A New Record!

April 26, 2007 at 11:27 pm (Crazy Shit, Work)

Hey, remember that new job I started yesterday, they fired me today!  (Fire – fired, eerie again) Shortest time ever at a job. Ev-ah. Oh, I’m sorry, they didn’t fire me, they said, “We don’t need you anymore.”  Oh, so you’re firing me. Okay. I finished off my time card at 4:50, organized my paperwork, took it to the paralegal (who had her door shut and her two staff people in there), and said here’s this, this, this, and this, and okay, bye now.

As you can tell, I’m totally torn up about it. I mean, I’m truly going to miss my cubicle, the flourescent lighting, the cliquey staff, how they gossiped on the phone instead of in the hallway, yes, I’ll miss the headache I had already developed, the ache between my shoulders, busting my ass, and asking for work to do because I didn’t want to feel useless.

I’ll miss not knowing how much money I was making, which I won’t find out until I get my paycheck. Oh yeah, I’ll miss driving in morning traffic and paying for parking. I’m supposed to pick up my paycheck there tomorrow. I’m afraid that I have too much to do for that, plus, I’m not wasting my money on the gas and parking to pick it up. That’s what the United States Post Office is for.

Yep, I was torn up when I had to come home, change out of my Sunday-goin’-to-meetin’-clothes and high heels to cut-off shorts and tennis shoes and went back to the shop to pull shirts from the 200 degree dryer and laugh at Rich when he somehow managed to tangle superglue in his armpit hair.

Devastated, ya’ll, devastated.

No, they didn’t give me a reason, no feedback as to whether I was doing things correctly or incorrectly, what I should say, how I should say it, how I should answer questions, which I’ll also miss. Although I did overhear the paralegal say something about the temporaries answering questions and misleading or misinforming the clients and that those closest to the case should be answering those questions.  I’m sure it’s far easier for the three staff working on this matter to do it all, versus informing a legion of temporaries in a five minute meeting how to effectively answer questions, all of the answers which were in the information I was stuffing in envelopes.

But, you also know when you belong somewhere and when you don’t. I definitely didn’t belong there and wasn’t interested in any way in a full-time gig. I was there to work on a case, get paid, and go about my way. I’m just a little pissed that I don’t know how much I’ll be getting paid for the 13 hours and some odd minutes I put in. Something tells me, it won’t be worth it.

5 Comments

  1. Jammie J. said,

    Were you supposed to think or just stuff envelopes? Sounds like a fun job to me. I can’t believe you don’t miss it. At all? Really?

    Pfft.

    Is super glue the new deodorant?

  2. Foundme said,

    Wow, my shortest job was just under two weeks. So ya got me beat, but I know you were trying;)

  3. Aimee said,

    Yeah, well, at least it’s over. And now you know never to go back there again.

    Please tell us the superglue story–that sounds promising. 🙂

  4. Jen said,

    Well.. I hope that you do get paid and it’s a little more then not much.

    stuffy sunday going to meeting clothes vs cut off shorts and tennis shoes. HA! no contest there!

    Good luck!

  5. Inanna said,

    Jammie J, in our neck of the woods, any deodorant is good deodorant.

    Foundme, no shit.

    Aimee, really, he was walking around the automatic and somehow, someway got superglue in his armpit and when he lowered his arms to miss the ink and the table it stuck like… well… glue. So, he’s yanking his arm up and breaks it free and then cut the superglue out of his armpit hair with scissors. Nick and I snorted.

    Jen, yeah, I hope it’s a little more than a little.

Leave a Reply

