A Rare Sighting (From Mother’s Day Weekend)

July 3, 2007 at 11:09 pm (Family, Memories)

Nate and I went to the farm on Saturday to visit with my parents, my brother, and my nephews. A cow from a neighboring farm had wandered in and we were out trying to corral the old girl into the back of a horse trailer so her rightful owner could cart her home and reunite her with her calf. After that was accomplished, my dad and I stood talking at the back pen which houses a rather old cow with a new calf, oh, and a rooster. I’ll get to that rooster in another post.

My dad says that a couple of people in their area had reported seeing a bald eagle earlier in the week. I asked him what day. We go back to the house and he and my mother hem and haw around and finally decide it was on Tuesday. What made that odd is that on Tuesday, I thought I saw a bald eagle.

I had just come out of a heat press shop about a half a mile from my house when I heard a screech. Screeches are not unheard of in our neck of the woods because even the suburbs are inundated with red-tail hawks. My parents probably have 10-15 from their house to the head of the holler. While Nate and I were metal hunting, one in particular was flying fairly low, screeching a lot, and definitely a mature bird because it had developed the distinctive red tail. If you’ve ever seen one in flight, the pattern of light and dark feathers as they soar through the sky is unmistakable, at least the ones that we see around here.

Yet, when I looked into the sky, I did not see the tell-tale pattern of light and dark feathers, I saw dark feathers and a white head. I thought, “Is that a bald eagle??? Nahhhhh…. they’re not this far south, but, damn that looks like a young bald eagle.” I didn’t really notice the tail feathers but that white head was very clear.

Bald and golden eagles are indigenous to West Virginia but are mainly located in the northern part of the state, especially near the Potomac Highlands, where you can take a train ride down the South Fork of the Potomac to do some eagle watching in their natural habitat. Yes, I’ve done that.

I’m really glad I stopped to look at the sky when I heard the screech. A bald eagle is a rare and beautiful thing. Although my dad, he really takes the prize. As we were walking back to the house, he gestured toward the fence post and said, “Yeah, those red-tails, they’re brave. Why, one even sits right on that post and lemme tell ya, he watches this place like a hawk.”

Bwhwhwhahahahahahaha

8 Comments

  1. Jammie J said,

    HA!!! Hehehe… he’s funny. 😆

    Ummm, but what does this mean: “to the head of the holler”

  2. kenju said,

    I know what “to the head of the holler” means…LOL

    We have had hawks living in the woods by our house, but I have never seen an eagle. Now that they’re off the endangered species list, maybe that will become easier.

  3. LisaBinDaCity said,

    Very patriotic 😉

    Happy 4th to you and Nate!

  4. Old Horsetail Snake said,

    I, too, am up on hollers. But not on hawks watching like hawks. That’s a dandy, Nanner.

  5. Inanna said,

    What happened to my comment???? Argh! Anyway, Jammie, the “head of a holler” is the place where the two mountains meet and the creek begins. A “holler” being slang for “hollow.”

    Kenju, now if we can just get the Kanawha cleaned up so they’ll have good fish to eat.

    LisaB, I didn’t realize what I had posted about and the day until the following day.

    Hoss, my daddy is a dandy too.

  6. Vince said,

    I heard they just took the bald eagle off the endangered list. Perhaps you’ll see more of them.

    You country folk have such a sense of humor!

  7. Beth said,

    I’m sorry, you and Nate were out metal hunting?? What the heck is that?

  8. Inanna said,

    Vince, of course we have sense of humor… a rather keen sense of direction too.

    Beth, my parents have old gas lines on their property. We dig them up, along with the fittings and other metal we find and recycle it. It cleans up the environment and we make a little money.

Leave a Reply

