, and we traded back and forth all day. I got way ahead and finished when he decided to play video games awhile. Hawk has his own copy in the rig, and is trying NOT to stay up reading when he should be sleeping.

    Eat something, sit in the sun, and put down that cigarette for one damn minute.

    xox

  11. Inanna said,

    Juan, lovely … AFGO

    Cybele, Fluff is a great kid. No sun today and I’ll work on putting that cigarette down.

  12. Beth said,

    Bittersweet, I think, is a good word to describe the last book. You love it and hate it at the same time, you wanted to know what happened, but didn’t want it to end. And oh dear God, the tears!

    And you will have your golden prize eventually. What little faith I have in the delicate balance of karma tells me that you will be rewarded….just don’t ask me when cause sometimes I feel like mine has been long overdue too.

  13. Inanna said,

    Bittersweet, indeed.

Leave a Reply

