More Crafties

July 16, 2007 at 11:16 am (Beading, General)

In November of last year, if you will recall, I went to Pittsburgh for ESC’s wedding reception. I spent the majority of my time with Aimee and Evil Julie, who are both knitters. Now, I’ve tried knitting and for some reason, I just don’t get it. I can make a scarf but the other intricacies of knitting I shall leave to Aimee, Julez, and ESC.

However, being a beader did feel a bit out of place so when we visited a yarn shop I was inspired to obtain some yarn and hooks and return to the previously aborted craft of crocheting. Plus, you can crochet beads into projects and thought this would be a way to expand my horizons. I eventually had to make a trip to The Wal*Mart to obtain a  “How-To” book and embarked on the odyssey of relearning this craft.

I did well enough to finish the body of the purse I was working on, then further started on the strap. However, the fire intervened and luckily the materials were still there but smelled horrible. After many months, I returned to the crochet I had left behind.

The purse is supposed to be asymmetrical, however, I think it’s a bit too asymmetrical. Regardless, I finished it yesterday.

purses-001.jpg

It’s not that big, well, big enough for my cellphone, cigarettes, keys, and lipstick for whatever. I put a button on it but also a snap further up so it stays shut.

 See, just a bit tooooo asymmetrical, however, the straps do fit inside so it can also be carried as a clutch.

purses-002.jpg

After the relative success of this cute little evening bag, which sadly I lost the directions to, I decided I should make another crocheted item. I had started a scarf while living at the apartment but I just wasn’t feeling it.

scarf-001.jpg

So, I found a really cute purse/pouch pattern online and set out to increase my skillz in crochet.  I’m actually quite proud of my little pouch.

purses-008.jpg

purses-009.jpg

I have some pink and purple yarn which I think would make my niece a perfect birthday gift. I’ll get right on that today since she’ll be 3, THREE folks, already THREE, at the end of this month.

Perhaps tomorrow I will feature my new bracelet.  Keep those good vibes coming for the waitressing job I really, really want.

5 Comments

  1. blackpunkin said,

    I GOT THE JOB!!!

  2. Pand0ra Wilde said,

    WHOOOHOOOOOOOO on the job!

    Also on the new purse–that’s really purty 🙂

  3. Beth said,

    YAY for you!!! I knew you’d get it!

    I don’t know if you have Rag Shops in your area (it’s a craft store), the entire franchise is closing down. I bought myself a whole buncha yarn for crocheting and knitting all at 50%! Everyone’s getting scarves this Christmas!

  4. Liz said,

    Those purses are awesome! great job. Congrats on the new jobby too! Sorry I haven’t been checking up on you, I hope you are well. 🙂

  5. Vince said,

    Very nice! My mom and grandmother are crocheters, so we have TONS of doilies, blankets, socks, and other assorted items around the house.

Leave a Reply

